We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding restaurant food.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grasmere Hotel Restaurant

The Grasmere Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 44 Restaurants in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Izegem, Belgium
Level Contributor
171 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Outstanding restaurant food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

The public lounge space downstairs is spacious, cozy and great for having a drink and relax in front of the open fire place.
We had our dinner arranged with our stay (8 persons in total) and this is something I can recommend everyone: outstanding restaurant food with attention to presentation of the food and with great taste!
We tried the 4 course dinner. There's a plenty to choose from: starters, mains and desserts. You enjoy your coffee or tea in the lounge. If you like single malt, don't hesitate... and have one with your coffee or tea!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisDessein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    16
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Up there with the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We were recommended this restaurant by the BB we stayed at. The hotel normally caters for its residents and we didn't know that yoou could book as non resident but we are so glad that we did it on our last night.
The lounge area were you sat for pre-dinner drinks had a big log fire burning away and the area just had a really nice feel to it. We selected our meals and were then shown to our table just before the starters arrived. I had the prawn starter followed by steak and cheesecake for dessert and it was all excellent and some of the best food I have had for a while.
After we had finished dinner we went and sat back in the lounge for coffee and just relax and let the meal go down.
The owner came across to chat to us and ask if everything had been ok, which I always feel is nice as they are trying to get feedback about the food and service.
We have ate at Jumble room, Oak Bank and now Grasmere Hotel and I would say this is the better of the 3 main restaurants in Grasmere for quality and price.
Well worth a visit and we will return again next year.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fraser66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Eat here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

You must eat here if you are in Grasmere. Food is outstanding! Probably not a great deal of choice if you are vegetarian, but we weren't so it certainly didn't bother us. Truly excellent food.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SammySunshine83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb food except for the cheese board”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

We ate here one night while staying in Grasmere. The atmosphere prior to entering the restaurant was peaceful and relaxing. The food and service was excellent, my only criticism was the cheese board. I decided not to have a dessert but to have cheese instead. I was expecting a variety of local chesses but was disappointed as it turned out to be standard cheese such as Cheddar, Stilton, Red Leicester and a Brie, none of which was local. My fault for not asking prior.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bitsandbats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good food, great ambience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

This was our second visit to the Grasmere Hotel and we were very pleased to have another excellent meal at a very reasonable price.
There are nibbles to start with, a choice of soup or sorbet between starter and main course, great puddings and coffee or tea thrown in at the end.
The host is charming and it's well worth a visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jakradice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grasmere Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 
Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 

Been to The Grasmere Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing