We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Lunch”

Heidi's of Grasmere
Ranked #13 of 44 Restaurants in Grasmere
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: A charming, fully licensed cafe in the heart of the picturesque village of Grasmere. All ingredients are locally sourced and our delicious homemade cakes are a speciality. We sell over 40 marmalade flavours and stock a great selection of locally brewed ales. A warm welcome awaits.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Brilliant soup and 'chunk of bread' lunch in a fantastic little cafe in the middle of Grasmere. Service was friendly. Everything was clean, and soup was piping hot and v tasty. Highly recommended.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank OllyandJackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidiGrasmere, Owner at Heidi's of Grasmere, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments. Please do come and visit us again. Heidi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    74
    29
    15
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Delicious cakes!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stopped for tea and cakes on a drizzly day in grasmere. Nice atmosphere and very cosy. Coffee and walnut cake delicious!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PBr00k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

This place is fantastic!! we stayed at the Lodge above and came in here for complimentary tea and coffee. It was so good, we had something in here everyday of our stay. The portions are huge and the Illy coffee is made properly by hand. The homemade cakes are to die for and we found the staff could not do enough for you. Very warm and cosy on rainy days with christmas music playing. Good value for money in the accommodation and the cafe.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 4littleman4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Relaxed place with good tea.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

Very nice for a place to wait out the rain and cold weather while traveling through Grasmere. Honestly, I came here because no other place was open, and I was waiting around to buy some gingerbread, but the gingerbread place was not open yet. This was my first and only time in Grasmere, and I was freezing, so..... Heidi's was open, and in we went to get warm. What a pleasant surprise! Nice waitstaff, not too fast, but not too slow, either. This place has a very relaxed feel, and if you want a bustling place, this is not the place to go. I loved it. Had a great sandwich, which hit the spot, and my daughter had dessert as well. Both helpings were rather large, so we could not finish, but tasted terrific. Prices were on the high end, but that is normal for this geographic area. We experienced no pressure to leave so that the waitstaff could reclaim our table, which meant we had a nice relaxing time just chatting and staying warm and cozy. We did notice the waitstaff attend to other, more fast-paced customers, but they did so in a very polite manner, even when the customers seemed to expect food at a fast-food place speed. All in all a tea shop to return to.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidiGrasmere, Owner at Heidi's of Grasmere, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for coming to visit our charming cafe and for your kind, comments. I am delighted you had an enjoyable experience. Heidi x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Relaxing Break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Lovely weekend relaxing at Heidi's in Grasmere, friendly and helpful staff made for a couple of days recharging batteries in the centre of Lakeland

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TimBrownlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heidi's of Grasmere also viewed

Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 
Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 

Been to Heidi's of Grasmere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing