We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Little Hotel”
Review of Oak Bank Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oak Bank Hotel
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 17, 2010

Just come back from a great weekend in the Lakes. The hotel was perfect , the food superb and the staff very helpful.Even the weather was great!!!
Will certainly return

Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank KramRolyat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (731)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

677 - 683 of 731 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2010

22/25 Feb 10

Room 15 was delightfully presented and spacious. The food was excellent.

We found Simon to be extremely attentive and friendly and were mystified to read the review by the previous occupants of the room.

This was our third visit and the first stay at the hotel with the current owners. We would highly recommend this hotel for a relaxing break in the Lakes.

Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank J_and_A_EK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2010

We returned with extended family to celebrate a birthday of an elderly relative. Despite the large group (15) we had a large table set in the conservatory giving privacy for the event. Our selections from the evening menu all arrived together throughout the courses. Our compliments to the chef whose repertoire has developed further than on previous visits providing the 'icing on the cake' for a sumptuous meal. The friendly attentive staff made the stay comfortable and enjoyable. We look forward to staying with you again. Thank-you Glynis and Simon for our celebratory weekend break.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StaffsLottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2010

What a fab weekend we had 26th February. We were at the hotel with friends from Nottingham and everything was just right. Simon and Glynis have worked so hard to achieve this, but in our opinion have everything just right, rooms - good, food superb, (the diet started on Monday) staff - spot on, service excellent. Simon and Glynis have just the right balance between friendly and professional. We have been going to this hotel since 2000 and have seen a couple of changes in ownership but Simon and Glynis have it just right now. We can't wait to go back in November. In fact my husband and I will probably be back long before then. I have recommened this hotel to friends and colleagues and I have to say I haven't been let down at all, everyone has come back more than satisfied. If you want a peaceful break in Grasmere this is the place to go,Keep up the good work Simon and Glynis well done.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manmic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2010

We chose this hotel as rated No.1 in Grasmere and decided to treat ourselves to a Superior Plus room for 3 nights. Without question the food was superb, both breakfast with an extensive menu (delicious smoked salmon) and the wonderful 4-course evening meals preceded by creative amuse-bouches.
We were however disappointed with both our room (room 15) and the lack of warm welcome and personal service. Our Superior Plus room with extra-large bed had a newly-fitted en-suite which looked good but had a terribly weak shower, and the bed valance was stained and filthy and not replaced during our stay, which we found unacceptable. The hotel water system also seemed to be located above this room, so there was significant noise every time somebody ran their water. We had expected a peaceful and clean room and were thus disappointed with this.
Regarding the service, Simon was very efficient and attentive in the restaurant, though lacked any personal interaction. When we first arrived after a long trip from the West Country we were greeted with silence, shown to our room and simply handed the key and told that the door was difficult to open- we had expected so much more - a smile, a warm welcome, a 'how was your trip?' would have been so much better. As a small hotel we had then expected a more personal service, but felt we were like strangers each day at breakfast and dinner. Even when we left there was limited interaction - if only there had been a more personal touch we would have fed back there and then on the areas where we thought there was room for improvement.
This has the potential to be a superb hotel as the food is first class and the location excellent. We just wish the attention to detail shown to the food could be extended to the accommodation and personal service; and a smile would be most welcome.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JoiedeVivre99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2010

We like most of the guests looked on trip advisor when we decided to visit Grasmere.
At no point did it mention that this hotel was only 2*.
We actually saw that on the door for the first time as we entered but the hotel, but staff, room and food was more like 4* to us.
We had a superior room, room 1 which overlooked the garden and river at the back of the hotel.
Simon, Glynis and all the staff make you feel really welcome and the real log fire at night is most welcome after walking aound the area.
The food is amazing and the choice at breakfast for a hotel with only 14 rooms is incredible.
They have a fine wine list and the evening meal changes by day so no repeats even on our 2 night stay.
if you do not book this hotel on your visit to Grasmere you will regret it.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaelgrainger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2010

Spent two wonderful nights at this hotel after reading the reviews on trip advisor. Hotel is comfortable and our standard room was adequate. It wasn't until dinner that I realised how excellent this hotel is. The staff were charming and attentive and the food was the best I've ever had in the Lake District. They must have a very good chef. The food was in four courses with soup to start with. This was served in a cup which was unusual but it was excellent quality as was everything else. The breakfasts were also excellent. I would also like to mention the barman and the reception staff who were courteous and made us very welcome.

Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank mountain445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.6 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
7.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,551 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
866 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand at Grasmere
Grand at Grasmere
#4 of 14 in Grasmere
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Bank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Bank Hotel

Address: Broadgate, Grasmere LA22 9TA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
#3 Family Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range: $95 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oak Bank Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in Grasmere Village in the heart of the English Lake District, Oak Bank Hotel is perfectly placed to explore the surrounding lakes, fells and tarns. Oak Bank has two lounges both with plenty of comfy sofas and armchairs to relax in. The front lounge has a converted range and the bar lounge has a real log/coal fire. Breakfast and dinner are served in our Two AA Rosette awarded beautiful dining room and conservatory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Oak Bank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Bank Grasmere
Oak Bank Hotel Grasmere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing