We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mr & Mrs Hillary”
Review of Oak Bank Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Oak Bank Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I have never wanted to done a review before but after visiting The Oak Bank Hotel I felt that I should write about this small Gem of a hotel for others to sample.If I ever had a Hotel it would have to be on the same power!! Glynis &Simon the owners have thought through all the little fine details one needs whilst away from home, elegant rooms & decor to make your stay a home from home!! With caring staff, nothing is too much trouble for anyone of them.The setting is exquisite & the food second to non!! I have travelled far and wide in my 66 years & have never said I would like to keep going back for some more of the same!,I cannot wait to return .

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hillar54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (721)
There are newer reviews for Oak Bank Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

304 - 310 of 721 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2013

this is our first review,but i just wanted to let people know what a gem this hotel is, from the moment you enter until the moment you leave you are made to feel so welcome it feels like home from home,the log fire in the lounge is perfect to relax beside with or without a drink after a day out,the location is perfect in the lovely village of grasmere, this is our tenth visit to the hotel and it just gets better.the staff and owners are brilliant hosts, the rooms are very well presented.clean and have tea and coffee facilities with fresh milk and homemade biscuits that are freshly baked everyday mmmmm
now for the food.well what can i say but "ITS FANTASTIC" the menu has a good choice,and the presentation,quality and flavour of meals are outstanding,the service at breakfast and during our evening meal was faultless yet again,
if you are looking for a relaxing break,good hosts and fantastic food,put this hotel at the top of your list, you wont be dissappointed

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mr-mrs_ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We've just returned from another break at the Oak Bank Hotel and as in previous stays can only say it was yet again superb. Aside from the excellent service and hospitality the food remains absolutely brilliant. We wondered if the new(ish) kitchen team would be able to keep up the previous standards, but we needn't have worried - yet again they delivered. Unlike so many places, arranging 'special, off menu' items for my wife who's vegetarian was no problem at all. This is her favourite restaurant - ever. Next time we come, we'll try and arrange it for some dry weather - the boiler room did a good job of drying us out again. Many thanks for a great break.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank collingwoodontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

everything we have come to expect - superb food, friendly welcome, very comfortable beds, and the same old rainy weather (which unfortunately they can't control). We are looking forward to returning - What more can we say!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenmar111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Lovely break in one of the best places in the Lakes. The staff were attentive and helpful and the room was really nice too. The food was of the highest quality and every dish was not only delicious but a visual treat too. We will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: Just study the website but all the rooms are nice
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ross B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Absolutely fabulous Lakeland hotel, the food is out of this world, you have to try the scallops and black-pudding starter. The service is discreet, unpretentious, first class country house style. This is a little gem for foodie walkers in the heart of the Grasmere.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

enjoyed our two night mid week break nov. in room 11, could not fault in any way, food was of a very high standard and we both enjoyed the varied menu and as a retired chef I think that speaks for itself, excellent value for money and the attention to detail was first class

Room Tip: which ever suits your needs, they are all on the web to choose from
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edmund h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
7.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,495 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,218 reviews
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Bank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Bank Hotel

Address: Broadgate, Grasmere LA22 9TA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
#3 Family Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range: $153 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oak Bank Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in Grasmere Village in the heart of the English Lake District, Oak Bank Hotel is perfectly placed to explore the surrounding lakes, fells and tarns. Oak Bank has two lounges both with plenty of comfy sofas and armchairs to relax in. The front lounge has a converted range and the bar lounge has a real log/coal fire. Breakfast and dinner are served in our Two AA Rosette awarded beautiful dining room and conservatory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Oak Bank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Bank Grasmere
Oak Bank Hotel Grasmere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing