We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Oak Bank Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$190
$184
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$168
$163
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$145
$114
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Lancrigg(Grasmere)
$132
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$171
$153
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (755)
Filter reviews
755 results
Traveler rating
618
105
26
1
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
618
105
26
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall decanter of sherryamuse bouchefantastic foodfresh milkhomemade shortbreaddining experiencesmall hotellittle touchesfine dininglake districtowners and staffevening mealwine listfriendly hotelstandard roomdining roomlog fire
Filter
Updating list...
342 - 347 of 755 reviews
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Absolutely fabulous Lakeland hotel, the food is out of this world, you have to try the scallops and black-pudding starter. The service is discreet, unpretentious, first class country house style. This is a little gem for foodie walkers in the heart of the Grasmere.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

enjoyed our two night mid week break nov. in room 11, could not fault in any way, food was of a very high standard and we both enjoyed the varied menu and as a retired chef I think that speaks for itself, excellent value for money and the attention to detail was first class

Room Tip: which ever suits your needs, they are all on the web to choose from
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edmund h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

I proposed to my girlfiriend (now fiancee) at this hotel at the end of September. I picked the hotel after looking at reviews on TripAdvisor and I couldn't have picked a better place. We have both never tasted food as nice as we had. Out of the dishes we tasted, over our two night stay, we would say every single item complimented each other and all the ingredients had such an intense flavour with them. Every member of staff couldn't have been more attentive, concientious, helpful, polite, respectful and well mannered. The room was beautifully decorated, clean and tidy, with sherry and shortbread as nice little extras. The en suite provided complimentary aromatherapy products which contributed to our relaxing stay. Might I add, this hotel is fantastic value for money for the quality of food and service that you get. We hope to return here, many more times, in the future. Dan & Hazel.

Room Tip: The hotel website has excellent photos of every room to help you make your choice. They are all unique and beautifully decorated.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manners1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Spent 2 nights here, staying in Room 5. A warm clean room with a large comfortable bed and all we required, including special items on the tea tray. Many hotels provide UHT milk cartons, but not Oakbank, flask of fresh milk provided!
Our special deal for Dinner, Bed n Breakfast was excellent value. Dinner was a dining experience we wouldn't have missed, dishes were artistic to look at and great to eat. Good choice at breakfast, again well cooked and served. Service and attention to detail could not be faulted.
Comfortable lounges and open fire in bar lounge a real bonus in November.
Location good, buses which stop nearby will take you north to Keswick and south as far as Lancaster.
This hotel is run on a friendly and professional basis and we would not hesitate to stay again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 5, front facing on first floor. Nice view and very little traffic noise. Bathroom had bath with shower over. Large comfortable bed.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LnE60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We stayed here in October to celebrate a wedding anniversary and we found Oak Bank Hotel to be very comfortable and accommodating. Room was excellent with coffee and tea facilities (fresh milk-so much nicer than cartons!), homemade biscuits and a small decanter of sherry which was a lovely welcome.

Food was excellent couldn't fault the evening meal or the breakfast. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shingwidzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews