We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, great food”
Review of Oak Bank Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Oak Bank Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Luckily for me, there is ground floor accommodation at Oak Bank, which was both warm and comfortable. We thoroughly enjoyed the food, it was more like eating in France, with pleasant surprises in every course. Presentation was outstanding. Lovely staff. Enjoyed pass to nearby Spa and swam on a wet day instead of walking. We will return.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jane186233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (732)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

448 - 454 of 732 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stopped off as a midway point from a funeral in Scotland. We forewarned our hosts we may be late for dinner and did cut it fine. They couldn't have been more obliging. We were hungry, tired and emotionally drained and they didn't rush us, they told us to take our time, sat us by a log fire in a cosy lounge then fed us some of the most outstanding food I've tasted. We've stayed in Michelin Star hotels for at least double the money and the food was certainly on a par with those hotels. As the daughter of a head chef' and a pretty nifty cook myself I consider myself a real foodie. It's certainly the place to go to unwind and the surroundings speak for themselves. We'll be going back!

Room Tip: We chose a superior room. It was at the front and I slept like a log.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ClanMcK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Recently stayed 4 nights at the Oak Bank. Very nice comfortable clean room. Welcoming and cosy lounge bar with open log fire. Service was first class and the food was excellent; delicious flavours and beautiful presentation. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lakeslover187045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Nothing bad to say about this hotel.
Friendly staff, excellent food (including vegetarian option for my spouse), comfortable bar has open log fire, nice reception area. We were in "Blue Room" which we were told when booking was small. Yes, it is smallish but very nice nonetheless with open view. Good location with parking and 2-3 minutes walk from Grasmere centre.
We expect to be going again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Just back from 2 nights at the Oak Bank. Room comfortable and clean and cosy communal areas with log fire...needs due to rubbish weather. What makes this hotel special is the food which truly is brilliant. You would struggle to find better. Each course was delicious and beautifully presented. Nice selection of well priced wines. Will definitely go back. The accommodation is 3 star but the food is 5 star. Recommended for foodies.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
Thank filouthompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We have just returned from our second visit to Oak Bank Hotel and once again had a truly relaxed and most enjoyable break. The service was first class, nothing was too much. Rooms and lounge areas were very comfortable, spotlessly clean and of ample size. The food served to us was second to none. The menu which changed daily offered a wide range of tempting dishes. For me as a vegetarian it was a huge bonus to have a chef who made the effort and took the time to cook some very tasty meals. The best vegetarian food I have had anywhere. The food was of a similar high standard for non vegetarians. The presentation of the food and attention to detail was exceptional. Everything about our stay at Oak Bank was perfect, except for the weather!!! We cant wait to return. Thank you

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank collingwoodontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

A special anniversary and the requirement for somewhere special identified this hotel because of excellent reviews. On arrival it was obvious there were adequate car Parkin facilities. Although experience did show that it could be a bit tight when full. The reception was friendly and efficient. The room was scrupulously clean, well decorated and furnished. We did have a superior room and the usual drinks tray was added to by ground coffee/percolator, bottled water, sherry. Each was replenished each day. There was a fully functioning flat screen tv .We were impressed that the bed appeared to have been completely remade each day, not just shook up.
This standard of attention to detail was apparent throughout the hotel.
The food was superb. Breakfast offered all the expected choices plus a couple of unexpected.
Dinner was a pleasure from the very start of the canapés, soups were the finest we have tasted, the cooking, presentation variety were beyond what we had expected from a three star rated establishment.
Overall management and staff where obviously committed to ensuring that guests had a relaxing, pleasurable time in a hotel that is enitrely ' at home' in the ambience of Grasmere.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weekender60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.6 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
7.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#6 of 14 in Grasmere
1,583 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
868 reviews
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Bank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Bank Hotel

Address: Broadgate, Grasmere LA22 9TA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range: $86 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oak Bank Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in Grasmere Village in the heart of the English Lake District, Oak Bank Hotel is perfectly placed to explore the surrounding lakes, fells and tarns. Oak Bank has two lounges both with plenty of comfy sofas and armchairs to relax in. The front lounge has a converted range and the bar lounge has a real log/coal fire. Breakfast and Dinner are served in our Two AA Rosette and Michelin Plate awarded beautiful Dining Room and Conservatory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Oak Bank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Bank Grasmere
Oak Bank Hotel Grasmere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing