We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Pampering.”
Review of Oak Bank Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Oak Bank Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Well situated for great walking around Grasmere, the Oak Bank Hotel offers friendly and attentive service. Our room was comfortable with fantastic views. The highlight of the stay was the food. We had two dinners of suberb quality. Four courses, great choices and a strong wine list. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room 7 on the top floor. Not large, but very quiet and the view is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gpughe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (734)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

479 - 485 of 734 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2012

We have just returned from a fantastic 2 night break at the Oak Bank Hotel. The room was lovely and the food was fabulous. The staff were very welcoming and very attentive. Cannot recommend more highly. Will certainly go back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Chose this hotel based on TripAdviser reviews and we were not disappointed. On arrival we were offered a room upgrade which we gratefully accepted. We stayed in Room 5 which has crisp white linens and a well appointed bathroom with quality amenities. It is the restaurant though that is the most outstanding feature....simply stunning food....stunning service! We had the opportunity to enjoy wine and canapés in the lounge whilst we made our menu selections and were then taken into the restaurant where we proceeded to taste regional and seasonal produce skillfully combined in dishes that are changed daily. Can't recommend the Oak Bank more highly.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank Baligirl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We have just returned from a two night break to the Oak Bank. Once again we were made to feel very welcome. All the staff can not do enough to make your stay perfect. Room was lovely and the food was as fabulous as ever, cooked to perfection and several choices that made it difficult to decide.Home made bread each night and the breakfasts were amazing. Will be going back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lorraine186394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Ideal place to stay (at a reasonable rate) if you are staying the lakes. Evening food is amazing and the ambiance is great. Breakfast doesn't disappoint and the people that run the place are a pleasure. Nicely decorated but not the most lavish of locations (not that you need that in the lakes). Certainly going back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Tamblin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Looking for a break from work, I wanted a weekend away with my girlfriend in a lesser known spot of the Lake District. I checked this website and was highly impressed by the consistently glowing reviews that this hotel had won - and, in particular, the myriad comments about its exceptional dining.

The hotel did not disappoint.

Our room had wonderful views across the gardens and towards the hills. It was immaculately clean and a comfortable size. The hotel in-room literature was very informative and explained anything you could possibly want to know. And the hotel itself was well situated in the heart of the village.

But it was the dining experience that stood out for us.The food was incredible - both at breakfast and dinner. Each course was exceptionally well-prepared, looked wonderful and tasted even better. You will smile throughout the entire meal. The waiting staff were terrific, you weren't rushed and nothing was too much trouble.

If you're looking for a cosy hotel with sumptous food in an idylic area, look no further.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kentish_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Recently returned from a very agreeable stay at this hotel.The room was comfortable,the location perfect for a stay in the lakes but the real plus for us was the superb food. The whole dining experience was faultless from pre dinner drinks that were good value with an excellent choice, to the food which was to a very high standard indeed. This hotel is just big enough,the staff are all very friendly whilst remaining professional this reflects on the whole hotel as it has to be one of the friendliest hotels we have ever stayed (Which is a lot!) The wine list is good and is reasonably priced. Overall this is a very good hotel with private parking for residents and very reasonably priced,dinner b&b is a must! we will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cyrusPickering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.6 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#6 of 14 in Grasmere
1,628 reviews
7.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa
0.2 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
873 reviews
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Bank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Bank Hotel

Address: Broadgate, Grasmere LA22 9TA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range: $95 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oak Bank Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in Grasmere Village in the heart of the English Lake District, Oak Bank Hotel is perfectly placed to explore the surrounding lakes, fells and tarns. Oak Bank has two lounges both with plenty of comfy sofas and armchairs to relax in. The front lounge has a converted range and the bar lounge has a real log/coal fire. Breakfast and Dinner are served in our Two AA Rosette and Michelin Plate awarded beautiful Dining Room and Conservatory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Oak Bank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Bank Grasmere
Oak Bank Hotel Grasmere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing