We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel in good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grasmere Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grasmere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grasmere Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

We had an enjoyable two night stay at this hotel and appreciated the nice rooms, professional service, good food which was all good value for money. The hotel is very clean with nice decor and fresh flowers. Having said that, it didn't have a lot of atmosphere. The staff were very polite and professional, although we especially appreciated the great warmth shown by one of the young female staff from I think Roumania who was very charming.

Room Tip: A room on the top floor at the back gives nice views of garden but there disappear to be a lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nikdubrov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    709
    30
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
87
513
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

Arrived at Grasmere Hotel to a very warm welcome from Marsh, Shown to our room Beatrix on the top floor with great views and fantastic shower room, Then enjoyed tea and biscuits in the beautiful garden. The evening meal was perfect and well worth booking, a great selection of drinks and the service just outstanding felt we were in 5 star Hotel. Had booked next couple of nights in bowness but we did not want to leave here and we can't wait to return.

Room Tip: beatrix room was perfect, top floor,views,fantastic shower room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christinebernadette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inman, South Carolina
Level Contributor
85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

The Grasmere Hotel is an absolutely wonderful facility right in the village of Grasmere. The building itself is beautiful and the grounds are lovely. The staff is welcoming and will answer questions you have about the area. The meals are great. Book the package that includes both dinner and breakfast! Anton is an outstanding chef. His dinners are on a par with some of the finest restaurants we've visited worldwide. Breakfast is also well-prepared, filling, and tasty. The rooms are large with modern bathrooms, all spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The entire staff is just a delight to know; warm, friendly, and efficient. Thanks to Rob, Anton, and also Suzy for making our visit so memorable!

Room Tip: No lifts are available but plenty of help is available if you need it to carry suitcases up and down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RuthAnne52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

Booked last minute and found the last double room available.
The hotel is situated in the heart of Grasmere.
It is an old country house, now functioning as a hotel.
We were given a warm welcome on entering and booked in and shown to our room, which overlooked the front of the hotel and was clean and freshly decorated, with a new modern ensuite,
In fact all the bedrooms where refurbished in 2013.
Down stairs, the lounge and dining room have been refurbished and new furniture installed.
In the evening the meal, which was excellent value lived up to expectations, with well prepared food served by attentive staff in pleasant surroundings.
This is a little gem in the heart of the Lake District. We will defiantly return.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good. You can view them on line
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidmouth, England
Level Contributor
49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

This is a small traditional-looking Lake District hotel which has been carefully and very effectively modernised. Our room despite being on the carpark side was quiet ; it was very well-thought out and comfortable with a most excellent shower room.
We were on a half board deal which was great, because we thought the food was excellent. Beautifully cooked and interesting without being over elaborate. Suited us very well.
Best of all, Rob, the front of house half of the two owners, was a very attentive and friendly host and his staff were just brilliant.
The location, part way along one of the roads leading into Grasmere, was convenient with a spacious carpark. There was a quiet well-laid out garden at the back leading down to the river. We saw plenty of wonderful views of lakes and hills when we were out and about. So the fact that this hotel does not have one of its own did not matter to us, given all its other pluses.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sidcol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Durham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

We've stayed in hotels all over the world, the Grasmere Hotel has beaten them all!The staff are perfect in every way....welcoming, attentive, friendly and helpful.We found the public rooms and our bedroom very comfortable and spotlessly clean. The dining room was airy, spacious and well ordered.We must give the quality and presentation of the food as high a rating as is possible to give....perfect. We can't wait to go back and will recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrambleCoDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

Thank you to Rob and all the team for a wonderful return to Grasmere,we had our honeymoon 30 years ago here,and it was great to be back. The food is must outstanding,room very comfortable and spotlessly clean and all to a high standard. Thank you for the Buck's Fizz at breakfast. We will return very soon.(book in advance)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FUR_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.5 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
17.7 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
9.3 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
7.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
7.1 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grasmere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grasmere Hotel

Property: Grasmere Hotel
Address: Broadgate, Grasmere LA22 9TA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely Victorian Country House Hotel in one of the most beautiful villages in the Lake District. Elegant lounge and restaurant overlooking the pretty garden. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing