We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pre Christmas break”
Review of Grasmere Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grasmere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grasmere Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Had a wonderful stay at the Grasmere Hotel. This is our first time and we will certainly be back. Highly recommend for anyone wanting a stylish,welcoming comfortable break in this fantastic village. Rob and the team know how to look after you.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (793)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

504 - 510 of 793 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2013

We have just stayed for 3 nights on 29 November 2013. This is a lovely hotel in a very pretty village. We arrived to a warm welcome and were brought tea and cakes in the lounge. We stayed in Shelley room overlooking the pretty garden. The room was nicely furnished with a very comfortable large bed and a bathroom with underfloor heating and hot towel rails. Perfect for early December. Rob and his efficient and friendly staff do everything to make you feel comfortable and nothing is too much trouble. The food cooked by Anton is exceptionally good with a very varied choice. We enjoyed drinks and canapés in the lounge before dinner by a roaring fire. The four course dinner on each night was excellent and beautifully presented and served. We felt very relaxed and comfortable here and will most certainly visit again .

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annettp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

Have just spent one night at the Grasmere Hotel and felt compelled to write this review. It was a gem of a find. The hospitality, cleanliness and standard of accommodation were outstanding and as for the food - the choice, presentation and flavours were exceptional. Can't wait for an excuse to go back!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank rossvon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Stayed 3 nights at the Grasmere Nov 2013. The hotel has been completely refurbished to a very high standard but still has a lovely cosy feel to it. We stayed in the Wordsworth room which is on the ground floor. It was very comfortable and had French doors leading onto the nice garden at the back of the hotel (which has a river running at the bottom of the garden). Comfy bed, plenty of wardrobe space, modern bathroom and tea and coffee facilities. Breakfast was excellent with a good choice both from the help yourself selection and the menu served at your table. We booked evening meal here on our 1st night and that to was of a very high standard and very good value. The only reason we didn't eat here on the following nights was that the evening meal is 4 courses and we couldn't manage so much food 3 nights on the run. The lounge is just lovely with a roaring log fire and beautiful furnishings, what more could you want. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debbieq217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We could not wait to return,after our July visit.Made to feel so very Welcome, yet again.All aspects of our stay Excellent,Rob and Anton Superb with their Hospitality,as indeed was Jon ,and Barbara,We were "toasty " warm at all times,and enjoyed our trays of hot drinks,with "treats" after some splendid walking ,in this beautiful area.so. can,t wait to return,!!

Room Tip: As we have now stayed in Wordswoth,overlooking the garden-G/floor ,and Judith over looking the side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MargeryT617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

This is about the 7th time we've stayed at the Grasmere and, I must say, probably the best. The changes that Rob and Anton have made since they took over are absolutely superb. The lounge and dining room had been refurbished on our last visit so we were interested what other changes had been made. New bathrooms and bedroom refurbs have just made a very comfortable hotel a real pleasure to visit. The food was always good but now its simply superb! The staff, especially John and Barbara, are so attentive and the attention to detail is great.
Can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BigAlRotherham_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

When we arrived we were welcomed by a young lady who was very helpful (I'm so sorry I can't remember your name), she showed us around, helped us to our room and explained when breakfast/evening meal times. We settled in then had tea/coffee in the lounge.
The hotel was beautiful, lovely room and bathroom stunning. The shower was refreshing after a cold day of walking. (Coleridge room).
The evening meal of 4 courses, was very nice, great presentation and cooked beautifully. Retiring to the lounge for coffee felt very relaxed like being in your own living room. (Although mine doesn't have the log fire). Comfy bedroom, quite large with plenty of room. We had breakfast both mornings, plenty of choice, full, continental, salmon, but we had full Cumbrian, sausage, bacon, tomato, mushroom, eggs, as you like them, black pudding and toast. Plenty of cereals and fruit too. Anton and Rob were very welcoming and helped us with a map of a walk round grasmere lake. Would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone, 2 guests even had dogs, and were so well behaved.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank MrsC212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
7.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,512 reviews
17.7 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.6 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
9.3 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grasmere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grasmere Hotel

Address: Broadgate, Grasmere LA22 9TA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Price Range: $146 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely Victorian Country House Hotel in one of the most beautiful villages in the Lake District. Elegant lounge and restaurant overlooking the pretty garden. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing