We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Hotel”
Review of Grasmere Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grasmere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grasmere Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous Hotel”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Stayed here for one night. The hotel is amazing, beautifully furnished and spotless. The food was outstanding and well presented and it is so lovely to be at a hotel that can cater for gluten and diary free diets, even down to the little chocolates you get when you have tea/coffee in the lounge after dinner, we were given gluten/diary free chocolate with our tea. So much attention to detail has been thought of. Breakfast the next day was amazing, so much choice and again well presented.

Our room we stayed in was Beatrix which had lovely view of the hills, the room is beautifully furnished and a lovely walk-in shower again all spotless.

Would I stay here again, yes certainly, going back again this week! and two nights again there in July for our wedding anniversary.

The Grasmere deserves to become Trip advisors Travellers Choice Winner of the year.

We wish Rob, Anton and staff the very best for the future in this truly outstanding hotel in Grasmere.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mermaid85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    736
    31
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
95
530
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex England
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We booked 3 rooms for 4 nights and loved it. Beautiful building with entrance hall leading to lounge delightfully furnished, restaurant is light with a view into the garden which leads down to the river. Rooms were all lovely - slight variations in sizes of rooms and ensuites and different prices reflect this. Time, money and energy has been spent on making the rooms clean, beautifully decorated and the ensuite has functional yet superior fittings. The restaurant was full every night with mostly residents although private parties are catered for with a booking. We didn't take up the offer of dinner every night as wanted to explore the town but ended up eating in the restaurant for 2 of our 4 nights! A reduction makes it a fantastic deal for a 4 course dinner which was very well presented and tasted great. All staff were helpful and thoroughly recommend a stay here. Thank you Rob and Anton and waiting staff.

Room Tip: Room sizes vary and prices reflect this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolandTim62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Wonderful hotel in the beautiful village of grasmere. Well appointed room with good modenr fittings and really clean, the staff were very helpful but not intrusive. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chesterboy_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Only stayed one night in this boutique hotel on the Wainwright Coast to Coast walk - sorry I had not booked an extra night. Single room excellent in every way and afternoon tea on the lawn beside the river was delightful. You must have dinner here - the dining room looks out to the river in fading light and the menu is excellent and beautifully served.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne_M1307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Just back from 3 nights at this lovely Hotel. Very clean, modern, with superb garden. Bedrooms with lovely fitments etc.,The food was excellent, with lots of choice for Breakfast. We had pre-booked one evening meal, which was superb and more than comparable with other restaurants in the village. The staff were very helpful & pleasant. Could not find any faults, which is a credit to all concerned.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights and occupied three rooms which were all beautifully decorated with perfect bathroom/ shower rooms, modern, new and spotlessly clean. Our room was actually only a standard double level, could not fault it......The breakfast offered much choice including fresh fruit salad, cereals, porridge, smoked haddock, kippers and salmon as well as full english, beautifully cooked and not greasy at all. We eat out a lot but due to tiredness decided to eat in their restaurant one evening it was fabulous and as a result we chose to eat there again. The staff and service is very very good and such lovely people nothing is too much trouble, there are table games in the lounge to play in the evening also, great fun. We would definitely stay again and would recommend to any discerning, fussy traveller, this hotel will not disappoint.

Room Tip: All rooms are of a very high standard but the Judith room, due to healthy and safety, you can't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire_Franks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frodsham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Just returned, stayed 14th to 16th June 2013. Had a wonderful stay with excellent customer service from all the staff . Assistance with my aged parents was excellent including catering for special dietary needs,food was excellent and nothing was too much trouble. Rooms superbly appointed, clean and room, with brilliant showers.
A wonderful stay and will certainly stay again. Thanks to Rob, Anton and all staff for making us welcome.

Room Tip: De Quincy large and spacious, on the second floor, with an excellent en-suite. Wordsworth good roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HandKsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
7.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
17.7 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
535 reviews
7.1 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,202 reviews
9.3 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,362 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grasmere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grasmere Hotel

Property: Grasmere Hotel
Address: Broadgate, Grasmere LA22 9TA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely Victorian Country House Hotel in one of the most beautiful villages in the Lake District. Elegant lounge and restaurant overlooking the pretty garden. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing