We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Country House Style with Food and Service to Match”
Review of Grasmere Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grasmere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grasmere Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Country House Style with Food and Service to Match”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I stayed here for two nights 3rd and 4th July with my Daughter, we had two single rooms (both had double beds). The Hotel Lounge and Dinning room are decorated in country house style and are lovely (very much to my taste). The Dining Room overlooks the beautifully manicured garden and is a delight. The food and service was exceptional, loved how they organised the dining it made for a very enjoyable evening on both nights and excellent value.

I intend returning with my Husband in the near future.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PDPickford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    719
    30
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
89
520
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We chose the Grasmere Hotel because it provided a convenient starting point for walks in the district. Our stay turned out to be very pleasant: service was of a high standard, our room was light and well laid out and the overall atmosphere at the hotel was friendly and homy. Dinner, which is served in the attractive dining room (view!), was always excellent. Compliments to the chef. This hotel was better than we expected in every respect and we will certainly return!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We Stayed at the Grasmere last week with our Dog, we had a fabulous welcome by Barbara who showed us round and offered help to get luggage out of the car, Our Cocker was as welcomed as we were, Anton's excellent menu had us looking forward to dinner every night, which started with relaxing drinks in the lovely open lounge, there are wonderful views of the garden and even enjoyed the antics of the rabbit on the lawn! afterwards coffee is served in the lounge.
Our room was on the third floor lovely and quiet with fab comfortable bed and sumptuous bedding.
Rob was a lovely host, and all the staff too, nothing was too much trouble, on one occasion we asked Barbara what time the Gingerbread shop opened, she said I don't know but in seconds was back with the opening and closing time. We had booked dinner every night and was so glad we did. it made it a very enjoyable experience. Look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillytheoldGruff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobvanderPalen, Owner at Grasmere Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind words regarding the staff, the food and the room. We look forward to welcoming you again to the Grasmere Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We only booked for one night stop over and had a lovely stay. The Food was fantastic and the staff were very helpful we would recommend this as a great place to stay. Just sorry we only had one night but will stay longer next time.
E & I Farmer

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sweep049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

My husband had stayed at the Grasmere a couple of months ago and was keen to return so we stayed a night en route home from a Scottish holiday. Wonderful hospitality and excellent dinner - which is great value at £15 for 4 courses and coffee, if booked as DB&B. Well-equipped room, lovely light dining room with views of garden, river, and mountains. Nothing to fault, and I hope we'll be back.

Very short stroll from village centre, ie accessible by public transport, eg 555 Lancaster-Keswick bus. Free parking for guests.

As an example of customer service, at breakfast I overheard Rob offering to phone local health centre to help a guest arrange an appointment. That's helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PMDLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobvanderPalen, Owner at Grasmere Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Very nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking time to write this review. We hope to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Last week was the third time we have stayed at the grasemere hotel this year, Rob as always welcomed us almost like a member of his family , the food was superb (one of the reasons for us to keep returning) .nothing is too much trouble for them .keep it up .

Room Tip: If you want a large room, select a double with bath &shower , the Shellet, & Ruskings were g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeagleToby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neptune beach, fl
Level Contributor
92 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

From the moment we arrived until we left, everything was just wonderful. In the evening we sipped wine in their tasteful and homey lounge/living area. While there, our dinner orders were taken and canapes were given to the guests. Then we sat down to a long and leisurely dining experience. The food was very good.

We were very pleased with our room. In fact, we were so pleased with our two-night stay, we tried to stay a third, but unfortunately they were completely booked.

The owners gave us tips on a beautiful/scenic drive, which we are so glad we did.

I highly recommend. Of all the places we could have chosen to stay in Grasmere or the Lake District, we were so glad we chose the Grasmere Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jm5445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.4 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
17.7 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#3 of 14 in Grasmere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
9.3 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
7.1 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grasmere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grasmere Hotel

Property: Grasmere Hotel
Address: Broadgate, Grasmere LA22 9TA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely Victorian Country House Hotel in one of the most beautiful villages in the Lake District. Elegant lounge and restaurant overlooking the pretty garden. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing