We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty Food”
Review of Miller Howe Cafe

Miller Howe Cafe
Ranked #3 of 4 Dessert in Grasmere
Price range: $4 - $12
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Miller Howe Cafe is a traditional cafe which celebrates the 'back to basics' approach. Having recently undergone refurbishment, the interior is a wonderfully relaxed environment where you can enjoy traditional, home-cooked fare. From the quiche of the day to an array of jacket potatoes or homemade cakes - there is something for everyone!
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Tasty Food”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Very pleasant sitting at the outside tables on a lovely sunny day. Had a great pot of tea (served with a pot of hot water!) a SUPERB cheese scone and tasty bacon bap. The butter for the scone was in a small pot (no pre-packs here!) and tomato ketchup, again, was in a small dish (not a horrible sachet!)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Celticditsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensheadtroutbeck, Manager at Miller Howe Cafe, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thanks for your great review. We like to make sure all our ingredients are as fresh as possible and it is great to hear how much this is appreciated. We hope to see you again for more tasty food - and hopefully some more sunshine too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    101
    56
    52
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Light Lunch”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We ate here after a morning walking and enjoyed a bowl of delicious pea and potato soup with fresh warm bread roll. The tables were well spaced, the cafe very clean with exceptional toilets! Service was excellent. We have been here before and will be coming again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CazandPaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensheadtroutbeck, Manager at Miller Howe Cafe, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thanks for your great feedback. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level Contributor
164 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Unusual but Good Food”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

For a lunch that is more substantial than a quick snack but not as large as a restaurant meal then the Miller Howe Kaff in Glasmere has much to recommend it. An unusual and varied menu saw both of us satisfied for a reasonable sum of money (my Bobotie was based on a South African speciality) and £20.35 paid for two lunches and two teas. Parking is at a distance as space within the village is at a premium but a short walk to free parking is available. And anyway, one can browse the shops there and back.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Des H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensheadtroutbeck, Manager at Miller Howe Cafe, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thanks for your great comments. It is wonderful to hear how much you enjoyed our menu as we do try to ensure we have something for everyone whilst ensuring that all our dishes are made fresh with great ingredients.
Whilst we can't do anything about the parking in the village - as you say it give you an extra excuse to browse all the other delights that Grasmere has to offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent full English!”
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Went here for brunch as seems to be only place in Grasmere which serves breakfasts all day. Had the full English and wasn't disappointed, was very good and filling. Cakes looked good too, maybe another time.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca_Andrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensheadtroutbeck, Manager at Miller Howe Cafe, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thanks for your great review. We love a good breakfast at the Miller Howe Cafe which is why we serve it all day for any late risers!
All of our cakes are made fresh on-site, so hopefully you will be able to squeeze one of our tasty delights in next time you are here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Banoffee Pie”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We called in here for a quick coffee and sit down. Couldn't fail to notice the lovely delicious cakes on display. Gave in and ordered the gorgeous looking banoffee pie along with a cappuccino. The slice of pie was absolutely huge... I jest but I bet if could easily feed a family of 4. It was nice but far too much for one person to devour. It must have stood at around 6cm high!If you are passing and get the urge for a massive sugar rush then you know where to come. One to revisit next time we are in Grasmere.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensheadtroutbeck, Manager at Miller Howe Cafe, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thanks Paula M for your review. With so many great walks in the surrounding area we like to ensure that everyone leaves with enough energy to tackle even the toughest route!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miller Howe Cafe also viewed

Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 
Grasmere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Miller Howe Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing