We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Pre Dinner Drink”
Review of Dove

Dove
Ranked #25 of 45 Restaurants in Grasmere
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
North West
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice Pre Dinner Drink”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We popped in here prior to dinner at our hotel and although it was part of the quiet season, there was a nice group in there to make it seem busy and the fire was roaring away! Lovely!

The wine and the beer were good quality and a reasonable price.

Great Pre dinner drink for us!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank TravellingTinker2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    61
    38
    19
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Up North
Level Contributor
219 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Good little bistro”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Ideally I would have given this three and a half stars as falling somewhere between average and very good. It's a nice place and the food is amazing but on the negative side it's really small to the extent you feel perhaps too close to your food neighbours and also the bar is right next to the bistro so you get the overflow of bar noise. It's not that there is anything wrong with the bar noise but it doesn't match the quiet, romantic nature of the bistro. However, as I say, the food is really delicious, the service was good and the prices are reasonable so it's definitely worth a try to make up your own mind!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cheesecake0509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food and service too”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

This was a lovely find on a cold, wet January night. It's best to book but we were able to eat in the bistro area . . . the salmon was delicious, the meatballs absolutely gorgeous but best of all was the shared desert platter . . . heaven for someone who loves puddings as much as I do!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke on Trent
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food.”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

The food was amazing, I had the meatballs which I would have again in a heartbeat! The service and setting were lovely and the fire just added the atmosphere.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stokie81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not impressed..”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We used to eat here a couple of years ago but after a few poor meals and service we decided to give it a rest.
We called in the bar for a drink and the food we saw being taken in to the small restaurant look good so we decided to give it another try...big mistake.
It's a nice cosy place and we like that, but as before the food was poor.
We'll be giving it a miss for another year or so I think. Sad really I think the quality of food drops if you eat at the same time as they are serving the food to the hotel. If they can't do it they shouldn't bother.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank welovethelakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dove also viewed

 
Grasmere, Lake District
 

Been to Dove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing