We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grasmere Haven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Wordsworth Hotel
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
manchester
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Grasmere Haven”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Had a relatively impromptu stay at The Wordsworth. Booked directly with the hotel, which was effortless. Upon arrival, check-in service was quick and efficient and our room was available earlier than expected. The room was superb, beautifully furnished with amazing views of the mountains and gardens, and a really large comfortable bed. Had champagne afternoon tea served in the bar area, beautifully presented with a nice selection of sandwiches and cakes. Disappointed tea was made with a tea bag, but otherwise would highly recommend. Had pre-dinner drinks and canapés served in the conservatory bar before having dinner in the Signature restaurant, which we felt was very reasonably priced for the quality. The food was enjoyable, there was a good selection and it was nicely presented however, the first three courses were served a little too quickly for our liking, with very little time between each one. Service though was was excellent and a good dining experience. Most people were dressed for dinner but it was disappointing to note that a couple of diners were allowed to eat in the restaurant wearing sportswear (I mean the type worn at track and field events) and very casual lounge wear. Had a nightcap in the bar again excellent service from the gentleman who had served us afternoon tea earlier in the afternoon. Had a great nights rest - very quiet and peaceful. Breakfast was served in the restaurant again with a good selection of quality foods, well presented, enjoyable and served well. A couple of nice touches for us were a small bottle of wine in our room, and a complimentary glass of prosecco before dinner to celebrate a birthday/anniversary. Emphasis at the hotel seems to be on good quality and customer service. Special mentions must be given to the gentlemen from Clitheroe who worked in the Dove bar, the Restaurant Greeter (possibly Manager?) and restaurant serving staff - all worked extremely hard to make our stay an enjoyable one. The only negative part of this stay for us is that it simply wasn't long enough and we look forward to returning again in the near future.

Room Tip: Go for the views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladywigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    642
    305
    145
    48
    23
See reviews for
181
762
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2014

We stayed at The Wordsworth for 3 nights on a DBB basis, we booked a courtyard room but upon arrival and looking at the room (number 33) we both felt really dissapointed as it was very small, view onto a wall, decor was v.tired and bathroom very dated. For nearly £200 a night we did not feel this would suffice, we complained to reception and the manager came to see us an upgraded us to a garden mountain view room (Number 8) ......what a difference!
Its such a shame they do not take note of the reviews as lots of customers have said the same...i realise they cant do anything about the size and the view but if they were modernised maybe we wouldn't have complained....
The new room was modern, great size, new bathroom, seating area, lovely views etc.only slight downside wa thay the room was very hot at night and we had to sleep with the windows open.
The restaurant makes this place and we had 3 , 2 course breakfasts and 3 , 4 course evening meals and all were amazing! ( they have 2 AA rosettes and it shows) great vegetarian selection and the canapes in the bar before your meal were a great touch.
Staff in the restaurant are very attentive and the bar staff are also very good.
The reception staff were a mixed bunch, some were great, some were a touch abrubt they change daily so its pot luck!
Its a shame the gym has gone as we would have used it...the Pool, Jacuzzi and Sauna were of a good standard and were always clean and we used these daily.
We both had a full body massage and the 2 girls were really friendly and courteous so would recommend them.
There were 2 weddings in there whilst we were there but we never felt this compromised the service / food in any way
The room was always clean and the maid friendly and away stocked up the milk, tea etc in the room and changed the sheets daily.
Location is great and make sure you visit the gingerbread shop next door!
Improvements need to be made in the courtyard rooms, the mens changing rooms apparently needed modernising ( i never went in) and maybe asking the customer if they are vegetarian before serving the meat canapes? and maybe a mini bar in the rooms?
Other than that we would definatley return!
Hope this helps.....

Room Tip: Try to avoid the courtyard rooms ( 33) looks onto a wall, small, decor dated and bathroom tired Mou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Staceyandjulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

Quaint hotel in the beautiful village of Grasmere. Rooms are good but do vary in size so the standard double is best value. The breakfast is excellent. But for us the best part is the pool and Jacuzzi where it is fantastic to relax after a day walking around the superb lake, hill walking or even shopping!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2014

My husband and I got married at the Wordsworth last week and it was wonderful, Laura and Catalin were great and the owner was very kind to us, nothing was too much trouble. We were all very impressed with our beautiful rooms, the wedding ceremony was lovely and our wedding breakfast was fabulous. Ian our photographer was just brilliant!, can't wait to see our photos, John who sang for us in the evening was great, special thanks to Mark our waiter the night before our wedding in the Dove bistro which was so lovely and during our evening reception. Grasmere is wonderful and just wish we could do it all over again, love being married x

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fambosteele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is so comfortable and relaxing, the staff are friendly but not familiar, the rooms well equipped and I would like to stay again and again. It is perfect to escape from the rat race and take in some walking if that's your thing. I didn't use the spa this time but would certainly do so another time.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GiSKW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2014

We stayed only one night but made use of all facilities, the spa was clean, the room was beautiful the bed was very comfortable. We upgraded from the courtyard room to the next one up and where very pleased we did. Our meal in the restaurant was delicious and the whole staff were friendly and helpful. The view from our front room was delightful.

Room Tip: We stayed in one that was over the main entrance, and the view was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brenda55277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2014

My husband and I stayed on 7th August 2014, a birthday present from our children, beautiful Hotel, staff and service excellent, the grounds were gorgeous, lucky we had good weather to sit out and enjoy them, our dining experience in restaurant was more than 1st class, compliments to the chef, also to the staff in there, polite and speedy service, meal delicious, our first visit to The Wordsworth but definitely not the Last. Ellen Cutclffe

Room Tip: the room overlooking the village num 29 was comfortable and pleasant to see the hustle and bustle in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.3 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,406 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#3 of 14 in Grasmere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
7.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wordsworth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wordsworth Hotel

Property: The Wordsworth Hotel
Address: Stock Lane | Cumbria, Grasmere LA22 9SW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
#4 Luxury Hotel in Grasmere
#5 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wordsworth Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa provides an iconic destination nestling amongst the towering mountains of the English Lake District. Individually styled, comfortable bedrooms balance tradition with contemporary design with most offering stunning mountain or village views. The fine dining, air conditioned Signature Restaurant provides an award-winning menu whilst the more informal Dove Bistro showcases superb local ingredients cooked with flair and skill. For guests looking to truly pamper themselves the Lakeland Organic Spa (March 2015) offers guests a wide range of luxurious and natural treatments to ensure a fully relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, LateRooms, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Wordsworth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wordsworth Hotel Grasmere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing