We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FAbulous weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Wordsworth Hotel
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“FAbulous weekend”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

I stayed at this hotel having purchased a deal on Amazon local. The room was a good size, spotless, great facilities and lovely bath and power shower. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The restaurant staff were very attentive and professional. Food was excellent. There is a pool and spa which looked great, though we didn't use it. The bar and the lounge are very comfortable.The situation of the hotel is very good, right in the town with plenty of parking. All in all a lovely experience. I hope to return soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    642
    305
    145
    48
    22
See reviews for
180
762
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We had a lovely relaxing time at this hotel. The location was very central and peaceful. The staff were all very attentive and lovely. There was a few mishaps at mealtimes but the staff recognised this and went out of their way to make amends. We would return to this hotel again for sure.

Room Tip: We chose a classic room which had views towards the hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aaliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Wordsworth for a one night short break complete with dinner 24th March.
Village view room was good size and really comfortable.
Dinner tasty, well presented with excellent service as was breakfast.
Hotel couldn't be better situated, centre of town with all attractions close by.
What really stood out was the staff, pleasant, efficient and eager to please.
Will stay again but for longer next time.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank iaindwallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

Visited with my sister as a treat from friends for our birthday. Stayed two night with BB and evening meal. Situated in the centre of Grassmere good location. Room was very nice with a good size bath room with separate shower and bath. Toiletries and tea and coffee povided. Evening meal was very nice with beautiful smoked salmon to start with. My sister had the souffle on both night as it was so good. Steak for our main which was cooked very nicely For dessert we a selection of dessets to share which was lovely. Breakfast was equally as good with everything cooked to order.
The hotel has a spar which we used, nice size swimming pool, steam room, sauna and jacuzzi very nice couple of hours. The hotel has a on site beautician which you would have to book in before. The staff were very accomodating and managed to move appointments around to fit us both in and we both had a very nice manicure done by a very nice young lady.
We also had afternoon tea served in the conservatory which consisted of tea and a scone . The scone was home cooked and very nice.
The staff were very friendly and helpful I will hopefully return for another visit later in the year.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 186408Alison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Just stayed here for one night as a special treat with my mum. Booked as a deal which included 5 course meal. I really can't recommend this hotel enough. The service was fantastic, food amazing and overall just a lovely, relaxing experience. Thank you!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank broadest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

We stayed over for one night (19th march 2014) with some friends . The room was a standard . Nice and comfortable . The staff were nice and attentive. The evening meal for all four of us was of exceptional quality. Good value all round.





Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Keith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We stayed here on a deal, and found a little piece of heaven. The room was good, the staff fantastic, (special mention must go to the restaurant team who must be the best there are), but the food was the best we have ever had in a hotel/restaurant. It was tasty, of fantastic quality, and beautifully presented. We do hope the chef and his team go round with a huge proud grin. They fully deserve to - they are the best. Reception staff to deserve a mention, where else do you go and the lady who books you in takes you to your room? A great touch. Will we be back? Without hesitation, it cannot come to soon!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wadey57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.3 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,403 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#3 of 14 in Grasmere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
7.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wordsworth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wordsworth Hotel

Property: The Wordsworth Hotel
Address: Stock Lane | Cumbria, Grasmere LA22 9SW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
#4 Luxury Hotel in Grasmere
#5 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wordsworth Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa provides an iconic destination nestling amongst the towering mountains of the English Lake District. Individually styled, comfortable bedrooms balance tradition with contemporary design with most offering stunning mountain or village views. The fine dining, air conditioned Signature Restaurant provides an award-winning menu whilst the more informal Dove Bistro showcases superb local ingredients cooked with flair and skill. For guests looking to truly pamper themselves the Lakeland Organic Spa (March 2015) offers guests a wide range of luxurious and natural treatments to ensure a fully relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, LateRooms, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Wordsworth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wordsworth Hotel Grasmere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing