We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Wordsworth Hotel
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Milnthorpe
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

This is a first class hotel located in a beautiful Lakeland village. On checking in we were escorted to our room by the receptionist (how many hotels go to this personal level, not many!) We had a cream tea sitting in a lovely glass conservatory. Smokers are catered for here too, an area outside under cover with a infrared heater on the wall. We then went to have a swim, jacuzzi and sauna in a wonderful large indoor pool area. Everything here was very relaxing and not noisy. We had an exceptional dinner in the dining room. The food was outstanding, all the courses were very prettily presented on the plate but also enough to satisfy the appetite. The waiter service was very professional. The room we were in was very nicely decorated and had a good view of the distant mountains, the bed was really comfortable too. Breakfast was good, but not at the high standard as last night's dinner. All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, we were really impressed with the friendliness and helpfulness of ALL the staff and would certainly return. We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to our friends and family.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WordsworthManagemenT, Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Guest ,

Thank you for your fantastic review.
It is great to hear that you had suck a wonderful time, and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    642
    305
    145
    48
    23
See reviews for
181
762
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We stayed after buying a promotional deal online.
I'll start with negatives firstly was told wrong prices on upgrade which we had to pay as courtyard rooms where full tbh I wish we hadnt as are 'upgraded' view was the side of the hotel !!
We had to ask for are cream tea on arrival as the receptionist failed to give it to us. I was told on the phone that as it was my fiances birthday he would recieve special treatment none was given !!! So why say that ?
We where charged the morning after for papers we did not ask for and for a starter which there was an added supplement charge for ! We left hotel feeling there was a hidden charge in everything in that hotel.
The spa staff are pure rude ! Definitely avoid there. I was severely embarrassed for one lady when the beautician refused to do her nails unless the lady went to her room for money ??
On the plus side, very clean and in a beautiful location. The food (dessert menu poor) is amazing.
I just feel hotel badly run and management just want money spent. Would recommend looking roun area before booking as better run places !!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicola c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WordsworthManagemenT, Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time write your review.
We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed our food, but saddened by the the fact you feel you were not looked after . We are known for our attentive staff who take their roles very seriously and try, every day, to provide that quality customer service, that our guests expect. We apologize if on this occasion our service did not live up to expectations.
We are a bit disappointed with your other comments. We can assure you that there are no hidden charges and both are offers and our menus are quite explicit with regards to the pricing and inclusions.
We do look forward to welcoming you back at The Wordsworth in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here recently as part of a promotional deal for one night which included a cream tea and evening meal. The hotel is beautiful, the weather was dreadful but we relaxed in the conservatory, read papers by the roaring fire in reception and our room was spacious and comfortable. We had a courtyard room which is classed as a standard double and whilst it didn't have views which we could have upgraded to get, it was a good standard and most satisfactory. We loved the signature restaurant, the service and attitude of the staff gave you a real feeling of quality and respectful customer service which I'm sure attracts people back year after year. The food was superb and plentiful, please note that there is a dress code for the restaurant which we liked but had we not checked first then we may not have packed the right attire. I've rated this based on fantastic value for money and had we paid full price I would have given it 4.5 stars. Wifi was patchy, certainly in the conservatory where most people would probably use iPads etc which would be a bonus if this was improved. We would certainly consider returning

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Noswad292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WordsworthManagemenT, Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to write this great review. Your comments will be passed on to our team. We are sorry to hear that the internet was a bit of a let down, and we will certainly look into it.
We look forward to welcoming you back at The Wordsworth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

been here twice on travelzoo deals and excellent value for money. Hotel spotless, the staff friendly and very good at their jobs. Food to die for in both the restaurant and the adjoining one to hotel. The best cream tea we have ever had as the scones are delicious. The pool is great and the gardens are beautifully kept and a relaxing place to sit with privacy from the road which the hotel is directly on. Plenty of parking space and the village of Grasmere is really nice with little shops and cafes. Could not ask for more and cannot wait to go again this summer.

Room Tip: both rooms on both stays lovely rooms although views not great but we do not go for views from our r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon1964190832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WordsworthManagemenT, Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. Our team works hard to deliver great food and service, and it is rewording to know that their efforts are appreciated.
We look forward to welcoming you back at The Wordsworth in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

I booked the decquincy suite and and was very impressed with the hotel and attentiveness of staff. The food was outstanding and considering the rating of the hotel it was value for money
I proposed to my other half too!
What a beautiful setting for such an occasion. Thanks to everyone for making it so special.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alphaoscarone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WordsworthManagemenT, Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for review. We are happy to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us , and will pass on your comments to our team, but most important CONGRATULATIONS!!! We look forward to welcome you back at The Wordsworth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambleside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

Visited the lovely conservatory for a coffee with family. The service was great, the coffee looked nice and frothy but it was lukewarm. I don't understand how that can happen when it is made with a coffee machine.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank holimonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joenichols, Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Thank you for your review, we have looked at the temperature our milk frother is running at following your review and the milk is lovely and hot however we are sorry your coffee wasn't, next time your in the village please pop back and let us know and we will make sure there is a piping hot Lavazza waiting for you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Dear Joe & all the Staff at The Wordsworth Hotel & Spa,

We just wanted to say a heartfelt thank you for our wonderful stay at your hotel this weekend. After our disastrous start to the respite weekend( at another hotel) we came to you on Saturday 12th january 2014 in the morning exhausted and downhearted. You gave us a beautiful room for the evening, an outstanding meal in the bistro followed be a hearty breakfast.

The whole experience was made even more enjoyable by the considerate & friendly staff at The Wordsworth. Everyone went out of their way to ensure we had a pleasurable stay and that we did. We cannot thank you enough for turning our weekend into a relaxing worry free weekend and we look forward to visiting you again in the near future.

Mr & Mrs Chalmers

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank victoriachalmers27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.3 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,406 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#3 of 14 in Grasmere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
7.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wordsworth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wordsworth Hotel

Property: The Wordsworth Hotel
Address: Stock Lane | Cumbria, Grasmere LA22 9SW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Grasmere
#4 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
#5 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wordsworth Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa provides an iconic destination nestling amongst the towering mountains of the English Lake District. Individually styled, comfortable bedrooms balance tradition with contemporary design with most offering stunning mountain or village views. The fine dining, air conditioned Signature Restaurant provides an award-winning menu whilst the more informal Dove Bistro showcases superb local ingredients cooked with flair and skill. For guests looking to truly pamper themselves the Lakeland Organic Spa (March 2015) offers guests a wide range of luxurious and natural treatments to ensure a fully relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, LateRooms, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Wordsworth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wordsworth Hotel Grasmere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing