We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Perfect Break Away!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wordsworth Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Wordsworth Hotel
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Perfect Break Away!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

Dear Joe & all the Staff at The Wordsworth Hotel & Spa,

We just wanted to say a heartfelt thank you for our wonderful stay at your hotel this weekend. After our disastrous start to the respite weekend( at another hotel) we came to you on Saturday 12th january 2014 in the morning exhausted and downhearted. You gave us a beautiful room for the evening, an outstanding meal in the bistro followed be a hearty breakfast.

The whole experience was made even more enjoyable by the considerate & friendly staff at The Wordsworth. Everyone went out of their way to ensure we had a pleasurable stay and that we did. We cannot thank you enough for turning our weekend into a relaxing worry free weekend and we look forward to visiting you again in the near future.

Mr & Mrs Chalmers

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank victoriachalmers27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    630
    296
    142
    48
    22
See reviews for
176
743
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the courtyard room. It was clean and had everything you needed ( a hair dryer/ hygiene bags would have been useful). The best thing about this hotel is the food and attentive staff. Only stayed 1 night but would have liked to have stayed longer. We thoroughly enjoyed it.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denzy26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

I wanted to try this place for years after seeing the menu when passing through a about 15 years ago.... For my 50th I booked it as a special get away. I found one of the receptionists to be a bit over superior but most of the staff very pleasnt and down to earth. The hotel is a big place with many lounges and a nice conservatory and grounds. It is very much a traditional style where I generally prefer boutique style hotels. All fine though with a good size room with nice bathrooom apart from a loose floppy tap and the shower screen having no seal to the bath and thus the carpet had suffered water damage. My main reason to go was fo for the food. We went to the conservatory before dinner and were given canapes, these were far from inpressive and quite tired as though they had been made that morning and left all day. We went to dinner and it was nice quality food, My starter was mackerel with squid and mussels. The mackerel was really nice but the rest was cold and pickled which was unexpected and not my personal taste. The mains; the venison was nicely cooked but not as tasty as I would have expected. The braised lamb was wery tender and very fatty but quite nice. We left the restaurant feeling OK but not amazed with the experience. Staff were attentive but not polished. The bed was very comfortable. We had a good sleep after a few drinks. We went for breakfast on the morning and were not at all impressed with the experienced. Service was by the some of the same staff as the evening, service was quite slow and the food took ages to come, then the cooked breakfasts arrived late and were very dry having obviously been left under some heat for a long time resulting in bacon like leather and a dry egg. also was not hot for a long time.. Also we asked for extra toast (because the initial toast was stone cold by then,.. and that took ages. we ordered extra tea and it never came. A very disappointing end to our stay. We mentioned the problems when checking out, the receptionist was apologetic and said it was the second complaint of the morning. she offered no discount on the cost, which at 270 pounds is not a cheap night away!! ww went for awalk in the evening and found the Rothay Garden HOtel which was a lot nicer decor and seemed very good, they also only askked 188 pounds for DBB. I wished I had booked there instead of the Wordsworth! lovely rooms overlookig the river and nice staff. If I go to Grasmere again I will not consider the Wordsworth due to the value for money and breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richy_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a weekend to use vouchers for a birthday gift but had admired the hotel on previous day visits to Grasmere. There is an immediate sense of traditional comfort and warm welcome from reception staff and indeed other guests. The service throughout our stay was wonderful and turned out to be one of the hotels outstanding qualities. Our room was 'designer' style which had a fabulous view and beautifully appointed bathroom but not altogether practical with a lack of storage and very creaky floors! We were really looking forward to dinner but was slightly disappointed however breakfast was good both mornings. We used the pool but noted work needed to upgrade the areas as in other public areas too. All in all a lovely country house hotel doing what it says but perhaps needs to sharpen up it's faded edges and not place a gratuity tin on reception!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank karen f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

I love this place! This is my second visit and it hasn't disappointed! We got a very good deal for dinner bed and breakfast! A four course meal that was brilliant, an exciting menu that offered so much choice and good that was all locally sourced! Breakfast was again brilliant and I couldn't of asked for better service! Grasmere is a beautiful location, and an excellent base for walking from! I will be back!
B

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Japers201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joenichols, Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay, we are very pleased you loved your return visit and enjoyed all that the Signature Restaurant has to offer, we look forward to welcoming you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake District
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

Although we were not residents, six of us dined recently in The Signature Restaurant at the Wordsworth Hotel and enjoyed an excellent meal with professional service to match. The food was of a very high standard and all the staff in the Hotel made us feel extremely welcome. We very much look forward to our next dining experience at the Wordsworth.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank franky11LakeDistrict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joenichols, Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you for joining us for dinner on your break in Grasmere, we are very happy to hear how well the staff looked after you and that you enjoyed all the wonderful dishes on offer. Our dinner bed and breakfast tariff is really great value so why not stay as well next time your here?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blyth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

This hotel was just what we needed after a recent disappointing holiday. There is a welcoming log fire with sofa and chairs in reception with all the daily papers available to sit and read. My husband and I both had full body massages then went and sat round the pool to continue our chill out. The rooms are very comfortable and well maintained.. The food is just wonderful and we sent our thanks to the chef for a lovely evening meal. Canapés are provided while you look through the menu in the bar and there is just a lovely relaxing atmosphere in the hotel in general..

Afternoon tea is recommended!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.4 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,118 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#3 of 14 in Grasmere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
7.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wordsworth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wordsworth Hotel

Property: The Wordsworth Hotel
Address: Stock Lane | Cumbria, Grasmere LA22 9SW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Grasmere
#4 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
#5 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wordsworth Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa provides an iconic destination nestling amongst the towering mountains of the English Lake District. Individually styled, comfortable bedrooms balance tradition with contemporary design with most offering stunning mountain or village views. The fine dining, air conditioned Signature Restaurant provides an award-winning menu whilst the more informal Dove Bistro showcases superb local ingredients cooked with flair and skill. For guests looking to truly pamper themselves the Lakeland Organic Spa (March 2015) offers guests a wide range of luxurious and natural treatments to ensure a fully relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, LateRooms and Travelocity so you can book your The Wordsworth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wordsworth Hotel Grasmere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing