We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ambience and food of at the Wordsworth hotel Grasmere were excellent ...but !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Wordsworth Hotel
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ambience and food of at the Wordsworth hotel Grasmere were excellent ...but !”
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

The room was disappointing and very hot . It was a village view and could have done with air conditioning not just a small table fan . The bed was very comfortable and decor modern as was the bathroom.we enjoyed our stay and meals but feel the room was well overpriced .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet_M186408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    650
    309
    148
    49
    24
See reviews for
183
773
12
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay at the Wordsworth Hotel. The room was very spacious with modern clean bathroom. Afternoon tea in the conservatory was indulgent, then a swim in the pool with jacuzzi was a relaxing experience. Evening meal was excellent, staff very attentive. Couldn't fault anything.

Room Tip: Room 14 at front of hotel had lovely window seat
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie2601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Weve stayed here twice now. Got a great deal the second time and have thoroughly enjoyed both visits. In an area of outstanding natural beauty, the Wordsworth is a great place to stay and eat. Will definately be going back.

Room Tip: The woodrow Wilson suite is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodobu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Level Contributor
250 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

The two full days and one night we stayed here were too short as this is a wonderful hotel in the middle of an absolutely beautiful natural area. While the hotel’s location is central to the small, yet bustling touristy hamlet of Grasmere, the property felt serene. We walked to the local sights as well as embarked on some easy walking trails. The quick and easy access to nature from this hotel was extremely calming.

Our large room had a sumptuous bed with an amazing modern bathroom with a hot tub jets. The toiletries from the hotel’s spa were excellent and comforting.

The restaurant was first-rate as dinner was definitely a bit more formal. We ate breakfast here it was excellent and fresh. The food overall alone was worth the stay.

The indoor pool and jacuzzi were a warm welcome at the end of a long day of sightseeing, hiking, etc.

The service throughout our stay here was absolutely wonderful and warm. One of the front desk staff could’ve been slightly friendlier but the people here were fantastic.

I can’t wait to return again to this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bt_mpls_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south west scotland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

This was a lovely 2 night break. The room we had, No 12, was spacious and had a lovely bathroom. The dinners we had were excellent and breakfast was very good as well. The staff were very efficient and good at their jobs. The hotel has two beautiful sitting rooms which are a rarity in hotels these days. Both overlooked the gardens so very tranquil places to sit and relax. Pool and Jacuzzi were fine - didn't try the sauna as access was from the corridor outside the changing rooms so a little bit awkward. My only small complaint is that we were charged a fee for paying by credit card - have never had that in a hotel before either here or abroad so was a bit surprised.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank portpatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at the Wordsworth hotel on a Friday night for his birthday. The booking was made last mintue (the Wednesday night) so we got a good deal - dinner, bed and breakfast package in room 5 overlooking the gardens/slight mountain view.
From enquiring about booking though to service in the restaurant all the staff were extremely polite and friendly - they very hardworking and a credit to the hotel!
Our room was very nice. It was spacious with a bay window seating area. Nicely decorated - I appreciated the individual decor in the room, there is more attention to detail I.e. even the bin and magazine holder tied in perfectly with the room! We didn't find our room too hot - it was just right. Also the bed was very comfy!
We had canopies in the bar before our meal which we a nice touch. Our four course meal was very good. Plenty to choose from on the menu and a good list of specials. The restaurant it's self was pleasant. The air con was on when we first went in and I was a touch on the cold side but that was only for a few minutes as it went off and the temperature evened. Breakfast in the restaurant was fantastic!
We didn't use the pool or spa facilities so can't comment on them - had we stayed longer we would have.

All in all a great hotel in the Lakes, had I not got the deal I was given it the room/package would have been out of my price range. So perhaps that sways my judgement slightly! Would love to go back and stop for two nights in the future. We are thinking about returning around Christmas time as a treat!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sun-lover-614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed in Grasmere as a group. Three nights, three rooms. First the bad: All three of the rooms were warm. None had aircon. One (22) had a ceiling fan, one (21) was supplied with a desk fan. Ours (33) had none. Ironically rooms 21 and 22 were complimentary upgrades, 21 being a king size without a view, and 22 being the king size with a view. Room 22 was apparently like a sauna, and quite possibly was above the sauna, and they could not leave their window open because of their proximity to a noisy kitchen extractor fan. The other 2 rooms were able to sleep with their windows open, sleeping on top of the covers. All this during through relatively cool temperatures where most are walking around outside with light jackets on. Aside from having rooms that were too warm for our liking, everyone agreed that this is a lovely hotel. The service, from the reception to the bar staff, to the restaurant staff, is top notch. We ate dinner at the hotel on the first night which was very pleasant indeed. One of our party is gluten and dairy intollerent and they were very attentive to her needs. They did manage to under cook the potatoes though. Breakfasts are of a high standard, the eggs Benedict were a particular favourite of mine. We did not make use of the spa facilities, they were booked out sadly. I think that if the can get the temperature in this hotel sorted out, it would be an easy choice for us to return again and again.

Room Tip: Stay on the second floor, where you have the option of sleeping with the window open. Some rooms app...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,431 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
1,154 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#3 of 14 in Grasmere
707 reviews
7.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wordsworth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wordsworth Hotel

Property: The Wordsworth Hotel
Address: Stock Lane | Cumbria, Grasmere LA22 9SW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
#4 Luxury Hotel in Grasmere
#5 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wordsworth Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa provides an iconic destination nestling amongst the towering mountains of the English Lake District. Individually styled, comfortable bedrooms balance tradition with contemporary design with most offering stunning mountain or village views. The fine dining, air conditioned Signature Restaurant provides an award-winning menu whilst the more informal Dove Bistro showcases superb local ingredients cooked with flair and skill. For guests looking to truly pamper themselves the Lakeland Organic Spa (March 2015) offers guests a wide range of luxurious and natural treatments to ensure a fully relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, LateRooms, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Wordsworth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wordsworth Hotel Grasmere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing