We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa
Nearby Hotels
$173
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$221
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lancrigg(Grasmere)
$145
$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Grasmere Hotel(Grasmere)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oak Bank Hotel(Grasmere)
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa(Grasmere)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,306)
Filter reviews
1,306 results
Traveler rating
698
352
171
56
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
698
352
171
56
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssignature restaurantdove bistrovillage view roomcream teajacuzzi and saunachanging roomson arrivalafternoon teaclassic roomlake districtlovely hotelcourse mealmain restaurantan upgradesconeslog firehigh standard
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
929 - 934 of 1,306 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at the Wordsworth hotel on a Friday night for his birthday. The booking was made last mintue (the Wednesday night) so we got a good deal - dinner, bed and breakfast package in room 5 overlooking the gardens/slight mountain view.
From enquiring about booking though to service in the restaurant all the staff were extremely polite and friendly - they very hardworking and a credit to the hotel!
Our room was very nice. It was spacious with a bay window seating area. Nicely decorated - I appreciated the individual decor in the room, there is more attention to detail I.e. even the bin and magazine holder tied in perfectly with the room! We didn't find our room too hot - it was just right. Also the bed was very comfy!
We had canopies in the bar before our meal which we a nice touch. Our four course meal was very good. Plenty to choose from on the menu and a good list of specials. The restaurant it's self was pleasant. The air con was on when we first went in and I was a touch on the cold side but that was only for a few minutes as it went off and the temperature evened. Breakfast in the restaurant was fantastic!
We didn't use the pool or spa facilities so can't comment on them - had we stayed longer we would have.

All in all a great hotel in the Lakes, had I not got the deal I was given it the room/package would have been out of my price range. So perhaps that sways my judgement slightly! Would love to go back and stop for two nights in the future. We are thinking about returning around Christmas time as a treat!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sun-lover-614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed in Grasmere as a group. Three nights, three rooms. First the bad: All three of the rooms were warm. None had aircon. One (22) had a ceiling fan, one (21) was supplied with a desk fan. Ours (33) had none. Ironically rooms 21 and 22 were complimentary upgrades, 21 being a king size without a view, and 22 being the king size with a view. Room 22 was apparently like a sauna, and quite possibly was above the sauna, and they could not leave their window open because of their proximity to a noisy kitchen extractor fan. The other 2 rooms were able to sleep with their windows open, sleeping on top of the covers. All this during through relatively cool temperatures where most are walking around outside with light jackets on. Aside from having rooms that were too warm for our liking, everyone agreed that this is a lovely hotel. The service, from the reception to the bar staff, to the restaurant staff, is top notch. We ate dinner at the hotel on the first night which was very pleasant indeed. One of our party is gluten and dairy intollerent and they were very attentive to her needs. They did manage to under cook the potatoes though. Breakfasts are of a high standard, the eggs Benedict were a particular favourite of mine. We did not make use of the spa facilities, they were booked out sadly. I think that if the can get the temperature in this hotel sorted out, it would be an easy choice for us to return again and again.

Room Tip: Stay on the second floor, where you have the option of sleeping with the window open. Some rooms appear to have ceiling fans and desk fans. Inquire when you book.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barry0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We had a thoroughly enjoyable, relaxing family holiday - nothing was too much trouble for the friendly staff. We enjoyed the pool and gym facilities & the massages. The food was excellent and we have high standards! Only one minor comment - the dining room was too warm at times. I've looked at other reviews and noticed the comments about the heat - we did have our window wide open & the fan on all night but we were very comfortable.
We look forward to returning to the Wordsworth the next time we are in the Lakes.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthart123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

My wife and I decided we would spend a couple of days in the lakes and spend a night at the Wordswoth Hotel as we had previously stayed there and enjoyed our stay, it was a mistake! We unfortunately booked a Courtyard Room (19) which was like a sauna as it was located directly above a noisy kitchen, it was so hot you had to have the window open which meant we were exposed to the constant noise of what we presumed were refridgeration or air conditioning motors it was dreadful, it was like trying to sleep next to a motor boat, we complained in the morning to reception (Kim) who was very nice and polite but said unfortunately there was nothing she could do as she was unable to contact the Manager, however she did say that if we book again they could possibly provide us with an upgrade, I put my complaint in an email to the hotel but did not receive a reply....the purpose of writing this review is to warn anyone contemplating a stay at The Wordsworth to avoid the Courtyard room at all costs!! The cost of the room was £109 per night which was supposed to be a discount on the normal rate of over £200 a night so we thought it was value for money how wrong we were!!

Room Tip: Avoid the Courtyard rooms
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrasmereWordsworth, Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear David,

We are very sorry to hear you were disappointed with your room, we replaced all of the double glazing on this side of the hotel last year in order to ensure the rooms are warm as we do not normally experience the lovely weather we have had this year.

I am also sorry we have not received your email, I have searched through our server for the email address you booked with and it has not yielded any results.

We would of course have replied to your concerns and as Kim mentioned we would be happy to organise an upgrade for you on your return.

Please accept our apologies and we hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Room was over hot and bed sloping at an angle but the room was v. clean & bathroom lovely! Staff are friendly and extremely helpful. The pool is a bonus and clean and whilst small large enough to do lengths. The grounds to the hotel are beautiful, they have a smoking area tgat's actually nice and you'll see lots of rabbits hoping around tge place. The bar / sofa room has a fantastic king size noughts and crosses along with other board games. Hotel is centrally placed and on a par with other hotels price wise in the village.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Can-malm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews