We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We walked past the Wordsworth in December whilst staying at the soul-less Daffodil hotel and said how lovely it looked. We were delighted to get a KGB deal to stay here and it is just what a Lake District hotel should be. We had a standard room - although small it was exceptionally clean and the bed and pillows were very, very comfortable.

Super conservatory to relax in pre and post dinner with views over the garden

Our deal included dinner on the first night and the food was exceptional. Breakfast was also very good - nice to have your breakfast cooked to order rather than served from a buffet.

Lovely friendly staff.

We didn't use any of the spa facilities so can't really comment but the pool looked very pleasant

Grasmere is now my favourite Lakes destination - beatiful village, quiet, uncommercialised but with plenty of pubs and restaurants if you want to venture out.

Wonderful!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SazzB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,274)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

952 - 958 of 1,274 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2013

After having recently stayed at the Miller Howe with KGB, and being most dissapointed, we had already booked with them to go to the Wordsworth, we were expecting more of the same, but frankly it was in a different league. Very clean and well presented throughout. The food was very good and the service impeccable. Two very minor gripes at breakfast, they could'nt seem to deliver warm toast it was always virtually cold and the porridge was the worst i've ever had, lumpy and bland and looked disgusting.

Room Tip: We upgrade to a garden/mountain view room which was very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank tony w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

What a gem! Right in the centre of the pretty village of Grasmere, the Wordsworth looks so inviting and full of charm. I took my husband on a surprise break for his 65th birthday and we stayed in a standard room on a KGB deal. Excellent service from staff that were so friendly and nothing was too much trouble from the onset. We dined in the Signature restaurant on the first night and had a fantastic meal, all three courses! The desserts are to die for, particularly the banana parfait, We dined in the Bistro on the second night but was equally as good and just had to have the same dessert again! The chef was even kind enough to write out the recipe for me. We were chatting to the friendly staff member in the Bistro as we booked and mentioned that it was hubby's birthday and quite out of the blue he was presented with a decorated plate of fudge, and chocolate " just to keep him going until his dessert arrived" What a nice gesture! Would not hesitate in recommending this hotel for its comfort, service, food and ambience and look forward to visiting again, perhaps in the Autumn next time.

Room Tip: Can only speak for Room 31 top floor and although it was a standard room overlooking the car park, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank raybouldp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Grasmere is beautiful, serenr and peaceful; the Hotel is located in a lovely spot and our suite- immaculately clean - had a small balcony so we were able to appreciate the village from there. Everything about this hotel is lovely; the friendly, helpful staff made our stay so enjoyable. The food -the Sea Bass- was an experience not to miss. Not the cheapest hotel but within it's price range, it was value for money.

Room Tip: Junior suite was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johngmuir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Visited this hotel for two nights on a special deal, and was made to feel very welcome by all the staff. Started with the lovely check in girls, and followed through to the restaurant staff. We had dinner in the hotel on the first night, which was very good. The bedroom was a little on the small side, as was the bathroom, but seeing as only there for two nights, was not a problem.
Breakfast was good, and cooked freshly to order. Fresh coffee and toast was offered several times. No problems whatsoever, and would defo visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline12349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay there. A good sized pool, wonderful food and super service. A spacious room with a really comfy bed. We had an evening meal and breakfast, both were very enjoyable. Bar service area was relaxed and friendly and views from conservatory are stunning. The only negative was the British weather.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LSidgwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

This hotel is a real find. Situated in pretty Grasmere with the stunning scenic surroundings of the Lake District, it is perfect for a relaxing break. The room and the bed was comfortable, the restaurant had a lovely atmosphere and the food was delicious. Breakfast was especially good, I requested that my eggs were cooked especially to my taste and they arrived absolutely perfectly (very rare in hotels in my experience). Dinner was great and the afternoon tea is a must. The staff were so friendly, but oh so efficient, I believe that the owners manage the hotel and this was evident in the attention to detail to be seen everywhere. I think it is rare to find this level of efficiency with such comfort and 'cosyness'. Perfect! We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.5 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#6 of 14 in Grasmere
1,628 reviews
7.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
1,232 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
873 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa

Address: Stock Lane | Cumbria, Grasmere LA22 9SW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Grasmere
#4 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range: $107 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa provides an iconic destination nestling amongst the towering mountains of the English Lake District. Individually styled, comfortable bedrooms balance tradition with contemporary design with most offering stunning mountain or village views. The fine dining, air conditioned Signature Restaurant provides an award-winning menu whilst the more informal Dove Bistro showcases superb local ingredients cooked with flair and skill. For guests looking to truly pamper themselves the Lakeland Organic Spa (March 2015) offers guests a wide range of luxurious and natural treatments to ensure a fully relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wordsworth Hotel Grasmere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing