We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

A beautifull hotel with an amazing setting and excellent service. Our room was very well presented and the evening dinner was one of the best meals we have ever had, the kind and thoughtfull service during our stay from Joe was a real pleasure. We will definately reccommend the hotel and although we generally have a rule to only visit a hotel once as there are so many places to go we are sure we will be retutning to the wordsworth.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jensparkle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrasmereWordsworth, General Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear Jensparkle1, thanks so much for taking the time to prepare and post your review. You are right : we are very lucky with our team and Joe is a real asset to us. I do hope to see you again soon, with kindest regards Geraldine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,274)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

974 - 980 of 1,274 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2013

Beautiful hotel, set in beautiful surroundings. Absolutely amazing setting which my husband and I would wholly recommend to all anyone who asks! Our room was immaculate, and our view of the hills absolutely stunning. We ate in the Signature restaurant and were not disappointed, the food was fabulous and looked amazing! Also the waiting staff who were attentive and polite, making sure we had the perfect dining experience. My only concern was when we checked in, the young lady behind reception, (she had short dark hair, I failed to get her name) She seemed less than impressed at our apparent disturbance and smiled sweetly, but I did not feel it was a genuine "Welcome to our hotel," greeting, it seemed a rather forced reception and made me feel quite uncomfortable. Apart from that small incident, the rest of our stay was fantastic, and as I mentioned before, I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the area, despite my earlier comment. Thank you for a very relaxing stay, we will definitely be returning soon!!

Room Tip: Any room with a view, ours was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ProudGran G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrasmereWordsworth, General Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Dear ProudGran G, Thanks so much for taking your time and preparing a review for us further to your stay. I am delighted to see that overall you enjoyed your experience. I cannot apologise enought that you were disappointed with one of our team and if you would care to discuss this matter further, please do contact me at the hotel. I do hope we see you again soon, with kind regards Geraldine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Really nice afternoon tea, sandwiches, scones fruit and plain with jam and cream, chocolate brownie and walnut cake and finally apple crumble served in a large sherry glass. The only thing that would have made it better would have been home made jam and clotted cream.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JudithGlennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrasmereWordsworth, General Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Dear JudithGlennie, Thanks very much for taking the time to prepare and post a review for us. I do hope you will return for another visit. With kindest regards, Geraldine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We have just come back from our snowy white wedding at The Wordsworth and we would both like to say the hotel and staff were absolutely faultless. Nothing was too much trouble on our special day and all of the staff bent over backwards to give us exactly the day we were hoping for. It felt like a big house party and the atmosphere was perfect. Special thanks to Mr Garside for driving me to the church through the snow when we had planned to walk, and extra extra special thanks to Catalin for making sure everything ran smoothly from start to finish. He planned things for us with immaculate detail and we felt completely relaxed leaving things in his hands on the day. All of our guests have commented on their lovely rooms and food - I'm sure you'll be seeing some of them again!

We really cannot recommend the hotel enough as a wedding venue or somewhere nice to stay for a break in the Lakes. We will definitely be regular visitors in the future.

Many, many thanks again,
Mr and Mrs Jackson

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HKJackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrasmereWordsworth, General Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Dear Mr and Mrs Jackson - thank you, but it was our absolute pleasure to look you and your guests. All the best to you both for your future. With kindest regards, Geraldine, Catalin and Mr Garside.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Wordsworth Hotel on our Honeymoon. We stayed in one of the Junior Suites, this room was fantastic, very spacious, fantastic 6' bed and luxurious bathroom. The staff throughout the hotel were very friendly and the service was very good. We ate in the Signature Restaurant twice and in the Dove Bistro on the other night. All 3 meals were superb and could not be faulted in any way. I would recommend having lunch in the Conservatory, we had a light lunch on two occasions and both were very nice.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SquirtyBurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrasmereWordsworth, General Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Dear SquirtyBurt, Thank you for such a great review! I do hope you will return to the hotel in the future. With kind regards, Geraldine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We have just got back from a two day stay at the Wordworth Hotel, the staff were very friendly and attentive, The food in the signature was fantastic, i paid £24ish for a sirloin steak one night and £16ish for Brisket the second night and both well worth the money.

The hotel is clean and well run, i would have given the hotel 5 out of 5, however, our bed did not feel to be a full double, we only got one pack of biscuits and one sachet of hot chocolate to share between the two of us, small things i know but they sometimes make the difference.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WarringtonPaul_Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrasmereWordsworth, General Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Dear WarringtonPaul_Sue, Thanks ever so much for taking the time and trouble to prepare and post a review. I am very happy that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. Regarding room amentities - I am so sorry you didn't seem to receive our full quota of goodies and our housekeeper also joins me in offering her apologies. I do hope this matter with not deter you from choosing the hotel again in the future. With kindest regards, Geraldine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

We dined in Doves bar (part of the hotel)this weekend - the pasta was the best I have tasted outside of Italy!!!!

Worth a visit just for the Tagliatelle. G8 service, lovely cosy atmosphere, good wine cellar. Would definitely visit again.

We also had a spa afternoon - £10 per guest: pool, hot tub, sauna....excellent way to stretch out after a day walking.

Perfect setting, v pretty views from the spa.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatK2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrasmereWordsworth, General Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Dear CatK2000, Thanks so much for the great review of the Dove - we do make our own pasta here in our kitchens, so the kitchen brigade are particularly delighted with your feedback. I do hope you are able to visit us again in the future. With kindest regards, Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.5 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#6 of 14 in Grasmere
1,628 reviews
7.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
1,232 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
873 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa

Address: Stock Lane | Cumbria, Grasmere LA22 9SW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
#4 Luxury Hotel in Grasmere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range: $107 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa provides an iconic destination nestling amongst the towering mountains of the English Lake District. Individually styled, comfortable bedrooms balance tradition with contemporary design with most offering stunning mountain or village views. The fine dining, air conditioned Signature Restaurant provides an award-winning menu whilst the more informal Dove Bistro showcases superb local ingredients cooked with flair and skill. For guests looking to truly pamper themselves the Lakeland Organic Spa (March 2015) offers guests a wide range of luxurious and natural treatments to ensure a fully relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wordsworth Hotel Grasmere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing