We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A class act”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

First impressions count a lot reception was first class. Shown to my room which lived up to it's description it was a 4 poster and very comfortable. The bathroom was on the small side but very clean and well presented. Service in the resturant was first class the menu had something to suit everyone and it was delivered expertly. Would I go back without a doubt one word superb.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HexhamTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrasmereWordsworth, General Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear HexhamTraveller, Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope to see you again soon. With kind regards, Geraldine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,288)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,003 - 1,009 of 1,288 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2013

I was at the Wordsworth with friends we were only in the Dove Bistro it was acold day and the log fire was blazing away it was great,the food is very good with generous portrions,the staff were superb i thourougly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank kovwirana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrasmereWordsworth, General Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

Dear kovwirana, Thanks so much for posting this great review for us. I hope we see you again in the future. With kindest regards, Geraldine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Excellent hotel, great staff, lovely warm feel with a real open roaring fire, especially when it was blizzard outside. Great mountain view from our room. Pool and hot tub next to each other, only thing is that to enter sauna you have to exit changing rooms back into main corridor then need to have code for the changing room door to get back to pool and changing rooms. Otherwise everything was perfect from room size to hotel cleanliness. Will certainly return.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigmackem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrasmereWordsworth, General Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

Dear bigmackem, Thanks for preparing and posting your review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future. With kind regards, Geraldine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Stayed for two nights on special offer village room bed and breakfast. Rooms very spacious with modern feel. Breakfast lovely buffet cold service followed by cooked breakfast served by staff .location is central to all the lakes. We eat at the hotel on our 1st eve again wonderful service & meal excellent. Try the jumble restaurant a little quirky decor wise but food terrific. I would recommend this wonderful hotel in the lake district.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Thebirches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrasmereWordsworth, General Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

Dear Thebirches, Thanks so much for such a great review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope we see you again in the future, with kind regards, Geraldine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Very good hotel, with quality and caring staff. An old building with welcoming public rooms for relaxing. As it was January there was a comforting open fire to enjoy at any time of the day. The pool was big enough for exercise as well as just a gentle paddle and hot tub to the side. Again although it was part covered by snow the garden area with gazebo and seating area is no doubt very attractive in the summer. We had a double bed ( Room 9 ) which was quiet and of a reasonable size. Bathroom was of standard consistent with a 4* hotel. The breakfast choice was very good and well presented, as was dinner in both the main restaurant and at adjoining Dove restaurant. All of the staff, from reception to restaurant, were personable and interested in helping the customers.

Room Tip: Our room on second floor and was very good but cant offer and help with others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil_Owen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrasmereWordsworth, General Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

Dear Phil_Owen, Such a great review, thank you for taking the time to do this. I do hope we see you again in the future. With kind regards, Geraldine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for my birthday and I was really looking forward to a good meal. I'm vegetarian and so I know my options are usually limited, but when we arrived the lady on reception said that, if I asked the chef to cook something, then he probably would. The vegetarian option was pasta which I thought might have been a little boring and so I asked for risotto ( which was on the sample menu in our room) or a goats cheese option which had been on the lunchtime menu or anything else. I was told there was no way chef could do this and so I said I'd have the pasta. When it arrived, it was swimming in oil and was utterly bland. I was so disappointed because the room was lovely and the staff polite and friendly. It really spoiled my birthday weekend.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EMc75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrasmereWordsworth, General Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

Dear EMc75, Thank you so much for taking the time to prepare and post your review. I am so sorry you were not satisfied with your choice on vegetarian items. I understand we did offer and you accepted a compensatory gesture from us when you checked out. Notwithstanding this, all feedback is most welcome and is always used in a constructive way, so we will absolutely take on board your comments. I do hope we will see you again in the future. With kind regards, Geraldine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

My wedding at the Wordsworth Hotel December 22, 2012, was truly magical. We got engaged in August 2012 and did not want a prolonged engagement spending 3 years deciding on wedding favours! I love Grasmere and knew of the Wordsworth Hotel though I had never been inside. We took a risk and booked it for a December exclusive-use winter wedding, and without doubt it was the best decision we could have made! The hotel is beautiful, particularly so in the winter with tasteful Christmas decorations, trees and the roaring log fire in the reception.

The public rooms are relaxed yet very stylish. The bedrooms (we had one of the suites) are stunning, and our guests appreciated that we put them -up in such comfortable surroundings and many made us of the pool and spa.

The Wordsworth staff are excellent: the wedding planner is permanently calm and so accommodating. Everything is taken care of – they are a well oiled professional team, which takes the stress away.

The wedding breakfast food was stunning. I am a vegetarian and have eaten in many top restaurants, and I have to say the four-course meal that was served was the best I have ever eaten: completely stunning. It felt like restaurant food of a very high standard, not your usual cold, uninspired wedding fodder. All my guests were really delighted with the food, and breakfast the following day did not disappoint. The service in the restaurant was also top-notch – these are professionals who clearly take pride in their job and it shows.

All told I can not rate the Wordsworth highly enough. I am not someone who has dreamed of a wedding since the age of 5, but if I had the Wordsworth would have it! I have had so many cards saying that it was the loveliest and most relaxed wedding they had been to – largely down to the staff and their attitude.

I am also looking forward to many more visits to the Wordsworth over the years because it is such a special place.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrasmereWordsworth, General Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

Dear Julia B, It was an absolute pleasure to look after you all! The success of an event is also influenced by great guests who make it easy All the best again and it will be lovely to see you back in the future. With kindest regards, Geraldine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.5 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#6 of 14 in Grasmere
1,673 reviews
7.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
1,246 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa

Address: Stock Lane | Cumbria, Grasmere LA22 9SW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Grasmere
#4 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range: $139 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa provides an iconic destination nestling amongst the towering mountains of the English Lake District. Individually styled, comfortable bedrooms balance tradition with contemporary design with most offering stunning mountain or village views. The fine dining, air conditioned Signature Restaurant provides an award-winning menu whilst the more informal Dove Bistro showcases superb local ingredients cooked with flair and skill. For guests looking to truly pamper themselves the Lakeland Organic Spa (March 2015) offers guests a wide range of luxurious and natural treatments to ensure a fully relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wordsworth Hotel Grasmere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing