We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very welcoming and relaxing hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Wordsworth Hotel
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very welcoming and relaxing hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights for a birthday celebration and it didn't disappoint. The staff are very attentive and the hotel is very comfortable and welcoming. Would stay here again! Very satisfied.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynnie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrasmereWordsworth, Owner at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
We are delighted you had an enjoyable stay and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    641
    301
    144
    48
    22
See reviews for
180
757
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

We have stayed at this hotel a number of times over the part few years and although can be expensive we have always had a pleasant stay. I have a seven year old daughter who loves the pool facilities and we have always had a very relaxing time. Look out for special offers when available. Dinner expensive if you dont get in a package however for the quality it is probably the going rate. Food really good - lovely breakfasts and very nice staff.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HonestLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2011

An excellent stay in many ways but we found the service was brilliant, the staff were always helpful and seemed genuinely interested in making our stay special, from taking our late order for dinner on the 1st night to coming to find us sitting in the garden and taking our dinner order the 2nd evening. Food was excellent, the room very pleasant and well finished, the grounds outstanding. Well worth a stay and we would certainly return.

Room Tip: The setting is so good so try to get a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lymmman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrasmereWordsworth, Owner at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
And we hope you do return! Thanks for a great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2011

When we arrived very early, the room was unsurprisingly not available. We had a very enjoyable coffee and home made biscuits whilst they made a real effort to get our room prepared early which it was (12:00 instead of 15:00). The staff were very pleasant and clearly make an effort to please.
The room (#23) was criticized elsewhere for being small and not having a view. On some level that is true but frankly it was neat and clean and plenty enough room for the two people using it. If I am being uber-critical I would say that the bathroom gold plated fittings looked worn.
My wife enjoyed immensely her swim in their pool and fortunately she did have a pound coin in her swim bag for the locker. It doesn't say this anywhere and it would be unfortunate to be caught out by this. Whilst my wife swam I did the nerdy thing and used the internet. The wireless connection is OK but not very fast. Good enough though.
Breakfast was well orchestrated and set us up nicely for the day.
Outside the hotel there is plenty of parking space and the gardens make for a nice stroll.
All in all my wife and I have it penned in for a revisit.

Room Tip: Phone ahead and ask... most hotels that care about customer service, and this one does, will try and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bellator1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

We have both just returned from our holiday at the Wordsworth,from moment we arrived Andrew on reception welcomed warmly and even showed us to our room carrying our luggage.
The food was delicious in the resteraunt and the service was
excellent.
The breakfast was also excellent with the service particulary from Dominic excellent.
Our room was clean and well decorated.
We had a wonderful time and have both agreed to make a annual stay!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wirralwalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2011

Great hotel, friendly staff, very good breakfast. Stayed in a suite gorgeous room, bed very comfortable had a great nights sleep. Pool and gardens are lovely

Room Tip: had last room available got very good deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2011

This hotel is lovely. Staff were, as has already been mentioned several times, so good. No one leant over me in an inappropriate way once (???? - some people...).

The room was beautifully decorated and furnished, and has been designed with style and great thought (this is one of the few places I have stayed where I did not have to start moving furniture around in order to access a mirror and a dual plug socket within sensible reach of each other).

We had dinner in the restaurant and it was sublime. The food was terrific, the service impeccable, and the whole experience (it was my brthday) was just what I would have hoped for. Breakfast was also lovely.

The grounds of this hotel are so pretty, and its location in the middle of the village could not be better for taking advantage of the very close lovely river walks, the lake and the village itself. We did not try the spa or pool facilities, but we had a nosey and the pool looked very inviting.

I would strongly recommend this hotel if you are looking for an opportunity to be pampered in a beautiful and very comfortable setting by people who very much understand the concept of customer service.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Batearedfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.4 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,390 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#3 of 14 in Grasmere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
7.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wordsworth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wordsworth Hotel

Property: The Wordsworth Hotel
Address: Stock Lane | Cumbria, Grasmere LA22 9SW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Grasmere
#4 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
#5 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wordsworth Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa provides an iconic destination nestling amongst the towering mountains of the English Lake District. Individually styled, comfortable bedrooms balance tradition with contemporary design with most offering stunning mountain or village views. The fine dining, air conditioned Signature Restaurant provides an award-winning menu whilst the more informal Dove Bistro showcases superb local ingredients cooked with flair and skill. For guests looking to truly pamper themselves the Lakeland Organic Spa (March 2015) offers guests a wide range of luxurious and natural treatments to ensure a fully relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, LateRooms, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Wordsworth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wordsworth Hotel Grasmere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing