We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome :)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Wordsworth Hotel
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2011

This was a last minute booking for ourselves. We just wanted to get away and have a bit of peace and quiet. What better place could we have booked. I read some reviews after i had booked and was very pleased with what i read. 1 person said the pillows were like marshmellows let me tell you they were spot on. From the moment i arrived i loved the place. The staff are great really helpful and polite. The hotel is lovely and the gardens so peaceful with rabbits running at your feet. Everything from start to finish was brilliant. I cant say that i found 1 fault at all. This place is as my title said which is awesome. I would not hessitate on going back here and would advise this hotel to any 1 i know. Well done Wordsworth Hotel you are doing a great job you should all give yourselves a pat on the back :) 2 very pleased customers.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tig3rval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    641
    301
    144
    48
    22
See reviews for
180
757
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Poulton
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2011

Recently my friend and I had the good fortune to stay in a suite at the Wordsworth Hotel. From the moment we arrived we were made most welcome. During our three night stay we found the staff to be professional, attentive and friendly. The reason behind our break was for total relaxation, this box was definitely ticked! We thoroughly enjoyed the facilities of the spa having treated ourselves to back and neck massages. The suite was furnished tastefully and had obviously been recently refurbished to the highest standards.The views of the mountains and the gardens were superb.The food and the choices made available were excellent, we would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this hotel to friends and family. A fantastic hotel in a great location!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anneflint7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrasmereWordsworth, Owner at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2011
Thank you for such a wonderful review. We hope you come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2011

We have just spent two wonderful nights and loved every minute. The room was beautiful with everything you could ask for and the bathroom was very modern and spacious. The pool, Jacuzzi and sauna where fabulous to relax after long walks and perfectly clean. We ate dinner in the restaurant the first night and the meal was perfect, as was breakfast each morning which had plenty of choice and they really catered for your precise requirement (as I’m a little fussy).

The best feature of this hotel has to be the staff who cannot be praised enough. Extremely friendly and helpful.

The hotel is beautiful with lovely grounds right in the centre of Grasmere.

Would definitely book again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrasmereWordsworth, Owner at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2011
We are delighted that you enjoyed your break with us and thank you for taking the time to let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2011

Upon booking the staff were very helpful, upgraded us to a better room as it was our anniversay and my husbands birthday. The grounds and facillities were lovely - we sat and relaxed in the garden on the loungers in the lovely sun! The rooms were the only real thing that let the experience down - i felt that they were a little dated and chintzy could do with a little more - but in all fairness they are only for sleeping in ! The restaurant was beautifull with excellent service - although i was overwhelmed at how small my portion of lamb was! very a la carte and a little too pricey. All in all an excellent experience and i would definately recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah220981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrasmereWordsworth, Owner at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2011
I'm pleased you had a lovely anniversary. Thank you for you comments we have taken them all on board
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2011

We have just come back after spending three nights in the hotel. The room was large and comfortable and beautifully furnished and the bathroom was a pleasure after long walks. We cannot speak highly enough of the kindness and attentiveness of all of the staff even when the hotel was clearly busy. The garden and setting are beautiful and there was no problem with parking. The pool did get a bit busy at times but the sauna ia large if a little removed from the main changing rooms.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank countrylover186416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doncaster
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2011

we spent 2 nights at the
Wordswoth Hotel and Spa, all the staff were very friendly, the rooms were very clean and well looked after. The food was excellent. with plenty of choice and well presented, the grounds were excellent, with grand views and plenty of room to relax and enjoy. We shall certainly visit again it is the first time we have actually stayed in Grasmere, but we have visited it often.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank majwoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wwalter50, Owner at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2011
thank you for taking the time to write your review im delighted you enjoyed your stay and our great staff looked after you, it is quite demoralising for them when they get an unfair criticism as we have just had but we are really doing our best and look forward to welcoming you back to the wordsworth and glorious grasmere
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2011

We have just returned from a 2 day break at this hotel. Everything about our stay was wonderful - staff, food, setting, room. A beautiful restaurant (with comfortable chairs) which served delicious food - the steak was the best we have ever tasted! Our room was very comfortable with pillows like marshmallows and towels which were extremely fluffy. The whole staff were extremely professional and did everything they could to make sure our short stay was an enjoyable one. We would not hesitate to return and indeed hope to do so in the very near future.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth1063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.4 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,389 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#3 of 14 in Grasmere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
7.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wordsworth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wordsworth Hotel

Property: The Wordsworth Hotel
Address: Stock Lane | Cumbria, Grasmere LA22 9SW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Grasmere
#4 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
#5 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wordsworth Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa provides an iconic destination nestling amongst the towering mountains of the English Lake District. Individually styled, comfortable bedrooms balance tradition with contemporary design with most offering stunning mountain or village views. The fine dining, air conditioned Signature Restaurant provides an award-winning menu whilst the more informal Dove Bistro showcases superb local ingredients cooked with flair and skill. For guests looking to truly pamper themselves the Lakeland Organic Spa (March 2015) offers guests a wide range of luxurious and natural treatments to ensure a fully relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, LateRooms, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Wordsworth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wordsworth Hotel Grasmere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing