We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Grasmere...How Foot was okay!”
Review of How Foot Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grasmere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
How Foot Lodge
Ranked #8 of 20 Grasmere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2009

It was our first trip to Grasmere and the Lake District and the natural beauty and charm was outstanding. We chose the How Foot at the last minute on our return from Scotland. The owner was experiencing trouble with her emails, so she kindly returned my message by telepone. The suite was available which we booked, knowing it was conveniently located and within walking distance (in the dark) into Grasmere.

We were met by the owner and showed to our room after a quick run down on the breakfast locale and routine. It took all of about 3 mins.

The suite was average and we enjoyed staying in it, but the space was a strange configuration (bedroom, bathroom and toilet room, shower room and lounge area). We enjoyed the space in the lounge and the fridge facility, along with the bath tub. The bed in the bedroom was cramped and not easy to get in and out of bed. The room was not wide enough for the bed. The shower was very small and difficult to turn around in. The entry way could have used some paint touch ups.

The common areas need some work (worn carpet and stairwell spindles coming off the base) and the breakfast room was uninspiring. The breakfast was edible, but we found the room hot and everything was fast paced (some help in the morning and at arrival is needed). It was not relaxing like so many other places we've been....it was sit down, eat and move on routine. We travel a lot and we noticed this place lacks in hospitality and class.

We loved the Jumble Restaurant and hikes around Lake Grasmere and Helm Crag including Gibsons Knot to Far Easedale.

Overall, we enjoyed out stay in Grasmere and we plan on returning, albeit to different accomodation.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Oceanangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (153)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 153 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2009

Just returned from 2 nights at How Foot Lodge with my other half. Plan was a relaxing break and walking in Grasmere and surrounding areas. Lived up to expectations and reviews on Trip Advisor. Stayed in a twin on first night which was nice, large bedroom with lounge area, only downside was smallish shower room. Second night stayed in he deluxe sun lounge room which was wonderful and would stay in this room again. Breakfast was excellent quality and delicious! Not sure about the comment from earlier review about poached eggs being "bullets" as I had them and they were perfectly cooked. Ate in the Villa Colombina both nights as it was really convenient and excellent food. Perhaps would have walked into Grasmere village if a third night stay. Would defnitely recommend How Foot and would stay again

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deewlancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2009

We had a wonderful time, we have been many times before but it was a first for our friends who fell in love with the place. Kate works so hard but always has time for a chat, and Mike is a very lovely chef, breakfast are brill and the food in the restaurant is second to none. Thank you both. Will be back soon!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CagneyWallasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2009

Loved this B&B. Situated on the edge of the town of Grasmere, and right next to a bus stop, this B&B felt both secluded and accessible at the same time. Our room was very nice, the entire property was gorgeous, and breakfast was delicious. The first morning we chose the full English breakfast, and the second morning we chose the fresh fruit and "pancakes" (I'd describe them as enormous crepes) with lemon and sugar. Both meals were tasty, but the crepes were awesome!

My favorite thing about the How Foot was the view from the room. We had a hillside right outside our window, and each morning we would open the windows to enjoy the sounds of the songbirds, doves, and lambs calling to their mothers. Picturesque!

The bathroom was above average for England. Size, cleanliness, and functionality were all good.

We ate three meals at the restaurant next door. Lunch was very nice, and the dinners were mixed. One evening our food was a bit bland, but the second night the meals were very good. Reasonably priced, and you get a discount for being guests of the Lodge. The sticky toffee pudding was delicious!

If I ever get back to the Lake District, I'll definitely return to the How Foot Lodge and Grasmere.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CheersfromTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2009

Cannot recommend this b&b highly enough, the double delux suite is simply beautiful, the breakfasts were delicious. We will definately be returning!!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Novijka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2009

Ever since reading the works of William Wordsworth many years ago in college, I have wanted to visit Grasmere. Our choice of How Foot Lodge was perfect, located next door to Dove Cottage and an easy walk into the village. We were given a corner room on the second floor which was warm and spacious. Its windows opened to hear the sound of sheep grazing in an adjacent pasture, and we just loved it. Our hostess, Kate, was friendly and helpful and served us a delicous breakfast each morning. We felt welcome and very much at home during our two nights at How Foot.

Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
Thank gseab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2009

Stayed in a standard double for two nights. The house has lots of character and is well apportioned just of the main road into Grasmere with plenty of parking. The B&B sits right next to the Wordsworth cottage with Grasmere town centre only a 5 min walk away. Booking the B&B was easy over the phone but as booking confirmation is not sent out I'd recommend you ask the owners to email this to avoid double booking errors.

The room we stayed in was large and roomy with a view over the lake. The room was very clean but was starting to show signs of wear and could desperately do with a revamp. Bathroom was also large and consisted of shower over a bath, note that only a bar of soap is provided so don't forget to pack your shampoo! The bathroom could also do with an extractor fan as it got very steamy.

Breakfasts were fine, I'd recommend the continental with was very enjoyable. However, steer clear of the poached eggs as these are like bullets. The breakfast room is also pleasant with a log file on the go on those chilly mornings. The price being charged for the room was also reasonable and the establishment represents good value if that's what you are looking for.

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bluenose7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.4 mi away
Dale Lodge Hotel
Dale Lodge Hotel
#11 of 14 in Grasmere
538 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#6 of 14 in Grasmere
1,667 reviews
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Raise View House
Raise View House
#4 of 20 in Grasmere
382 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lake View Country House
Lake View Country House
#2 of 20 in Grasmere
320 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Travellers Rest Inn
The Travellers Rest Inn
#7 of 20 in Grasmere
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to How Foot Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about How Foot Lodge

Address: Howe Foot Lodge Town End, Grasmere LA22 9SQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Grasmere
Price Range: $101 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
How Foot Hotel Grasmere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing