We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our 5th stay here!”
Review of How Foot Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grasmere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
How Foot Lodge
Ranked #8 of 20 Grasmere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is the 5th time that we have stayed at How Foot Lodge. Stayed with our 2 year old son in the deluxe suite which is ideal due to the lounge area which was his bedroom for our stay. Kate was accommodating as usual and made sure that our son was catered for at breakfast.
There is nothing negative to say about this place...it really is a home from home experience now and we really wouldn't stay anywhere else in Grasmere...see you next year.

Room Tip: Stay in the deluxe suite if you have a child.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IbizababeLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 152 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2013

Our annual friends Birthday event was as great as ever.We were also blessed with fab weather but it is this house and our hosts that are always the stars.Thanks very much.

A short walk to grasmere with its attractions (Tweedies Bar,Jumble Rooms,Jigsaw shop !).Many walks are possible straight from the door of Howfoot.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HowieBoldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

My wife and I have stayed here almost every year for the past nine years. The stone-built property, located within the Wordsworth Estate, occupies an imposing position just outside the charming village of Grasmere. Kate and Mike, who run it, are very pleasant and anxious to please. All the bedrooms are spacious and well-equipped, there is a wide choice of breakfasts, including vegetarian, and the huge breakfast room with its two double-bayed windows is marvellous. It's one of those places you wish you'd discovered many years previously. Stay there, you will not be disappointed.
.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent so you can't go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grahamrmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Visited How Foot Lodge again as it is our first choice of accommodation for a short break in Grasmere.
The welcome and facilities were as good as ever and the breakfasts were wonderful.
Spacious room with all the facilities you could wish for and if there was anything else you required you only had to ask.
Great to leave the car and walk from the door.
Fortunate with the weather. (2 good days out of 3 is good going for the Lakes!)
Already looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: All rooms are good and I think we have tried them all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Geoffs-Angels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We spent 3 nights here over the May bank holiday and it was a perfect find. Set back off the road, it was quiet from the traffic, yet a few minutes walk and you were in Grasmere.
We had room 7 - it had its own bathroom (with bath), separate shower room and a lounge area - we picked it especially for that, to set the dog up in her own space. Very ample. Although they don't advertise that they take dogs, they do take well behaved ones. Despite ours not settling down in the morning which meant we couldn't sit in the breakfast room, Kate was very obliging at letting us take our breakfast to our room.
The breakfasts were a delight. Wonderfully presented and tasted great. I had full veggie one on one morning, poached eggs on toast the next, and continental on my last day - all super.
The decor of the whole place reminded me of rustic French - very homely. Every morning a fire was lit in the breakfast room.
We would highly recommend this B&B - great value for money indeed.

Room Tip: Room 7 has a seperate shower room, bathroom with bath, and lounge - very spacious. Not much of a vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JSquaredEmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

We received two nights stay at How Foot Lodge, as a wedding gift. We went at the start of May. The welcome was very personal, she knew us by name as we arrived. The room (number 7) was very spacious, with a separate living area, separate shower as well as an en-suite to the large bedroom. The bed was very comfortable! The breakfast was lovely; my husband had the smoked salmon, I had the continental and the pancakes (definitely didn't need the muesli before those!) fresh milk was put into our fridge daily which was a nice touch. Only thing to improve on really was that they didn't have de-caf tea, which wasn't a major problem as there was plenty of fruit juice available. Will definitely visit again

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tricklet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

What a great find! Just returned from a fantastic weekend at How Foot Lodge in Grasmere. The B & B is a short walk from the hustle and bustle of Grasmere vilage and stands well back from the main road so no traffic noise. The rooms at the front of the house have lake views (room 2 lovely). The rooms at the back are not as light but the suite room 7 more than makes up for it with its luxury accommodation - a large bedroom a shower room a hall and a spacious lounge - biiger than some cottages we've stayed in! The decor was very much in keeping with the property with renovated furniture and original features. The beds were very comfortable and the breakfasts excellent. We had to choose the night before which I'm not good at but I did enjoy my poached eggs and pancakes (not together). A great place for a weekend or longer.

Room Tip: Room 2 for views. Room 7 for space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bongo60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.4 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#6 of 14 in Grasmere
1,628 reviews
0.7 mi away
Raise View House
Raise View House
#4 of 20 in Grasmere
378 reviews
0.4 mi away
Moss Grove Organic
Moss Grove Organic
#6 of 20 in Grasmere
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Travellers Rest Inn
The Travellers Rest Inn
#7 of 20 in Grasmere
475 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lake View Country House
Lake View Country House
#2 of 20 in Grasmere
317 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to How Foot Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about How Foot Lodge

Address: Howe Foot Lodge Town End, Grasmere LA22 9SQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Grasmere
Price Range: $100 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
How Foot Hotel Grasmere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing