We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful and educational!”
Review of Dove Cottage

Dove Cottage
Ranked #5 of 20 things to do in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: William Wordsworth is Britain's best-loved poet. His life was a series of adventures and his early experiences made him into a rebel. Orphaned as a child, he went to University, travelled across Europe during the French Revolution, fell in love with an older French woman and then returned to turn English literature on its head with his radical ideas and poems in language that anyone could understand. He moved to Dove Cottage in 1799 and stayed for nine years, writing some of the most famous poetry in the English language, inspired by the landscape and the people he met. Visitors can take guided tours of Dove Cottage, wander in the gardens he designed and planted with his sister and discover his incredible life story in the museum next door (included in admission). Special exhibitions change regularly and family activities are integrated into the experience, with family friendly events during the school holidays.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful and educational!”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We loved Dove cottage. The cottage itself is absolutely adorable. The tour guide knew a whole lot about the history of the house and told some tales about the family. Everyone was really friendly and it is just beautifully located.
We stayed in Windermere and caught the bus there, it was really easy. There's also some great places to eat in the town - the staff recommended a few to us.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sophie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    324
    185
    31
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Cosy place”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Cody place thank goodness for the open fire on a few wet and wild days over Christmas. Great soup & sandwich place with a beer/wine if you fancy. Wil visit again.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank LouiseC378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,187 reviews
563 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,214 helpful votes
“The most famous Wordsworth house”
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

The Lake District's best known poet lived in several homes across the county and all are worth a visit. This little house, with it's pretty garden, is probably the best known and guided tours are interesting and informative.

Come in springtime and you can retrace Wordsworth's steps and see the carpets of daffodils that so inspired him during his lakeside walks.

Helpful?
6 Thank Howi58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todmorden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“On our own”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Its small , We particuarily liked the cottage itself . We were given a guided tour (its how its visited) ...we were on our own so it was very intimate for a tour ....it led to us thinking up all sorts of questions which the guide very manfully batted away at ...even though he clearly didnt know the answers to them . We asked some stupid questions though so cannot blame him ...he must have thought he had a right pair here :-)
It was expensive to visit ...but I suppose you cannot blame them ...if some one comes from the USA or Japan to visit the place they are hardly gonna say no to almost any price .....but living only 90 miles away ourselves ..it was a pricey half hour visit and that included the museum and shop too !.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank pasujoba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Totally lives up to expectation”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

As a literary type, I have been to a lot of birthplace museums and writers' homes from the Burns birthplace museum and Ellisland Farm to the Bronte sisters' Haworth home. I was really impressed with the welcome at Dove Cottage and the knowledgeable staff who looked after us and our group of students. Our institution has a successful partnership with the Wordsworth Trust and I can honestly say they take such care of the artefacts and original manuscripts and, moreover, they want the public to be able to experience and enjoy them. Their public engagement practices are first class. Added to this is a nice gift shop, museum and the Jerwood Centre where you can make an appointment as an academic to view manuscripts. It is a working museum and archive.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank mermaid109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dove Cottage also viewed

Grasmere, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to Dove Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing