We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect place to stay - Shirley and Tony are the best!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dunmail House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grasmere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dunmail House
Ranked #10 of 21 Grasmere B&B and Inns
West Midlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The perfect place to stay - Shirley and Tony are the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2010

Very friendly and extremely comfortable Bed and Breakfast accomodation. Shirley and Tony are perfect hosts genuinely committed to providing an excellent service to their guests. Their knowledge and love of the area enables recommendations of places to visit and the best way to get there allowing you to make the most of your time in the Lakes.
The house and garden is lovely with stunning views. Each room is beautifully decorated and has an extensive hospitality tray and quality toiletries provided. In addition a selection of DVDs are available to hire free of charge (each room has a DVD player and flat screen television).
Breakfast offers a variety of choice (a selection of fresh fruit, cereals, yoghurt, homemade jams, juices and teas) and their platter is cooked to perfection accompanied by an abundance of toast, tea/coffee. It certainly sets you up for the day!
Would not stay anywhere else, absolutely first class and thoroughly deserving of its 5 star award.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LakesTraveller6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
56
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
llandudno
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2010

A really warm reception by Shirley and Tony, for whom nothing is too much trouble.It has ensured our regular return over a number of years and we will be back! Outstanding location among the fells and within walking distance of Grasmere and several spectacular hill walks, including Helvellyn. Cosy home from home with brilliant breakfasts, clean comfortable rooms and facilities. Well deserving of the 5 star rating and an ideal base to explore the area. We haven't found a better place to stay in the Lakes.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank s-pbwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2010

We would highly recommend this B&B. It has a great location with panoramic views of the fells (even in the rain!) & beautiful gardens. Its only a short walk into Grasmere village and is well placed for walking in the area.
Tony & Shirley, the owners, are welcoming and nothing was too much trouble and the breakfast was well worthy of its award.
The rooms are immaculate and tastefully decorated with some nice added touches such as DVD player which make a difference. Only one room is not en-suite and a little small. Our room had some great views.
We have stayed in alot of accomodation in the Lakes area and have paid twice as much for something that was only half as good.
Great value and a fantastic break. We have booked again....!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank omegaman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhyl
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2010

My wife and I have stayed at Dunmail House on two occasions. Each time has been very special and we can hardly wait to go again.
The owners are a great couple who make you feel very much at home. You are given such freedom of the hotel and garden that you feel that you are at home.
Breakfast is to be tasted to be believed and is of the highest standard every morning without fail. The rooms are clean and most comfortable with wonderful views from every one.
I cannot speak too highly of the hotel. The only problem in doing so is that too many readers of this will want to stay and my wife and I could miss out!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LemonRhyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2010

Have just returned from a two night stay at Dunmail House, 2 adults and an 11 year old. We use B&B's several times each year when holidaying in the UK. We received a very warm welcome from Tony & Shirley. The whole house is absolutely spotless with clean crisp sheets and plenty of clean towels in the room. We chose a family room which, featured a double and single bed and had a nicely finished en-suite bathroom with shower cubicle. Having two beds there wasn't an abundance of space but we certainly had enough room to move around easily. We also had access to a spacious guests lounge whenever we wished. Storage space was excellent. Breakfast was first class with an excellent choice of cereals, fresh fruit and a full range of cooked breakfast options (inc. vegetarian).
The thing that stood out for us was the warm and welcoming atmosphere. We felt very much at home without feeling as though we were in the way despite staying in our hosts own home. The view from every window and of course the garden is quite breathtaking with peaks in every direction. Grasmere itself is as pretty as ever, if you haven't visited we would certainly recommend it.
As for Dunmail house, a first class B&B with great hosts, would highly recommend it. Our daughter didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulMather01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Level Contributor
261 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2010

It is difficult for me to review this accommodation as I would not normally select a B & B as I prefer hotels.

My family selcted this accommodation after checking out thier website.

The look of the home was very pleasant with nice gardens and a lounge for guests to relax in. We were oferred tea and biscuits on arrival which was a nice touch.

Our accommodation was one single room and one double room with ensuite. Both were on the small side. I occupied the single room which was a small room with a double bed that filled up most of the space. The single room had "private facilities"which consisted of a seperate shower and toilet on the landing. They were not particularly private as from the door of the shower one could see down the stairs and straight across the road. However a robe was provided.
I found the room rather cold as the heating was not able to be operated all the time ( central heating on a timer I think). There was a cold snap at that time so I felt it was very cold. Being from the North of Australia we are very sensitive to cold!
The bed was comfortable enough and the rooms clean. There were tea making facilities in the room. Also we had our own key to get in an out so that was good.
Breakfast was fine and nice choice and well cooked. I do prefer fresh fruit and I believe the fruit was tinned but that did not worry me.
The tables are a little close together in the breakfast room and I was having a conversation with my family when the person on the next table joined in my private conversation. I think this underpins my reasons for usually opting for a hotel.
If you like a B & B this is probably one of the better ones but having only stayed in on once before it would be difficult to compare it to others.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ghtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.6 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,118 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dale Lodge Hotel
Dale Lodge Hotel
#11 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunmail House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunmail House

Property: Dunmail House
Address: Keswick Road, Grasmere LA22 9RE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Dunmail a small, exceptionally friendly and informal bed and breakfast situated within the enchanting village of Grasmere. Beautiful newly decorated and furnished en-suite bedrooms with stunning views. Dunmail enjoys private car parking and gardens with panoramic views towards Stone Arthur and the fells. Five Star rated with Award winning breakfasts to set you up for the day. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing