We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Bed & Breakfast in Grasmere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dunmail House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grasmere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dunmail House
Ranked #10 of 21 Grasmere B&B and Inns
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Bed & Breakfast in Grasmere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

Just returned from what must be our 10th stay at Dunmail House. This is an excellent B&B with wonderfully warm hosts - Shirley & Tony cannot do enough for you!!! Our stay has been as good as ever. The room was warm, very clean & very comfortable with lovely soft furnishings and stunning views over Dunmail House garden up steep fells behind guest house - very quiet and private. The morning breakfast is unbeatable, well worth the Breakfast Award, with freshly prepared fruit, cereal, a wide menu for cooked food (the Lakeland Platter is superb!) and homemade jams and marmalade. The resident's lounge is very large and comfortable with wide panoramic windows overlooking the Easedale Fells. Since our first stay at Dunmail House with Shirley & Tony we simply would not stay anywhere else in the Lakes, we are so confident we will have excellent food, warm, cosy room and a warm welcome that is second to none. Shirley & Tony run a guest house that really would take some beating!!!

Room Tip: We have stayed in rooms both at the front and the rear of the house - stunning views from all rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony-Shirley E, Owner at Dunmail House, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
We are absolutely delighted that you continue to enjoy staying with us here at Dunmail with the beautiful views from all our rooms and our extensive breakfast. We strive to make our home a haven of relaxation and comfort for all who choose to stay with us.
Thank you so much for your superb comments which mean a lot to us. We hope to see you again soon.
Best Wishes
Shirley & Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
56
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

Beautiful rooms, wonderful views and garden and such welcoming hosts. Nothing is too much trouble and breakfast is just fabulous.
This was our fourth stay...
Wouldn't stay anywhere else now in Central Lakes area.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J1o9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony-Shirley E, Owner at Dunmail House, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write your first review following your most recent stay here with us at Dunmail. We are always delighted to see you all and it is our true reward to know that our guests enjoy staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you again and thank you again for your kind comments.

Shirley & Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

We have just returned from a 2 night stay and it was wonderful! We were greeted with a warm welcome and the breakfast was just delightful! From the minute we sent the email asking if there was room for us Shirley and Tony were nothing but lovely and they really made us feel welcome. The room was very comfortable, everything was just perfect. Thank you very much hope to visit again soon!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony-Shirley E, Owner at Dunmail House, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Many thanks Emily for taking the time to post your thoughts on Trip Advisor. We really appreciate your kind comments. It was our pleasure to meet you both and we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us here at our home in Grasmere. We wish you both all the best and hope to see you again soon.

Shirley & Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

Just returned from a three day break at this excellent B&B.We have stayed here many times and always get a warm and friendly welcome.Its like a home from home with the added bonus of a fantastic breakfast.We won't stay any where else.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PatN642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony-Shirley E, Owner at Dunmail House, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Many thanks not only for staying with us again but also for taking the time to write an up to date review for us. We are delighted to learn you would not stay anywhere else in Grasmere and your kind words do mean a great deal to us. Its always our pleasure to see you both and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Best wishes Shirley & Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwold, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

Another 5 glorious days at Dunmail house with Shirley&Tony as hosts,superb setting with views all arround,accommodation lovely warm and clean with all the little extras,breakfast such a large choice,hope to return later in year and hope the weather will be as good as this time.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony-Shirley E, Owner at Dunmail House, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words it was good to see you both again. When you have a days walking ahead a good breakfast always sets you up for the day and we are so pleased you enjoyed our extensive breakfast choice. It was great that the weather was kind to you and we are amazed at the varied walks you accomplished.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Best Wishes
Shirley & Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely time at this beautiful B&B. Shirley and Tony are wonderful, warm ,friendly hosts. Our room was delightful and the Breakfast was first class. We are looking forward to returning later in the year.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Baztastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony-Shirley E, Owner at Dunmail House, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
It was our pleasure to welcome you both to our home here in beautiful Grasmere. We are absolutely delighted you had a great stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Best Wishes
Shirley & Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

Stayed here with 2 friends whilst Dorothy was looking after Dunmail house, she was great and offered us another room at a very reasonable rate, which in hindsight was really good value.

Great location and great B&B, clean, homely and good quality breakfasts. Will definitely return here as first choice if I am ever in the region.

Room Tip: 3 adults in the family room is a snug fit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theflotograph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony-Shirley E, Owner at Dunmail House, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are delighted you all enjoyed your stay and we do hope to meet you in the future. Dorothy is indeed the perfect hostess acting on our behalf on the rare occasion we take a few days off. Thank you for staying with us.
Shirley & Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.6 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,118 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dale Lodge Hotel
Dale Lodge Hotel
#11 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunmail House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunmail House

Property: Dunmail House
Address: Keswick Road, Grasmere LA22 9RE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Dunmail a small, exceptionally friendly and informal bed and breakfast situated within the enchanting village of Grasmere. Beautiful newly decorated and furnished en-suite bedrooms with stunning views. Dunmail enjoys private car parking and gardens with panoramic views towards Stone Arthur and the fells. Five Star rated with Award winning breakfasts to set you up for the day. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing