We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small room, big garden”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Dunmail House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grasmere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dunmail House
Ranked #10 of 20 Grasmere B&B and Inns
Manchester
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Small room, big garden”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We only stayed at Dunmail House for one night.
It is right on the road, surrounded by beautiful mountains.
It was clean, but our room was quite small, even though it had a double bed and a single bed. I could not justify paying £50 pppn while I stayed in similar places that asked for less, with better breakfast and bigger room. We booked it because they had availability at a relatively short notice.
There is a large beautifully maintained garden, see my pictures.

Overall it is a good place to stay but I prefer a bigger room next time (and cheaper...)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asma_ua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony-Shirley E, Owner at Dunmail House, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear asma-ua

Thank you for your feed back and we hear what you say. Our home was built in the late 1800's and therefore none of our bedrooms are as large as the modern purpose built hotels but all do have amazing mountain views.

We are pleased you were able to stay with us one night on a Saturday due to a last minute cancellation and that you had the opportunity to enjoy our garden.

Thank you for posting the photographs one of which shows our entrance hallway and the traditonal Cumberland walling which was retained when the house was renovated. These walls are now quite unique as many have beeen plastered over.

Kind Regards
Shirley & Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
56
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We 2 couples loved the hospitality of Shirley and Tony. They run an excellent establishment with high standards in the rooms and breakfasts. I love that they buy in locally from their suppliers and know the provenance of their food.
The breakfasts are fantastic and everyone must try Tony's porridge once at least. I really loved the Cumberland sausage, the best anywhere.
The rooms are fresh and clean and the 360 degree views even on a misty day are worth gazing upon. Quiet at night.
There are good restaurants nearby too. Great village without all the noise of other bigger nearby towns. Loved it. Just wouldn't stay anywhere else really....

Room Tip: Try the range of dishes on offer for breakfast if staying more than one night. Try dining locally t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patricia25Adelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony-Shirley E, Owner at Dunmail House, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Patricia,

Thank you so much for your kind review. It was great to meet you all and we really appreciate all your comments about Dunmail. We are delighted you enjoyed our breakfasts as we try hard to cater for all tastes and as you say we always source the best products from local suppliers.

We do hope you will come back and see us again sometime in the future but we realise you live a long way away.

Thank you again

Best Wishes
Shirley & Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We had a wonderful 3 night visit as the guests of Shirley and Tony at the Dunmail House. The rooms were beautifully decorated, and included a lovely large living room to relax and meet other guests. Tony and Shirley cook a fabulous breakfast and offered an extensive selection in their dining room which overlooks fells and fields.

The B&B is a 5 minute walk to Grasmere, one of the most charming English towns we'd ever seen.. There are fantastic hiking trails nearby that offer some of the most spectacular scenery. Other nearby townes worth visiting are Ambleside, and Keswick. It was a great stay.

Room Tip: Room 1, 2 in the front are large and sunny. Room 3 offers a gorgeous view also and of good size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony-Shirley E, Owner at Dunmail House, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Heidi

Thank you so much for staying with us here at our home in Grasmere and for your kind comments on your stay. It was our pleasure to welcome you all.

Grasmere is as you say a beautiful village in the heart of the English Lakes with fantastic walks from our door. We are delighted that you enjoyed our extensive breakfast and spent some time in our guest lounge with its great views of the surrounding fells.

We do hope to welcome you back again whenever you visit the UK. Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Best Wishes
Shirley & Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

We have stayed at Dunmail House several times and the quality of service provided is second to none. Shirley and Tony are excellent hosts and always go the extra mile to ensure your stay is the best it can possibly be. Would never consider staying anywhere other than Dunmail House. Simply outstanding!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LakesTraveller6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony-Shirley E, Owner at Dunmail House, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
It is always our pleasure to see you all and we are delighted to hear that you enjoy staying with us so much. We are looking forward to seeing you again in November when the Christmas lights will be on in the Lakes villages and the shops will be full of goodies for the festive season. Lets hope there is just a sprinkling of snow on the fell tops, with blue skies and mirror images on the Lake which will make it even more magical for you.
Best Wishes
Shirley & Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north devon
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We had a long walk across high fells to reach Dunmail and we were greeted with tea and cakes and lovely comfortable rooms. Great welcome from the hosts and would recommend it to anyone walking or just visiting the area. The smoked salmon and egg breakfast was wonderful !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with IKnowUK

Helpful?
1 Thank NorthDevonmaryH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony-Shirley E, Owner at Dunmail House, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words. We are delighted you enjoyed cake and tea after your long walk and it was our pleasure to make you welcome. It would be lovely to see you again in the future.Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Best Wishes
Shirley & Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholasville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

LOVELY!! I would highly recommend this B&B. You will not find a nicer host and hostess! They did a great job making us feel right at home. Breakfast hit the spot every morning and there was plenty to choose from. The area is magnificent, with lots of hiking, stunning views, and great places to eat. The town is quaint and there is good shopping. Don't miss the gingerbread, it is a treat for sure!

Room Tip: Our rooms were facing the road but we had no noise and the view was awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SSmith147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony-Shirley E, Owner at Dunmail House, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive review for us. It was a pleasure to meet you all and we are delighted you enjoyed our award winning breakfast so much. Grasmere as you say is a very beautiful village with lots to see and do and we feel very privileged to live here.

We hope to welcome you back in the future if you are on this side of the pond. Take care of yourselves.

Kind Regards
Shirley & Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

You feel more of a house guest in this beautiful home. A warm welcome on arrival from the owners with a pot of tea and biscuits while we looked through the extensive local info in the guest lounge. Our room wasnt huge and the shower room quite small but beautifully presented and so clean with nice toiletries. A very good night's sleep followed by gold star breakfast - delicious. An excellent location and highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NCDonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony-Shirley E, Owner at Dunmail House, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your super comments. Dunmail is our home and we are delighted to learn you felt like house guests as this is our aim. We work hard at the quality and cleanliness of our rooms and we thank you for mentioning this, your words are all very encouraging for us.

We do hope to see you again in the future and we will be delighted to greet you with a warm welcome and to serve you another special breakfast.

All best Wishes
Shirley & Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.6 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,390 reviews
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Dale Lodge Hotel
Dale Lodge Hotel
#11 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#3 of 14 in Grasmere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunmail House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunmail House

Property: Dunmail House
Address: Keswick Road, Grasmere LA22 9RE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Dunmail a small, exceptionally friendly and informal bed and breakfast situated within the enchanting village of Grasmere. Beautiful newly decorated and furnished en-suite bedrooms with stunning views. Dunmail enjoys private car parking and gardens with panoramic views towards Stone Arthur and the fells. Five Star rated with Award winning breakfasts to set you up for the day. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing