We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B”
Review of Dunmail House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dunmail House
Ranked #10 of 20 Grasmere B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Despite four days of rail, hail and a little sun, Tony & Shirley always had a warm welcome. Their breakfasts were superb and we had a very enjoyable stay in their home. Our room had everything we needed and a comfortable guests' lounge. The views from our room were stunning even with low cloud! Would certainly recommend this B&B in Grasmere where it was only walking distance into the village for a number of very good restaurants, thereby leaving the car parked at Dunmail House.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony-Shirley E, Owner at Dunmail House, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

It was our pleasure to meet you both and we are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

The views from Dunmail are as you say still beautiful even in poor weather and we are pleased the sun did show its face for a short while for you. As we have individual car parking spaces leaving your car is never a problem.

Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to write such a lovely review. We do appreciate your comments and hope we see you again next time you travel to Grasmere.

Thank you again
Tony and Shirley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
There are newer reviews for Dunmail House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 85 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2013

My friend and I received a lovely warm welcome with a pot of tea and biscuits- really appreciated after the long journey we had. The room was really clean with a lovely view of Helm Crag. It was a five minute walk to Grasmere where there was lots of shops and restaurants.

Breakfast was fabulous and lots of choice too.

Shirley very kindly gave us some information on walks. We managed to comine a walk of Helm Crag, which had an amazing view of Lake Grasmere with a walk up to the Tarn which was stunning ( even in drizzly rain!) recommended to take a picnic and have lunch at the Tarn then walk back down by the waterfalls. We also had been given details of a lovely walk round the Lake the day before.

Thought Grasmere was fabulous. Perfect for a weekend stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giselle20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony-Shirley E, Owner at Dunmail House, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

It was a pleasure to meet you Giselle and your friend from Catalonia. We are delighted you enjoyed your short stay with us and that you were able to enjoy the beautiful scenery around Grasmere and complete some walks from our door.

We really appreciate you kind comments and we do hope to see you again in the future.

Best Wishes

Shirley & Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We have stayed at Dunmail House 3 times now. We are always given a very warm welcome by Tony and Shirley. The rooms are spotlessly clean, and the bed linen and towels are of the highest quality. Breakfasts are superb, with lots of choice. Nothing is too much trouble, and there is much attention to detail, which makes this B and B stand out from the rest. A large guest lounge, and facilities to leave boots and wet clothing add to the attraction. A lovely garden with wonderful views is a plus when the weather is being kind. We will be back again next year.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony-Shirley E, Owner at Dunmail House, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

Thank you very much Ann and Greg for staying with us again and for taking the time to write such a super review for us.

Our garden is certainly a great place to relax after a days walking on the fells and enjoy the views. Watching the Herdwick Lambs in the field behind the house is very entertaining.

We are looking forward to seeing you both again next year and thank you again.

All good wishes to you

Shirley & Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed at dunmail for 5 nights, we were given a warm welcome, cases taken to our room, tea & coffee and cakes in the lounge then we were left to our own devices. When we went in our room the 1st thing we noticed was how clean it was, the rooms are quite small and bathrooms even smaller but as you are only in the room to sleep it wasn't a problem. The breakfast were lovely everything very fresh and nothing to much trouble. There was a guest lounge &as the rooms were quite small this was great..
Thanks Shirley & tony for a great stay

Room Tip: If I stayed again I would ask for room 3 as this is at the back so you can't here the main road...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wayman_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony-Shirley E, Owner at Dunmail House, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and pleased you were able to meet up with your friends John and Val in our comfortable guest lounge and chat about your days walking. Your knowledge of the local walks and how many of these you managed to complete during your stay, despite inclement weather on some days, was impressive. We are pleased we could help with dry boots and coats.
Dunmail House was built in the early 1900's as a traditional lakeland home and the rooms reflect this. We are pleased you were able to relax with friends and enjoy a good nights sleep in one of our new five foot beds.
Thank for taking the time to write a review and we do hope to see you again in the future.
Shirley & Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

After staying at Dunmail House several times now we would like to share our views,accommodation is supremely clean,cosy and comfortable,decor and linen are top quality and dry towels every day.Breakfasts are a treat and nothing to much trouble.Breathtaking scenery from rooms.Wet boots and coats dried over night for you.Will return later in year.Many thanks Shirley&Tony for your warm welcome and hospitality.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony-Shirley E, Owner at Dunmail House, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Thank you both for your lovely review, we really appreciate each one.

Even though you missed out on walking the Fairfield Horseshoe due to the snow drifts you certainly walked many miles on the different and variable walks available from our door.

It is great to know you will be back and we will be waiting with a warm welcome and another enjoyable stay.

All our best wishes
Shirley & Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Having spent many years staying in hotels in and around Grasmere we discovered Dunmail House some five years ago.Peace and quiet, spotlessly clean, perfect hosts-Tony and Shirley and the best breakfast you will ever have, all add up to a perfect stay. Once you have been you will go again

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PatN642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony-Shirley E, Owner at Dunmail House, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Many thanks Pat and Colin for not only staying with us again but also for taking the trouble to write a review on your recent visit.

We are very delighted you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you again soon here at our home in Grasmere.

All our Best Wishes
Tony and Shirley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Just returned home from Grasmere today. At Dunmail House there is always a warm welcome, comfortable rooms and top jolly breakfasts. A perfect base for hill-walking and no need to use the car! You can also walk to several excellent restaurants in the village.
Having sampled many other hostelries in the area, in my view, this one is the best for a relaxed stay, whether you are travelling as a family, singly or as a couple.

Room Tip: All rooms have fabulous views of the fells.My choice would be 1,2,3 or 4!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 454paulb454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony-Shirley E, Owner at Dunmail House, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Thank you both very much for your kind review and for sharing your comments with other potential guests.We are pleased the snow on the fell tops and the brilliant sunshine made for some good walking while you were here.

We look forward to seeing you again soon and will have the kettle on.

Best Wishes

Shirley & Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.6 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,496 reviews
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
1,195 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#13 of 14 in Grasmere
220 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dale Lodge Hotel
Dale Lodge Hotel
#11 of 14 in Grasmere
506 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunmail House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunmail House

Address: Keswick Road, Grasmere LA22 9RE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Grasmere
Price Range: $162 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Dunmail a small, exceptionally friendly and informal bed and breakfast situated within the enchanting village of Grasmere. Beautiful newly decorated and furnished en-suite bedrooms with stunning views. Dunmail enjoys private car parking and gardens with panoramic views towards Stone Arthur and the fells. Five Star rated with Award winning breakfasts to set you up for the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Dunmail House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing