We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect place”
Review of Dunmail House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dunmail House
Ranked #10 of 20 Grasmere B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Very good guesthouse with very friendly owners. I stayed here two nights during a 14-day self-organized walking holiday through the Lake District. Dunmail House is a perfect place. If the weather is bad, you can watch dvd's because they have a large collection. Dunmail House has won awards with his breakfast, and I can understand because they are just super! You can choose between two types of breakfast. I chose a breakfast with scrambled eggs and salmon ... delicious! I can but recommend this guesthouse.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BelgianWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 86 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2012

We have recently returned to Dunmail House, and have visited it every year for the past 7 or 8 years. This is a gem of a B&B, warm comfortable, nothing too much trouble and Shirley and Tony who run it are extremely friendly. Everything was as good as it always has been and the breakfasts are always excellent, in fact I think this year they were even better. Parking is easy with ample space, rooms have beautiful views and to sit in the garden is as though you are sat in cradle of the fells (on this visit though, weather did not allow this).
Once we found Dunmail House we would never stay anywhere else in the Lakes: the comfort, breakfast and sincere warm welcome makes a holiday. We can highly recommend this to other visitors - do try because once tried, you will keep returning. This really is a gem on the edge of Grasmere village.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

The first and most important thing to note is that nearly everything was PERFECT!
The guest house is managed by Shirley and Tony, a lovely and extremely helpful couple. They keep this guest house in a perfect, and beautiful condition.
We booked one twin and one single room, and for this price we got one double (!) and one triple (double bed + 1 single) room, which gave us plenty of space to sleep on the comfortable beds and were a great value for money.
The rooms were spotless, clean and beautifully designed.
The breakfast was filling, with plenty to choose from.
You will not be disappointed if you decide to stay here! Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spbalazs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

We have recently booked our 4th stay at Dunmail House, Grasmere for later this year. We have always had a warm welcome from 'mine hosts', very comfortable, breakfast really good!! Lovely views all around, we are just hoping that in August the weather allows a sit in the beautiful garden at the back of the house. We would not hesitate to recommend a stay at Dunmail.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ettles2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Stayed here in September 2011. We received a warm welcome, clean, well-prepared rooms and a lovely breakfast. All you could want in a guest house with beautiful surroundings as well. It's on our list to go back to again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

on arrival tony and shirley made us very welcome indeed the rooms are excellent with everthing you need .360 degree views from their beautifully maintained garden. nothing is too much trouble and their knowledge of the area a must . a beautiful breakfast served each morning with a smile two great ways to start the day. situated where you can get to any location in a short time. it was our first time in the lake district when you have been as well looked after as we were we wiil return to dunmail and discover more of the beautiful lake district.

Room Tip: all rooms have great views just sit in the back garden and unwind and enjoy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steamer006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

The best yet by far
A must each year.. We have been visitin Dunmail for several years and the standard never varies. A super couple who run it and we wish we could visit more often
The best breakfast you will ever get


Allan & Margaret Worth

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuliaW54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.6 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,515 reviews
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
1,211 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
861 reviews
0.2 mi away
Raise View House
Raise View House
#4 of 20 in Grasmere
376 reviews
0.6 mi away
Moss Grove Organic
Moss Grove Organic
#6 of 20 in Grasmere
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunmail House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunmail House

Address: Keswick Road, Grasmere LA22 9RE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Grasmere
Price Range: $161 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Dunmail a small, exceptionally friendly and informal bed and breakfast situated within the enchanting village of Grasmere. Beautiful newly decorated and furnished en-suite bedrooms with stunning views. Dunmail enjoys private car parking and gardens with panoramic views towards Stone Arthur and the fells. Five Star rated with Award winning breakfasts to set you up for the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Dunmail House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing