We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“dunmail every time”
Review of Dunmail House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grasmere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dunmail House
Ranked #10 of 20 Grasmere B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“dunmail every time”
Reviewed March 22, 2012

We have recently booked our 4th stay at Dunmail House, Grasmere for later this year. We have always had a warm welcome from 'mine hosts', very comfortable, breakfast really good!! Lovely views all around, we are just hoping that in August the weather allows a sit in the beautiful garden at the back of the house. We would not hesitate to recommend a stay at Dunmail.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ettles2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
57
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hartlepool
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Stayed here in September 2011. We received a warm welcome, clean, well-prepared rooms and a lovely breakfast. All you could want in a guest house with beautiful surroundings as well. It's on our list to go back to again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 10, 2011

on arrival tony and shirley made us very welcome indeed the rooms are excellent with everthing you need .360 degree views from their beautifully maintained garden. nothing is too much trouble and their knowledge of the area a must . a beautiful breakfast served each morning with a smile two great ways to start the day. situated where you can get to any location in a short time. it was our first time in the lake district when you have been as well looked after as we were we wiil return to dunmail and discover more of the beautiful lake district.

Room Tip: all rooms have great views just sit in the back garden and unwind and enjoy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steamer006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Four Oaks
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2011

The best yet by far
A must each year.. We have been visitin Dunmail for several years and the standard never varies. A super couple who run it and we wish we could visit more often
The best breakfast you will ever get


Allan & Margaret Worth

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuliaW54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2011

Rooms very clean and comfortable, lovely decor lots of cushions! Spacious comfortable lounge and beautiful garden, all rooms have stunning views of fells and makes for a very peaceful stay despite proximity of main road. Car parking is easy with main road easily accessible. Very warm and friendly welcome with little details that make visitor feel comfortable, at home and that nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast is absoutely excellent with wide range of choices/menu, fresh food very well cooked. Homely is a cliche but in this case a comment very well deserved. Although this is situated a little outside main village, it is a little jewel! Once we found this B&B we have returned year after year, I can well recommend this to others looking for B&B at Grasmere.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed May 10, 2011

Friendly, caring and hard working hosts, very tasty breakfast, comfy bed, huge selection of DVD's to borrow, beautiful garden... many walks can be set off directly from Dunmail House and it's within walking distance from pretty Grasmere. Really to be recommended!

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AnjaBeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 23, 2011

This excellent b&b in the lovely village of Grasmere is a far cry from the commerciality of Ambleside as it nestles in the valley a short walk from the shops and restaurants. A fantastic welcome, everything clean and tidy with a very comfortable bed and good storage space. The breakfasts are excellent and will set up any walker for the day - packed lunches are also provided for a small sum and are excellent value as well. We were here during lambing so there was some late night farm traffic but all in all very quiet, the double glazing and thick curtains taking care of any disturbance. A great place to come back to and wake up in. I will definitely recommend this.

Room Tip: One for the address book!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJS1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.6 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,406 reviews
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Dale Lodge Hotel
Dale Lodge Hotel
#11 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#3 of 14 in Grasmere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunmail House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunmail House

Property: Dunmail House
Address: Keswick Road, Grasmere LA22 9RE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Dunmail a small, exceptionally friendly and informal bed and breakfast situated within the enchanting village of Grasmere. Beautiful newly decorated and furnished en-suite bedrooms with stunning views. Dunmail enjoys private car parking and gardens with panoramic views towards Stone Arthur and the fells. Five Star rated with Award winning breakfasts to set you up for the day. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing