We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and welcoming”
Review of Baldry's Tea Room

Baldry's Tea Room
Ranked #1 of 3 Dessert in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $13
Cuisines: Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Friendly and welcoming”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Delicious cheese scone and ginger cake and friendly, helpful service. Would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pixie89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    761
    136
    26
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quaint and quirky”
Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

We stopped off at Grasmere for a last minute look at the shops and just because its sooo quiet in Grasmere. Feeling a wee bit cold we spotted Baldrys whilst walking past the lovely sandwich and cake stands in the window caught my eye. On entering its like a cosy cottage feel pine tables and oh so warm on a cold day. We found a lovely table by the window and after a couple of minutes a cheery chap took our order. He was ever so friendly . We had leek and potato soup with really nice warm bread rolls. Our 10 year old had a special hot chocolate and a slice of what he says was the yummiest chocolate cake he has ever had!! And he should know he's had a lot. I like to people watch and the staff were super friendly with everyone that came in and the food very yummy. Thanks for giving us a lovely wee spot to warm our cockles. We will be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Madangus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Service with a smile!”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Staff brilliant..excellent service, tasty and well presented home cooked food...every time!! Decore, modern slant on the traditional tea room, whilst retaining the quality of tea served in china cups!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Always our favourite stop in Grasmere”
Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic friendly staff every time we visit and they're great with wet muddy dogs too - always a big handful of doggy treats to keep them happy!
Popped in today for a quick bite to eat and had fantastic homemade carrot & tomato soup and my hubbie had a really great bacon and sausage roll.
We'd recommend Baldrys to anyone looking for a great friendly family run cafe in Grasmere where excellent food, tea/coffee and cakes are always on offer.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CharlotteLogie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
85 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great lunches”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Lovely lunch freshly made to order.
We had jacket potato & soup both excellent, only problem too full to have a cream tea after :)
Pleasant staff and quick service.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank yummyscrummyCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baldry's Tea Room also viewed

Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 
Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 
Grasmere, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 

Been to Baldry's Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing