We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”

Greens Cafe & Bistro
Ranked #6 of 44 Restaurants in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $13
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Friendly local cafe and bistro specialising in home cooked meals and home baked cakes. Wide range of special diets catered for including gluten free, dairy free, vegetarian, vegan and meat lovers too!
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

This place is a little gem, good food and service. Not over priced. We looked forward to a drink and snack here at the end of our days walking in the local hills. Sad that we did not find this place First.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stenning15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    555
    154
    39
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely and nice kids meals”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

We popped in (unplanned) at 6pm on a Sat. The prices seemed a little high but I am aware it's a highly popular area with tourists which always seems to increase prices.
When the food arrived I realised it was well worth the money. Unlike some places the kids meals come with vegetables and the sausages were lovely proper ones.
My hubbie was thrilled as the pie was fabulous. Lots of filling (chicken) and little pastry. The way a pie should be in my opinion.
They offered colouring for the children.
It started raining (we were outside) and they came straight out to ask if we wanted to move indoors. We had our dog with us so they are dog friendly.
I highly recommend this lovely place.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank REJ45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teesside
Level Contributor
90 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

Called twice during recent visit. First was for lunch, lots of choice for vegetarians & carnivores which is brilliant for me & the other half. Was so inspired we booked an evening table.
Again the restaurant excelled, my vegetable boulangere was tasty & filling. The other halls toad out of the hole he said was delicious & adored the thick gravy. We had desert which was also lovely.
Staff were friendly & hospitable.
I can only add this restaurant provided the best food we ate all week & we will definitely return when next in the lakes.
A big thank you.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic Food”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

With out doubt the best food in town, booking in advance is recommended as it's so popular. Lamb curry is a must, but to be fair all the food was good and well priced, I'll go again next time in Grasmere.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Coeliac friendly”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

This is a busy café & bistro in the middle of Grasmere, with seating both inside & out. We sat at a table next to a dog - which usually isn't an issue as most owners keep their dogs under control. I won't give details, the staff found us another table without any fuss or bother. The menu had signs showing vegan, dairy, and gluten free products. Usually we are wary as, although cafes advertise gluten-free they do not understand the consequences of cross-contamination for coeliac sufferers. This café was first rate. From their response to our enquiries we were assured that they were experienced in "everything coeliac" (even down to the gluten free biscuit with the coffee). We had a lovely g/free cake and left the café as very happy bunnies!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CassaHexham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greens Cafe & Bistro also viewed

Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 
Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 

Been to Greens Cafe & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing