We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect !”

Greens Cafe & Bistro
Ranked #6 of 44 Restaurants in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $13
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Friendly local cafe and bistro specialising in home cooked meals and home baked cakes. Wide range of special diets catered for including gluten free, dairy free, vegetarian, vegan and meat lovers too!
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect !”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Had an evening meal whilst in grasmere - 11 of us in total , a mixture of adults and children . From the welcome we received on enquiring through to the deserts - it was all perfect ! The Food was beautiful , the range of drinks and menu is great ,the staff were so friendly and went out of their way to make sure we were happy with the experience . 10/10 , would recommend to anyone , and will certainly return when in Grasmere again ! :)

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SamJT1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    557
    154
    39
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Really Tasty!”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We came for a cream tea. Staff really polite and friendly. The gluten free scones were incredible! I even got a little gluten free biscuit with my tea. Really amazing choices for a gluten free diet. The home made jams tasted amazing!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belper, Derbyshire
Level Contributor
234 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Cake and Hot Chocolate - A Ramblers treat”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

I think we were tempted by the home made cakes on the counter as a treat for our little ramble from Ambleside to Grasmere. The cafe looked clean and welcoming, in fact I can taste the coffee and walnut cake as I write this review!! A good sign surely? Good service and a hot chocolate to die for. Reasonable price too as it can be expensive to stop off for tea, hot choc and a piece of cake. We paid just over £7 so couldn't really complain.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thefastwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Another fabulous vist!”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Can't recommend this place enough! We have been visiting Greens as part of our annual trip to Cumbria for the last four years now, and we are never disappointed. Where many cafés treat us vegan types as too difficult to cater for, Greens embrace all dietary requirements, welcoming you with numerous choices for whatever you could wish for on a day out in the Lakes. The service is always warm and friendly and we only wish we had a Greens back home in Hertfordshire. We look forward to several more visits before we have to return home.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JkMowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fabulous gluten free menu”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Brilliant, I couldn't believe the choice of gluten free items on the menu, including home made scones, sandwiches, desserts & full meals, what a find! If you're not Coeliac, you won't realise what a treat it is to actually have a choice on a menu. Highly recommend

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank 22SS2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greens Cafe & Bistro also viewed

Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 
Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 
Grasmere, Lake District
 

Been to Greens Cafe & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing