We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent cafe”

Greens Cafe & Bistro
Ranked #6 of 44 Restaurants in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $13
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Friendly local cafe and bistro specialising in home cooked meals and home baked cakes. Wide range of special diets catered for including gluten free, dairy free, vegetarian, vegan and meat lovers too!
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent cafe”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This cafe is outstanding from the quality of the food to the staff. The owners are very pleasant and spend time with you answering questions from where to eat in the evening when they are closed. Will always make a visit when in the area what a find.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jo540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    555
    154
    39
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Burscough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food and coffee - fantastic owners”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We were in Grasmere last week and (unfortunately!!) only visited Green's twice during our stay. The cafe is run by a husband and wife combo and they are both so lovely and always seem willing to take time out for a chat. Our first visit was for breakfast before a long walk - I opted for the bacon and egg buttie with coffee - they certainly don't skimp on the filling!! Everyone in our party agreed everything was excellent - and a special mention for the coffee (probably the best we had during our stay). Our 2nd visit was on our last day before heading home - I enjoyed the bacon and buttie so much, I had another one!!! We had 2 dogs on our 2nd visit and the owner couldn't do enough to help - she even came out with a tub of dog treats - which were well received by our canine companions!! The cafe was only 3 doors down from the cottage we stayed in - which makes it more of a shame we didn't visit more - we'll certainly make up for it next year - we've already re-booked the same cottage.

We would all recommend a visit to Green's if you're in the area - you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank roversfc71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We always have breakfast here when we arrive in Grasmere and its is always consistently good. The only downside is that in winter the granite tables are very cold.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank passionforiron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grasmere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Cafe in ideal surrounds.”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Excellent service, nothing too much to ask. During cold days, the chocolate brownie and ice-cream is amazing. With a cup of coffee with it, bliss. Definitely recommended to people to try it. You'll keep going back when ever you visit Grasmere

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlexanderStaveley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful again!”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Great cafe in lovely surroundings. This was our fourth visit to Greens and we have been consistently impressed with the high quality food and the lovely service. Was lovely that the owners recognised us and made a fuss of our daughter; she loves the "lovely lady" who always talks to her! Soup and sandwiches; hot, tasty and filling! What more could you ask for?

Looking forward to our holiday in May when we will be visiting again.

Thanks.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Livtattum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greens Cafe & Bistro also viewed

Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 
Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 
Grasmere, Lake District
 

Been to Greens Cafe & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing