We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Choice”

Greens Cafe & Bistro
Ranked #4 of 46 Restaurants in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $13
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Friendly local cafe and bistro specialising in home cooked meals and home baked cakes. Wide range of special diets catered for including gluten free, dairy free, vegetarian, vegan and meat lovers too!
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Perfect Choice”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

After a long walk in the hills we arrived back in Grasmere, hungry and weary. Grasmere certainly isn't short of cafes, but Green's looked very inviting and we soon discovered it was the perfect choice. The service and food were excellent, all tasted fresh and well prepared. Lovely soup with bread that tasted homemade and a fresh baguette crammed full of chicken.
Though neither my partner or myself are Vegans we did notice massive selection of Vegan options, including some yummy cakes. My partner's son is Vegan and we are well aware of the minimal selection at most eateries.
So whether you're a Vegan or not, next time you're in Grasmere pop in to Greens I am sure you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FizzScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    579
    163
    40
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, Dorset, UK
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A brilliant find”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stumbled across Green's when we visited Grasmere. It was bustling inside when lots of other places were empty so we gave it a go.

The service was great and the food was delicious - I even had cake to take away!

There were lots of gluten free options on the menu too which I thought was very inclusive.

All in all I would recommend this highly.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nina21284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food and prices”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Tyhe first time I went to Greens, I took my mother and we were both impressed with the friendly service, good food and resonable prices. So much so, that I have been back with my partner and other friends.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank CinnabarCumbriaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oswestry, england
Level 6 Contributor
592 reviews
285 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 337 helpful votes
“Not bad, but there are much better cafes in the Lakes”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The food was nice enough,and filling, but the veggie shepherds pie was basically ratatouille with mash on the top, for £8. No real flavour either. My sandwich and soup were ok, and hot, but we've had so much better over the last few days. They do cater for veggies, vegans, and even gluten free diets, and the service was fine, but our meal was just average.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shaunsouthern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Great casual lunch venue”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We had a light lunch in Greens and were very pleased indeed. A lovely relaxed atmosphere (Greens accepts "well-behaved dogs") and a small wine range which just so happened to include our favourite white and red. Lots of gluten-free choices too. A great casual lunch venue

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ffa1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greens Cafe & Bistro also viewed

Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 
Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 

Been to Greens Cafe & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing