We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kayaking group visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grasmere Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grasmere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grasmere Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Kayaking group visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

17 of us were up in the Lakes for white water kayaking and were particularly impressed by the large drying room at the hostel which sorted out all of our wet kit overnight each day - lovely! Very well-equipped kitchen, free wifi, comfy common room, a great set up for a group trip - and each bunk in a room even has its own storage cupboard.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Godolphin_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
16
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Stayed two days. Perfectly located for climbing Helvellyn. There is a footpath at the back of the house that goes along Tongue Gill to Grisedale Tarn and on to Helvellyn. The accommodation is very clean and comfortable with attention to detail. I would certainly go back. A first class hostel. There is also good pub nearby. Excellent base for lake land activities.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Needleend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

To be honest we did not have high expectations from this place - we got to know about this place from another hostel which was booked out- all we had was a postcode. It was dark when we reached there and it seemed to be in the middle of nowhere. But we were in for such a pleasant surprise once we got in - It has the most cleanest and cosiest of rooms, a very well-equipped kitchen, spacious and clean bathrooms. We were a bunch of 8 and all we did for the first coupla hours was rave about the hostel. The rooms had beautiful views of the mountains which seemed like a stone`s throw away from the huge bay windows in the rooms. We had the most fun in the common room where we had a jolly good time amodst rounds of Taboo and wine. This did not seem like a hostel - it was rather like a cosy farmhouse nestled within the hills.
the only con we could think of was the non-availability of nearby eateries/restaurants. Shouldn`t be an issue if you have your own car/bike.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Swetasays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

Booked my 50th birthday lads weekend centred around the hostel... Pretty much faultless hostel really... Rooms were great, clean and comfortable with the right facilities, lounge big enough to hold entire group of 20, kitchen facilities were superb (not that we used them as the pub was 5 minutes walk away :D ), shower rooms, toilets, drying area were fantastic, clean and plenty of hot water... I would definitely recommend this hostel for anyone wanting a Lakes based break... Well done to Dave & his team

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobbylob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Like other reviewers, I can vouch for the attractiveness of the scenery around the Grasmere Independent Hostel. I didn’t come by public transport, but I’d imagine that it is quite accessible by bus as it is on the main road from Windermere to Keswick.
The centre of Grasmere isn’t on the doorstep though, so you can’t just ‘bob in to town’ so easily, particularly if tired after a day’s hiking.
Though it is on the main road it is set back, and traffic noise isn’t a problem.
The welcome at the hostel was friendly, and as well as getting plenty of information about the hostel, there is loads of local information, leaflets, wall maps and maps to borrow, etc.
The kitchen was well-equipped in terms of quantity and quality of utensils and equipment. The social room on the top floor had plenty of books, magazines and games to pass time in the evenings, as well as a decent TV.
An unexpected bonus was a free computer point in the reception, as well wifi in this area. The sauna is an interesting touch, though it is something that you pay for.
Another facility for walkers is a drying room for equipment. Though it isn’t heated, it has a fan and dehumidifier.
The bedrooms themselves are the thing I’d be the least positive about. As stated on the website they are mostly en-suite so I can’t claim to be surprised by it. This might be a disadvantage for some when sharing with strangers as it is rather ‘intimate’, and also noisy when you all have different waking times.
Also, there were signs of mould on the walls, as well as a fusty smell in the air. It has been a wet summer though which won’t have helped. Having a small en-suite bathroom might have made it worse though.

Room Tip: If you are likely to be sharing with strangers, decide whether you want facilities en-suite or not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Britboyslim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

I would thoroughly recommend this hostel to friends and family and would stay here again having stayed recently with two friends on a mountain biking trip.

Dave the owner is extremely helpful and friendly whilst the the hostel is very clean and comfortable. The bedrooms are of a standard size whilst each has the bonus of an en suite bathroom. The communal kitchen and dining room is also large, very clean and well equipped. Though we did not use it, I'm sure the sauna which can be used for a small fee would be greatly appreciated by many!

The only slight drawback is that the hostel is located about a mile from the centre of the village. Clearly this is not a problem for the average hostel guest, but may be worth considering. We did choose to walk to the excellent tweedies bar in grasmere itself and this was perfectly fine. The pub just around the corner from the hostel itself also serves excellent beers and bar food at a reasonable price.

Overall I feel this hostel offers excellent value for money.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joeyvern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Very warm and friendly environment with a nice kitchen and relaxing common room. Excellent facilities throughout. Fantastic location near to numerous footpaths and only a bus ride away from Lake Windermere. Owners are extremely nice and pleasant. Very accommodating. Will definitely be visiting again!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CJCUK23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.7 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,118 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,360 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Lancrigg Hotel
The Lancrigg Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
3.9 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grasmere Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grasmere Hostel

Property: Grasmere Hostel
Address: Broadrayne Farm, Grasmere LA22 9RU, England (Formerly Grasmere Independent Hostel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grasmere Hostel 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4* Accommodation in a 5* location!Welcome to Grasmere Hostel's group and individual accommodation TripAdvisor page. Our accommodation is situated in the Heart of the English Lake District and has the best position to access all Lakeland has to offer.Our 4* hostel is perfect for Family Reunions and Celebrations, Team Building, Management Development, Walking groups and Serious Outdoor Pursuit enthusiasts; as well as those who want to tour the lake district and enjoy the scenic delights. We welcome families, individuals and groups.All our five rooms have en-suite/private facilities. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing