We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chestnut Villa
Nearby Hotels
$248
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$170
$165
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oak Bank Hotel(Grasmere)
$164
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$213
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$173
$155
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lancrigg(Grasmere)
$139
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (268)
Filter reviews
268 results
Traveler rating
212
48
7
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
212
48
7
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthanks mikecoast to coastbreakfast roompack lunchesroll top bathpacked lunchstunning viewsmain roadshort walkcomfortable bedlake districtbreakfast was deliciousa great place to staywould definitely stay here againon arrivalhome from homefull english
Filter
Updating list...
138 - 143 of 268 reviews
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Had a lovely couple nights here, very welcoming and comfortable beds. Food just right. We will stay here again definitely. Gras-mere village a nice walk down and the shopping here is a bonus. Swan Hotel is nearby where you will be welcomed too.

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank mau1969875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Stayed for one night while doing the coast to coast - wish it had been longer and will definitely be coming back! Owner was so helpful and even washed and dried our clothes after we fell in a bog on that day's walk. He took the time to chat with us and was so friendly and accommodating. I had a room at the back (had been slightly concerned about potential noise from the road but couldn't hear a thing) that was lovely and quiet with beautiful views. Breakfast was great and all the rooms were obviously recently refurbished - contemporary (which made a pleasant change!!) but homely with lots of personal touches - particularly good pictures :) The soap/shower gel etc was an upmarket brand too, which was also a nice change and a hairdryer was provided. It was 5 minutes out of Grasmere, right on the C2C path. I can't believe that there is a nicer B&B owner or better accommodation to be found in the area!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatCatx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

This property was actually our second choice for Grasmere but proved to one of the better B&Bs we stayed in along the C2C trail. It is slightly out of town but the welcome and quality of the rooms more than make up for the extra 10 minutes walk. And you are right on the trail for the following day’s trek. A bright airy room with clean and comfortable beds, the views over the fells as the sun went down were superb. Breakfast was the best so far and my partner’s dietary requirements were catered for. I can highly recommend this property.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the property with views over the fells.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeWobbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed at Chestnut Villa for the first time this year at around Easter, after booking a B/B nearby and then being cancelled the day before the holiday. This was the best thing the other B/B could have done for us. All packed and no where to go, We rang Mike and he found us a room, and after 5 more short breaks with him this year, We can say, Chestnut Villa B/B what a find, Clean, Friendly, Excellent Breakfast, and Lovely Pack Lunch. Thanks to Mike and his mum for your Friendship and thoughtfulness, Will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tillyandpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

If you want a warm welcome in the stunning setting of grasmere in the heart of the Lake District I would definitely recommend a stay at chestnut villa. The welcome was warm, the rooms are all tastefully furnished and the breakfast was excellent with a wide choice. All the staff were so friendly and relaxed and made us feel thoroughly at home. Set just outside the village centre the views of the fells from the room were just stunning. A big thank you again for a lovely stay we will certainly be back next year.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 501Nicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews