We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay”
Review of Chestnut Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chestnut Villa
Ranked #3 of 20 Grasmere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent place to stay”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

A really lovely place to stay and excellent value. Our room was beautifully furnished with a fantastic shower en-suite and a comfortable bed. Breakfast was very good indeed and we will certainly stay here again as we love Grasmere, and Chestnut Villa is competitively priced and very welcoming.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eileen a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    45
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
154
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Adlington, Chorley
Level Contributor
67 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Our 3rd trip to Chestnut Villa, so that speaks for itself. Mike is now flying solo and the high standards have been maintained

Although it is slightly out of Grasmere, this is more than compensated by the stunning views, breakfast as always srummy, nicely decorated and very clean.

Like I said, we shall go back again, just a couple of minor things prevent a 5 from me.

1. Although it has wifi, it is very weak in some rooms (doesn't work at all in others)
2. No Shower in room 9 (hand held device, pressure is too weak)

If these are important to you, please specify when book as Mike does go out of his way to accomodate and remains a fantastic host.

Room Tip: If you want good views - ask for a room at the back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbolapool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We are a few days into the Coast to Coast. Our accommodations so far have ticked all the boxes for cleanliness, facilities etc, but this one sticks out as a bit special. It's a little out of Grasmere, but worth the walk for the beautiful decor and a wonderfully welcoming, helpful host. Not a lot of space in our room but it was so beautifully presented and cosy, we didn't mind. Breakfast room was lovely. I'd stay there again

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wainwright B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Chestnut Villa is an extended semi on the edge of Grasmere. For C2C walkers its ideal, right on the route and within easy reach of a decent pub, for longer stays the situation might be a bit outside the town. Having said that the view from our room was spectacular, the welcome was warm and the bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rayw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Not a great location for Grasmere as sitting in the outskirts on the busy road to Keswick. Our room was small, only just big enough for the two beds, with a v compact shower and loo.

But the owners were very friendly and welcoming, breakfast was good and its clean and tidy.

Request one of the back rooms which look out over the fells...a. lovely view.

On balance not a bad place to stay on the C2C....but if you can you may want to stay in the centre of the village.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back looking over the fells.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We had a lovely weekend here.very easy to reach by bus but with a remote feel. the welcoming service started before we arrived with very helpful directions when we called.
We were the only guests on night one so breakfast was arranged for when ever we wanted(not early!).the room was lovely,comfy bed,good views and good shower.
The food and breakfast room was very nice and the whole service and atmosphere was really warm and cheery.
I'd go back in a flash!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aledj2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyneside
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Just stayed in a twin room for 2 nights with a friend. Amazed at the value! Fantastic view from our beds in room 6. Hosts care about the guests and decor. Lovely breakfast, beautiful lounge with patio doors off to a garden. Room very cozy/compact but compare with other lakes b and bs. I would recommend to anyone wanting a place to stay in Grasmere which is a short and pleasant stroll away. If you are tall and like a shower, I wouldn't choose a top-floor room although they do have gorgeous decor and views, if you're fine with a bath, worth the compromise I'd say.

Room Tip: Top floor doubles have bathrooms in eaves with restricted headroom for hand-held shower standing up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STynetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.5 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,430 reviews
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
1,153 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#4 of 14 in Grasmere
829 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Dale Lodge Hotel
Dale Lodge Hotel
#11 of 14 in Grasmere
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chestnut Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnut Villa

Property: Chestnut Villa
Address: Keswick Road, Grasmere LA22 9RE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chestnut Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chestnut Villa comprises eight cosy rooms, each with en-suite shower or bath. The rooms all come with tea and coffee facilities, colour TV and hairdryers. Each room offers a panoramic view of the surrounding fells - a vista that can also be enjoyed from the large, comfortable visitors’ lounge and spacious dining room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Chestnut Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chestnut Villa Hotel Grasmere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing