We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chestnut Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chestnut Villa
Ranked #4 of 21 Grasmere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

We arrived Friday night and were greeted by the owner, he was very welcoming and showed us to our small but cosy room. The bed was very comfortable, the room was clean, towels and tea making facilities were provided. The ensuite shower was small but good.

In the morning we woke to the magnificent view that we'd missed due to darkness the previous night. Breakfast was served 8.15-9.00 and was exceptional, cooked breakfast and a range of fruits, cereals, yogurts and jams were available with fresh juice and tea and coffee. Breakfast was served with a smile by the 2 pleasant owners (forget their names) in a nice dining room.

We walked around ullswater on saturday and dined out in bowness, it was nice to come back to our quiet room in the evening.

In all a very nice weekend getaway, the b&b was great, the owners were very nice, the location was fantastic and the lake district was beautiful as ever. We would definitely stay again and thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jd9ab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    45
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
144
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

My daughter and I retreated to Chestnut Villa, Grasmere for a pre Christmas retreat. I could not enthuse enough about the friendly interaction. We wanted to explore the Rydall Water Caves and when we enquired about transport, we were actually given a lift to our destination! What a lovely day out we had!
The breakfast order form was gorgeously specific (I am terribly pernickety about my breakfast items!) It was PERFECT! I dream of my next breakfast at Chestnut Villa!
Thank you Chestnut Villa for exceeding our expectations!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 9 which had THE most gorgeous views of the rugged hillside. Fabulous room. We slep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed at Chestnut Villa for 3 nights to celebrate New Year in Grasmere. We decided to stay here as the location is perfect for walks and Grasmere town.

Mike and Richard were extremely welcoming from the moment we stepped through the front door. We stayed in Room 1 which has been recently refurbished. Room decorated in simple yet stylist decor, bed was very comfy and the power shower was perfect and just what the doctor ordered after a long day's walk in the cold and wet! Good wardrobe space, small tv and tea making facilities also in Room 1. Its worth mentioning that the room's biggest wow factor is undoubtedly the panoramic views of the tarns from the window!!

Moving on to breakfast... absolutely amazing! Full english was spot on every morning with Mike/Richard topping up ur toast as u go along and ensuring you have all you need.

I believe Mike and Richard are in the process of refurbing the remaining bedrooms throughout the quieter months. Its a lovely place to stay and will no doubt get better once the work is complete. We honestly can't pick fault with Chestnut Villa and would definitely recommend it to anyone wanting a place to stay in Grasmere.

Needless to say, we will be staying here again.

Jenni and Graham
Manchester

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JenniBrookes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

We opted for the top floor room as it had a bath - although not great for showering with no curtain, nor great for tall people. The room was filled by the bed and a little dressing table (with tea making set) in the bay window, not much space for a wet umbrella or walking gear - but it was comfortable, and the breakfast pleasant. Mike was welcoming and very organised with little torches for guests wanting to walk down the road to the hotel or pub in the evening. There was free wifi too, although the signal at the top of the house wasn't 100% reliable. Overall a pleasant stopping point in the Lake District on one of the larger roads, making it a convenient place to break a long North/South journey.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nihonjin-in-Dundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for a weekend and were really impressed by the beautiful room and stunning views (large bay window of room 9 affording spectacular Mountain views). Mike and Richard were very warm hosts who couldn't do more to make our stay relaxed and enjoyable with their useful advice and friendly manner. It is located just a 5 minute walk from the centre of Grasmere and a ideal walking base. Breakfast is very tasty and abundant. We'll definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank embabi_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Had a fantastic stay at Chestnut Villa in September. Luxury after a couple of nights camping in the rain and mud! The room and en-suite were very clean and comfortable, modern decor and very welcoming. Close to Grasmere Village centre and great views of the countryside from the bedroom.The hosts were extremely helpful and attentive and offer free walking guides in the local area plus knowledge of where to eat etc in the village. We also negotiated a discount very quickly over the telephone with the helpful hosts as we booked last minute. Breakfast was superb. We ordered the packed lunch which was also nice but didn't need to eat it til about 5pm despite climbing scafell pike as the breakfast was so filling! Would definitely stay again. Keep the good work up!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mishka827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
172 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Review written in the context of undertaking Wainwright’s Coast to Coast Walk. Accommodation arranged by Macs Adventures. Short walk off the route. Very warm welcome and farewell and hosts friendly and helpful throughout.. No evening meal but plenty of nearby pubs (Travellers’ Rest Inn; Swan Hotel). Very good breakfast with best orange juice of the trip. Also three types of honey, Marmite & Vegemite, lemon curd – i.e lots of attention to customers’ wishes. Drink and cake offered on arrival. Separate tables in dining room. Large separate lounge. Our bedroom was comfortable though the en-suite bathroom was a bit like the 7.5th floor in “Being John Malcovich”.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear have good views to the mountains. Rooms at the front face the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank downingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.5 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,360 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#3 of 14 in Grasmere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Lancrigg Hotel
The Lancrigg Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,118 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chestnut Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnut Villa

Property: Chestnut Villa
Address: Keswick Road, Grasmere LA22 9RE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chestnut Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chestnut Villa comprises eight cosy rooms, each with en-suite shower or bath. The rooms all come with tea and coffee facilities, colour TV and hairdryers. Each room offers a panoramic view of the surrounding fells - a vista that can also be enjoyed from the large, comfortable visitors’ lounge and spacious dining room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and LateRooms so you can book your Chestnut Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chestnut Villa Hotel Grasmere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing