We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great welcome and farewell”
Review of Chestnut Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chestnut Villa
Ranked #3 of 20 Grasmere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Review written in the context of undertaking Wainwright’s Coast to Coast Walk. Accommodation arranged by Macs Adventures. Short walk off the route. Very warm welcome and farewell and hosts friendly and helpful throughout.. No evening meal but plenty of nearby pubs (Travellers’ Rest Inn; Swan Hotel). Very good breakfast with best orange juice of the trip. Also three types of honey, Marmite & Vegemite, lemon curd – i.e lots of attention to customers’ wishes. Drink and cake offered on arrival. Separate tables in dining room. Large separate lounge. Our bedroom was comfortable though the en-suite bathroom was a bit like the 7.5th floor in “Being John Malcovich”.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear have good views to the mountains. Rooms at the front face the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank downingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (257)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 257 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2012

Great little place close to the village. Very clean, the shower was hot and beds comfy. Their greatest asset is the host, he couldn't have been more helpful. Good breakfast. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 789Francie789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

for some reason Ivy dene is not coming up as separate. Our host Andrea told us that her brother runs Chestnut villa - but i see that the reviews are combined. This is a mistake i made when asking for a specific room based on the reviews. to her credit ANdrea called and clarified about my room preferences.
We stayed 3 nights for the bank holiday weekend. 2 couplesx 2 rooms. 1 & 3. 1 was bigger and a better view - so we recommend Room 1 in Ivy dene.
the breakfast room at the moment is only for 3 rooms. since we stayed in 2 there was only one other couple. the morning was awesome with some excellent food, taste and presentation. everything felt fresh. there is an option for packed lunch, we did not take it.
ROom - ours is a smaller size double, but average for lake district standards i guess. toilets were a bit small but clean, well maintained, awesome shower and an extremely helpful host who provided us the bits and pieces we forgot to bring.
comfy and beautifully made bed guaranteeing a good sleep.
near to walks and lots of restaurants in the village. we ate dinner at a bistro - wonderful staff and food.
the only bit of annoyance is that "laterooms" accepted AMEX but the host had problems with that. she kindly agreed to let me transfer the amount which i did quickly.
overall a very nice place and we will stay again.

Room Tip: Room 1 is bigger with a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nagindth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Great B&B with lovely hosts, very warm and friendly, nice attention to detail. The room itself (room 9) was bright, clean and had a great view. The bed was extremely comfortable and made for a great nights sleep. The bathroom was very small, but fine for a short stay and more than made up for by the overall standard of the property. My wife and I decided at very short notice to spend the weekend in Grasmere without the kids and were delighted with the B&B, made all the more memorable by the warm welcome we received on arrival. The breakfasts were very good and the location was ideal, only a short stroll into the village. We had a fantastic stay and would certainly visit again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcN73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We use Chestnut Villa to accommodate many of our walkers on the Coast to Coast Trail.

Richard and Mike are conscientious hosts and recently demonstrated this genuine care for their guests when they raised the alarm after a party of walkers failed to arrive, despite their luggage having been delivered earlier that day. Their prompt action and forethought to contact us meant that we could investigate and have the walkers returned to safety very quickly. The walkers went on to spend a comfortable night at Chestnut Villa, knowing that they were in the capable hands of two very caring and capable hosts.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Service
Thank ContoursWH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Very nice inn not too far off the village square. Richard and Mike are very nice inn keepers and delightful to talk to. The rooms are a bit more modern than some of the ones that we have been staying at. It is on a main highway but traffic dwindles down to nothing at night. Lots of hikers staying at the inn. Easy access to local retsaraunts and we had a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Popeyebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Great b&b, delicious breakfast and really friendly hosts. Threre is a lovely lounge and breakfast room. Chestnut Villa is in good location just down the road from all the cafes and the lake. We would recommend this to anyone looking to stay in Grasmere!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovelycities
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.5 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,516 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,229 reviews
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#3 of 14 in Grasmere
726 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
861 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Little Inn at Grasmere
The Little Inn at Grasmere
#12 of 14 in Grasmere
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chestnut Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnut Villa

Address: Keswick Road, Grasmere LA22 9RE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Grasmere
Price Range: $113 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chestnut Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chestnut Villa comprises eight cosy rooms, each with en-suite shower or bath. The rooms all come with tea and coffee facilities, colour TV and hairdryers. Each room offers a panoramic view of the surrounding fells - a vista that can also be enjoyed from the large, comfortable visitors’ lounge and spacious dining room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Chestnut Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chestnut Villa Hotel Grasmere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing