We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, friendly B&B”
Review of Chestnut Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chestnut Villa
Ranked #3 of 20 Grasmere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
South Shields, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely, friendly B&B”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Great B&B with lovely hosts, very warm and friendly, nice attention to detail. The room itself (room 9) was bright, clean and had a great view. The bed was extremely comfortable and made for a great nights sleep. The bathroom was very small, but fine for a short stay and more than made up for by the overall standard of the property. My wife and I decided at very short notice to spend the weekend in Grasmere without the kids and were delighted with the B&B, made all the more memorable by the warm welcome we received on arrival. The breakfasts were very good and the location was ideal, only a short stroll into the village. We had a fantastic stay and would certainly visit again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcN73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    45
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
153
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We use Chestnut Villa to accommodate many of our walkers on the Coast to Coast Trail.

Richard and Mike are conscientious hosts and recently demonstrated this genuine care for their guests when they raised the alarm after a party of walkers failed to arrive, despite their luggage having been delivered earlier that day. Their prompt action and forethought to contact us meant that we could investigate and have the walkers returned to safety very quickly. The walkers went on to spend a comfortable night at Chestnut Villa, knowing that they were in the capable hands of two very caring and capable hosts.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ContoursWH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
328 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Very nice inn not too far off the village square. Richard and Mike are very nice inn keepers and delightful to talk to. The rooms are a bit more modern than some of the ones that we have been staying at. It is on a main highway but traffic dwindles down to nothing at night. Lots of hikers staying at the inn. Easy access to local retsaraunts and we had a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Popeyebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Great b&b, delicious breakfast and really friendly hosts. Threre is a lovely lounge and breakfast room. Chestnut Villa is in good location just down the road from all the cafes and the lake. We would recommend this to anyone looking to stay in Grasmere!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovelycities
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night. Everything great. Lovely room with stunning views. Brilliant power shower - just perfect after a walk up Helm Crag. 5 mins walk into Grasmere. Breakfast was really good. Lovely hosts. Bed really comfy. Would definately recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LancsLass41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Had a great stay here, could not ask for more. The hosts were so polite and accommodating of our needs and wishes and very friendly to chat to the next day.

The B&B is beautifully finished with some lovely little touches, we especially liked the sheep pictures, up the stairs. As many have said there were some stunning views from the windows.

Thanks so much for everything.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

Lovely owners of this fantastic B&B- They gave us some great advice about places to eat. Nicely decorated and very clean, especially the breakfast room which was beautiful. Great shower after the days walk and comfortable bed with a TV. it was just what we needed. They even did a basket of washing and drying for us at a price of £6 which was greatly appreciated. It was my second stay here and would definitely stay again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Emily R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.5 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,403 reviews
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#3 of 14 in Grasmere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Lancrigg Hotel
The Lancrigg Hotel
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chestnut Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnut Villa

Property: Chestnut Villa
Address: Keswick Road, Grasmere LA22 9RE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chestnut Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chestnut Villa comprises eight cosy rooms, each with en-suite shower or bath. The rooms all come with tea and coffee facilities, colour TV and hairdryers. Each room offers a panoramic view of the surrounding fells - a vista that can also be enjoyed from the large, comfortable visitors’ lounge and spacious dining room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and LateRooms so you can book your Chestnut Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chestnut Villa Hotel Grasmere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing