We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Food - Is the chef a magician?”
Review of The Dining Room

The Dining Room
Ranked #10 of 46 Restaurants in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $78
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations
Obzor
2 reviews
“Amazing Food - Is the chef a magician?”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

A very friendly and warm welcome which culminated in the most delightful and delicious culinary excellence in both presentation and taste heaven! The little extra courses in between normal courses were equally superb. Rumour has it that the chef has a wand as well as the usual kitchen utensils!! (Well you would certainly think it was true).

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    34
    6
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cook Islands
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
“close to perfection”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

warm welcome, lovely real fire. great friendly service with amazing food. a wet cold miserable lakes day was transformed into one of the best lunches ive had in years. the kitchen is to be congratulated as everything was spot on in every way.
driving home we were already making plans to return asap.
many thanks.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oldtimer366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect Food”
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Like others we went to the Oakbank Hotel following Jay Rayner's review. We went for lunch and somehow we all (four of us) were a bit disappointed when we looked at the menu. The food that followed completely dispelled any earlier disappointment. It was just mind blowing. We all agreed that it was one of the best meals we had ever experienced. Shame we were the only diners in the restaurant - and it was a Saturday. We shall certainly be back.

Helpful?
2 Thank johnmacKendal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Delicious, you have to eat here”
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant is amazing. Starting with fresh bread and three different types of butter, an amuse bouche of rhubarb and bacon - who would have thought it worked but boy did it, I wanted a proper starter of it!!! The starters were fantastic in fact the whole meal was from the canapés right through to coffee and petit fours. I ate the pork main dish, everything pig it was delicious and included delicate vegetables and potato, my husband had lamb. My husband has coeliacs disease and he was provided with gluten free options through dinner.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank ireallywanttogothere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“very nice”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Iv never had a la carte food before so was really looking forward to it. First of all the staff couldn't have been better very attentive. The dinning room was lovely clean and fresh. I loved all the added extras such as flavoured breads and butters and pre dinner dessert. i had lamb as my main course and it just melted in my mouth very nice dinner and would recommend it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Danielle m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dining Room also viewed

Grasmere, Lake District
 
Grasmere, Lake District
 
Grasmere, Lake District
 

Been to The Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing