We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fabulous food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Dining Room

The Dining Room
Ranked #10 of 45 Restaurants in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $77
Cuisines: British, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“fabulous food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

Surprised at how excellent the food was here.We were staying for 2 nights and had one evening meal.The choice and presentation were superb.There was also a choice of well cooked food at breakfast.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carolevtomlinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    32
    6
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Culinary Education”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

We visited the Oakbank for our silver wedding anniversary and stayed for 7 nights. We are not adventurous people when it comes to food and we were a bit apprehensive. We have to say the whole experience at the Oakbank was fantastic - from canapes to dessert, every mouthful was an absolute delight and the Feathered Cumbrian Beef ranks as the best meal we have ever had. I cannot praise Simon, Glynnis and the staff enough, the whole presentation, service and taste everything was first class.
We could not have picked a better hotel/restaurant to celebrate our special occasion.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield
Level Contributor
325 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“FINE DINING INDEED”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

A combination of fine dining meets nouvelle cuisine offers great flavours and tastes, to test the palate and jostle the taste buds.
Individual sauces and jus create this variety and balance, and I suggested to Simon, the owner after one lovely main course, that he could create a small menu card for each dish that lists the individual vegetables and sauces to provide a unique value added service.
Highlights over the five evening meals included the quail and game terrine starters, the homemade breads, the feather blade of succulent beef, the herdwick lamb dish, and all of the deserts, especially the chocolate, sticky toffee pudding and the mango. We felt that the fig desert whilst delicious could have done with being two figs to savour.

Simon and Glynis book customers for evening dining at 15 minute intervals from 6.30 to 8.15pm, but you can sit and relax before your allocated time in the comfortable lounge with crackling fire and enjoy a pre-dinner drink whilst perusing the menu.
Service was good, with some fine wine choices and nice background music, especially the Chris Rea track, “Tell Me There’s A Heaven.” Most enjoyable
Regards Gary Saunders

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Brilliant meal and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

had a superb meal here 2 weeks ago to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary.Food quality,presentation and service were amazing,no wonder they have 2AA rosettes.One of the best restaurant meals we have ever enjoyed.We shall return and recommend unreservedly to anyone who wants top-quality food in a relaxing atmosphere.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johncu2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“second visit - even better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

We first visited here last October to eat as non-residents and the food was brilliant. This time it was beyond brilliant - the food here is superb and I cannot recommend it highly enough. £98 for two three course meals (with canapes, 4 individual homemade breads with 3 types of butter and an appetiser thrown in for good measure) of this standard with a bottle of wine and two drinks represents excellent value for money in Grasmere.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dining Room also viewed

Grasmere, Lake District
 
Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 

Been to The Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing