We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday treat”
Review of The Dining Room

The Dining Room
Ranked #10 of 45 Restaurants in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $76
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Somerset
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Birthday treat”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I booked a meal for four as a treat. I booked two days earlier and the restaurant was quite full!
Anyhow we had an excellent table, very good service and the food was absolutely fabulous. If you book a meal here don't skip on the courses, have them all. It's an experience I'd like to repeat, but that's what happens when you retire - nothing but the best will do. Thanks to all, even if we were last out.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barmycake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    34
    6
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Restaurant and Hotel”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The food in this hotel is of the highest standard, and service is first class, extensive wine list,nice room overlooking the garden

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank gstravelscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food at a family-run hotel”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This is a family-run hotel serving superb food.

Although were staying elsewhere in Grasmere, we saw the excellent reviews that the Oak Bank Hotel has been receiving on TripAdvisor, so we reserved a table for dinner on the first evening of our holiday. We were not disappointed - the 5 star reviews are well deserved. It was so good that we returned for an end-of-holiday treat at the end of the week.

For me the highlight was halibut served with smoked potato, wilted spinach, samphire and celeriac - a delicious combination and the smoked potato was a revelation. My wife Janet loved every single course, saying that it was the best meal she'd had for some time, and that the sticky toffee pudding was even better than we had in Dartmouth about 5 years ago.

Service is friendly and informal - this is very much a family-run hotel after all.

The other pleasant surprise was that the bill was very reasonable for food of this quality. We haven't stayed at the hotel, but it looks very comfortable and the room rates are even better value.

Obviously when a restaurant is getting 5 star reviews you go with high expectations and there's a risk of disappointment. The Oak Bank Hotel isn't trying to be a posh London restaurant, so if that's what you want then look elsewhere and expect a bill to match. Rather the Oak Bank Hotel is very much a family-run hotel, and that is part of its charm along with excellent food and good value. We loved it. If you like fine dining in a family-run establishment then I hope you enjoy it as much as we did.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fab”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Food was fantastic, Mitchelin Star Quality, excellent value for money, something for everyone on the menu, even the most picky,

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michael and Man... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goleen, Ireland
Level Contributor
148 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Startlingly good food”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

For a small hotel the quality of the food here is outstanding. A wide choice and reasonable prices, good service too.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank diandjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dining Room also viewed

Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 

Been to The Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing