We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and a lovely atmosphere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lewis's

Lewis's
Ranked #3 of 44 Restaurants in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great food and a lovely atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Made our first visit to Sarah's Bistro tonight. A small, intimate place on the edge of the village. We took advantage of the 'Happy Hour' deal of a free bottle of wine with a two course meal for two. Be aware that there are only two choices of wine. We paid £4.50 extra for the rose. The food was very good. My wife had Thai chilli, apple & parsnip soup off the Specials menu followed by fish and chips and I had onion bhagi followed by the steak. Portion size and taste were just right. The service was also good although the waitress was a little direct. Nothing to complain about though. Probably more of a language issue than anything else. A good experience all round. We'll definitely return.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DarksideDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    465
    125
    37
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Nice food Al a carte style, tables quite close together but overall experience was good. Would definitely visit Sara's next time were in grasmere.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
216 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Nice food and value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

We had a lovely dinner here, arrive before 7pm and you get a free bottle of wine with a two course dinner. I had the Cod special (which then sold out) and my husband had the Belly Pork, both meals were delicious, we then each had the cheese and biscuits with a glass of port. The restaurant is small but intimate and very popular, it is worth booking earlier in the day to avoid disappointment. Give it a try!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank LePatioDordogne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
317 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Excellent meal and interesting service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Unlike Joanna Jen who has given this place the only terrible rating, we did notice that it is closed on Mondays and made sure that we booked for the next night. When we arirved it was heaving with parties of all sizes and ages. The front of house greeted us with the news that a party of eight who had booked at 6.50 had cancelled at 7.31. We did not really need to know this, but he soon made up the deficit in passing 'walk ins'. The menu was interesting and we managed to differ in all courses - not always the case. Starters were served promptly though there was a bit of a delay in getting the mains which necessitated the purchase of a second bottle of the excellent house wine. Quelle domage! Good job we were on foot to our B and B! Mains and desserts were both excellent. Service was efficient and friendly.Minor gripes might have been that the tables were rather close, but there is clearly a need to get as many in as possible for the relatively short peak season in these parts. Overall we had an excellent meal at a fair price.Looking at the bill later in our B and B we may have got the benefit of the early bird price though we did not get there at the right time. Despite minor niggles we are giving it full marks. The restaurant reviewer of The Telegraph, Mathew Norman, would probably only have given it three, but as you are 350 miles outside his comfort zone of the London North Circular you are safe from his. Long may you prosper. We will return.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sheilallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent meal.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

This was our fifth visit to this bistro - we visit every year on our visit to Grasmere. The food never disappoints and, in fact, we think the food has got even better this year.The service is friendly and and atmosphere/lighting is cosy. It is well worth a visit - we think it is the best place to eat in Grasmere.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank batts2857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lewis's also viewed

Grasmere, Lake District
 
Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 
Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 

Been to Lewis's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing