We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wonderful and relaxing place to stay”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Shelt Gill

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Coniston, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Wanderlus...
London
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A wonderful and relaxing place to stay”
Reviewed 4 weeks ago for a stay in June 2018

We have just returned from a lovely, relaxing stay at Shelt Gill - our first visit to Coniston and the Lake District as a whole. We found the cottage extremely well equipped and in a great location, close to pubs, the village and Lake Coniston. We found it very easy to communicate with the owner, who responded promptly to any queries.

We took our lively Cockapoo with us. He enjoyed swimming in Lake Coniston, running in the fields and even climbing the Old Man of Coniston with us. We didn’t let him out into the garden on his own though as it is not enclosed.

All in all we had a good holiday and would highly recommend he following;
The nearby Ship Inn - a friendly pub with great food and lovely atmosphere
Roan Head - lovely beach (40 mins away by car)
Climbing the Old Man mountain - not easy but very rewarding
Walking the lake from Coniston to Torver Jetty

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarereea...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A wonderful bolthole”
Reviewed March 28, 2018 for a stay in March 2018
1
person found this review helpful

A lovely property with great character fantastic views and Excellent location

We enjoyed walking straight up on to the fells form the cottage and into town in the evening for some fab pubs

Well equipped kitchen, comfortable beds, clean and well maintained
a couple of minor down points
No log fire but ... the electric coal effect gave instant warmth and saved lots of hassle when coming home tired
The welcome pack was a little disappointing (1/2 a carton of opened milk and 1 biscuit ) so don't rely on it - but this is a minor point and shouldn't detract from it being a lovely hideaway

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
83jane
Kettering, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amaxing”
Reviewed January 22, 2018 for a stay in January 2018
2
people found this review helpful

Location is perfect secluded yet not far from popular sites many in walking distance. We had snow which made for beautiful views from the lounge window. Loved the window seats and the house was so comfortable and cosy but spacious. Didn't want to leave.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGRob
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely weekend holiday cottage”
Reviewed September 30, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
3
people found this review helpful

We had a lovely weekend at Shelt Gill. Well located for walks, less than a mile from the centre of Coniston, we were able to do good walks without having to drive anywhere first (which is a real bonus in lake district traffic!). The cottage had a lovely outlook with views over Lake Coniston. There was plenty of room for 4 people to stay with a lovely big living/dining room, and 2 bedrooms (1 double and 1 twin) which were small but adequate. Would like to go back again and stay longer.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
525seano
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Well located, cosy cottage.”
Reviewed September 13, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
2
people found this review helpful

The cottage is so well connected with surrounding footpaths - into Coniston, to Coniston Water, up to the fells behind, plus direct access onto the old railway line footpath - that we didn't use our car at all during our stay. The views from the living room over Coniston Water were wonderful as were the window seats where you sit and enjoy the view! Had all we needed during our stay, definitely recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrs A J H
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed August 6, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We have just returned from a week here. The location is superb, amazing views across Lake Coniston and walking from just outside, along the old railway line to Coniston town or up Old Man. Great pubs, especially the Black Bull, which we frequented! The town also has a butchers where we bought delicious bacon for breakfast every morning and steaks for dinner. The kitchen is small, but well stocked with cooking utensils, crockery etc. The beds are comfy, with plenty of bedding (just bring your own linen). The bath/shower was fine, with ample hot water for four of us. There's a large sloping garden with further views across the lake and the ghyll runs down the side - this has steep banks to it and is very fast flowing. Unfortunately the low patio doors from the lounge could not be opened at the time of our stay, but new ones were due to be fitted. This wasn't a problem, as there is a side gate at the back. There is a TV in the lounge, two very comfy sofas, a spectacular window seat and a table to seat six. Be aware, there is no Wi-fi, but you can always catch up in the pubs!
Truly loved this place and would definitely return. Many thanks Jon x

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 21, 2017
Aaah thanks so much for such a lovely review - glad you had such a good time (and promise the patio doors will be fixed if you come back)

J
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiNi14
Hamilton, Bermuda
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Peaceful Getaway from City Life”
Reviewed April 21, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

I booked a trip to the Lake District for my mother and I so that we could just rest for a few days. This lovely cottage in Coniston was the perfect location. This was our first time to Lakeland and it rained our entire stay. However, even through the dark clouds, this place is absolutely beautiful.
The cottage is just as described; warm, cozy an charming. There's a small ghyll adjacent to the immaculately kept yard. Shelt Gill is situated right on the trails, and has a view of the lake right from the living room's bay window. It's about a 10min walk along the trail into the village, and it also leads to Church Beck. I definitely recommend the walk through Church Beck for some beautiful views. I didn't get a chance to check out the trails in the opposite direction.

If you want a few days to totally unplug (even without wifi), this is the place to be. I look forward to staying here again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing