We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic”
other travelers have booked this property
Puddleduck House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Puddleduck House
Living Room Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
30 reviews
Puddleduck House
Living Room
Living Room
Dining Room
It's going to be another Sunny Day! (Promise!)
Bedroom 2 or Family Room - Can be two singles
Bedroom 2 or Family Room (can be two singles)
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Bedroom 2 (Can be Super King or 2 x Single Beds)
Bedroom 3
En-Suite to Bedroom 3
Main Bathroom
Main Bathroom
Garage - Lots of Room for cars and bikes etc..
Puddleduck House!
Beautiful Coniston Water
Coniston Lakeside and the Bluebird Cafe
Meandering Down to Coniston Water
Coniston Boating Centre
Coniston Boating Centre
Views from Puddleduck Garden
Boating on the Lake
Glorious Walks Everywhere!
Local Walks
From the End of Ruskin Avenue (Our Street)
Along the Waters Edge, Coniston
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Coniston, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Joanne F
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed June 14, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Wow what a house! A minutes walk to the village centre and all shops and pubs and a five minute stroll to the famous coniston lake. On arrival we found a bottle of wine and a gorgeous homemade cheesecake. Everything we needed was there, tea, coffe, sugar, milk, shower gel, washing powder etc etc so no quick dash to the shops on arrival. The house it's self was wonderful especially the top floor bathroom. The garden is a little off set to the property but not a problem. The garage was a bonus and there's a Webber BBQ. The views from the property and garden were glorious. All in all we'd return in a heartbeat. Chloe the owner was amazing before, during and after our stay. The residents that live in number 9 were so welcoming and full of useful advice on the area that we found helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 18, 2017
Thank you so much for your review! I'm so pleased everything was lovely for you :) Glad you enjoyed the BBQ and garden too - it's lovely to sit out there looking up at the mountains, we love it too! Hope you manage to come and stay again. Chloe x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBSquiggl...
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“What a superb location Coniston is and Puddleduck House is just fantastic!”
Reviewed June 14, 2017 for a stay in September 2016

We truly did have a great holiday in Coniston and Puddleduck House is fantastic. We were two couples and it was great to have our own en suite on different floors. The bathroom upstairs is just perfect, so beautifully equipped and decorated, as is the whole house in fact. I really can't fault Puddleduck House. Also Coniston is a superb place to stay with shops, pubs and restaurants all virtually at the end of the road. The lake, which is just a short walk away, was the star of the show for me, i's beauty is stunning and photographer's dream! We also got out and about a bit including going to the motor museum nearby and having a go at segwaying in Grizedale Forest. We will be going back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 18, 2017
Thank you so much for your review - so thrilled you had such a lovely time! Glad you enjoyed photographing the lake - it looks so different (but equally lovely) in all different types of weather. I've not tried the Segway experience - on the to do list! Look forward to seeing you again! Chloe x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy I
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Wonderful House in Fabulous Location”
Reviewed June 14, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We had a lovely stay in Puddleduck House and heartily recommend it to anyone. The property was beautifully furnished, clean and very welcoming. The garden has views of the mountains and the house is situated just a few yards from the village center – no steep hills to climb, which is a bonus with young children. We spent most of our days locally around the lake but also ventured out by foot to Tarn Hows and by car to the villages of Hawkshead and Ambleside – the scenery is simply wonderful all around. You don’t need to leave the village though as there is so much to see and do right from the cottage door. Loved being in Puddleduck, hope to return very soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 18, 2017
Thank you so much for your review - so pleased you had such a lovely time! Do come again :) Chloe x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dexx
Midlands
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Great location but some shortcomings”
Reviewed June 6, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

First the many good points; the location is very good being a few minutes walk from the centre of Coniston and the best place to eat, the Steam Bistro, is just at the end of the road. There is plenty of off-road parking and, assuming you are not driving a large 4 wheel drive or people mover, the garage is a handy addition.

The house is very well equipped with everything you need for a self catering holiday. There is plenty of seating for everyone, beds are very comfortable and the heating kept the house nice and warm during the colder part of our stay. We might have returned in the future if it were not for the following three problems. The bedrooms only have Venetian blinds which are no protection from the morning sun which made sleeping difficult, the house was not as clean as it could be with dusty cobwebs evidence of a lack of attention to basic tasks. Finally, this is a terrace house and the neighbours were not the quietest of families and like to talk loudly late into the night.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 12, 2017
Many thanks for taking the time to do a review and I'm glad you loved the excellent location and found the house comfortable, well-equipped and the beds cosy! Our housekeeper takes huge pride in the house (even baking each guest a cake!) so I know she will be mortified that you found any cobwebs. It is very unusual because she has received fantastic feedback from visitors as she really tries to go the extra mile and make it very welcoming for guests.

As far as the blinds are concerned, I think you mean the top bedroom as that does have a lighter blind. We chose not to have curtains because we wanted to make the most of the view of the mountains from that room. However, we will have a look at it and see if there is an alternative. The other blinds are all thick, slatted wooden blinds which shut fully.

Whilst I am genuinely sorry you had a couple of niggles, we believe this to be an exception, judging by the glowing reviews from other guests. However, we will take on board your helpful feedback and are pleased you enjoyed your time in Coniston and got to enjoy Steam restaurant - it's very popular! All the best, Chloe
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jandjs7
Ayrshire, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way!”
Reviewed March 10, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Four of us ('girls' on tour) stayed at Puddleduck House for 3 nights and it was perfect for our needs. The location is fantastic. A 2 minute walk (if that) to the town, pubs, restaurants etc. A 5 minute stroll to walk along Coniston Water and beyond. The house had everything we needed and was very cosy, comfortable and fabulous. We had wonderful weather and took full advantage of Coniston's proximity to some other fabulous areas of the south Lake District. On the first day we walked so far that we struggled to climb the stairs to bed but a good night's sleep had us ready to explore again. We had a trip down Coniston which was a treat and the information from the lovely guy on board was interesting and very poignant regarding Donald Campbell. We visited Hill Top, Beatrix Potter's home, and it was worth the visit. Hawkshead was nice for a wander round and a BIG slice of cake in the Sun Café!!! Chloe was so helpful during the booking process and she we arrived to a treat of a bottle of wine and cake. I recommend Puddleduck House for a lovely home from home and hope to be back at some time.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 21, 2017
Thank you so much for your review - so thrilled you had such a fab time at Puddleduck and in Coniston! You certainly sound like you made the most of your stay :)) Look forward to you returning again one day! Chloe x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lauraburn...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic dog friendly cottage!”
Reviewed February 12, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We stayed for 1 week at Puddleduck and have no hesitations rating this house as one of the best we have stayed in and we have stayed in over 30 self catering houses. Chloe is very attentive and quick to respond to any queries you may have. I have never known a kitchen to be so well equipped with everything you could possibly need. It is more like your own home than a holiday rental. My husband loved that there were so many local maps and guides for whatever length of walk you may want to take part in. The roll top bath was sheer luxury which I loved!
The local area was delightful and only short walk down to Coniston waterside.
The local pubs were great, we particularly liked the Black Bull for lovely bar meals and great chats!
We wish we were still there and will definitely return.
Thank you Chloe

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 13, 2017
Hi Laura, thank you so much for your lovely review! I'm so pleased you had such a lovely stay - and really hope you get the chance to come again soon! Glad you loved the roll-top bath!!! Many thanks again for all your kind comments :)) Chloe x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joannep04
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely winter break ”
Reviewed January 29, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Beautiful house in the fabulous village of Coniston. Tastefully furnished and decorated, well stocked kitchen including microwave and dishwasher. Beds really comfy. Log burner fire clean and easy to clean. Logs and kindling can be purchased in several shops in the village. Would love to return in the summer.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 2, 2017
Hi there - thank you so much for your lovely review! So pleased you had a lovely stay and found the house had everything you needed. We look forward to having you stay again one day :)) All the best, Chloe x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing